ADVERTISEMENT

United States: school boards want to better assess "21st century skills"

Better assessing "21st century skills" in schools should be a priority according to the National School Board Association (NSBA), reports eSchool News. To do this, access to digital content is essential, believe school board leaders.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Better assess the "skills of the 21e century ”in school should be a priority according to the National School Board Association (NSBA), reports eSchool News. To do this, access to digital content is essential, believe school board leaders.

Technologies are increasingly used in different teaching strategies. According to a NSBA survey, 35 % of its members consider that the evaluation of the “skills of the 21e century ”should be the federal government's priority in educational technology.

More than 43 % of respondents mention having already put in place measures to integrate these skills. However, they find that the federal government and that of each state must become more involved in the search for solutions given the importance of their role.

Many teachers are said to be ready to abandon the traditional book and turn to digital content. But it would first be necessary to ensure that all students can have access to it. According to the survey, 35 % of respondents believe that paper books are still necessary because many young people cannot access digital content. A similar number find paper books expensive and believe that the money would be better invested in other educational resources. Finally, 7 % argue that teachers lack the time or skills to create their own digital material.

In addition, 57 % school board leaders mention that their organization has developed a specific policy to counter online threats and harassment. In addition, 34 % report that this is already covered in an anti-bullying or school safety policy.

In addition: 21 signs you're a teacher of the 21ste century, by Roberto Gauvin

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

États-Unis : les commissions scolaires veulent mieux évaluer les « compétences du 21e siècle »

Mieux évaluer les « compétences du 21e siècle » à l’école devrait être une priorité selon la National School Board Association (NSBA), rapporte eSchool News. Pour ce faire, l’accès au contenu numérique est essentiel, estiment les dirigeants des commissions scolaires.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Mieux évaluer les « compétences du 21e siècle » à l’école devrait être une priorité selon la National School Board Association (NSBA), rapporte eSchool News. Pour ce faire, l’accès au contenu numérique est essentiel, estiment les dirigeants des commissions scolaires.

Les technologies sont de plus en plus utilisées dans les différentes stratégies d’enseignement. Selon un sondage de la NSBA, 35 % de ses membres jugent que l’évaluation des « compétences du 21e siècle » devrait être la priorité du gouvernement fédéral en matière de technologies éducatives.

Plus de 43 % des répondants mentionnent avoir déjà mis en place des mesures pour intégrer ces compétences. Ils trouvent toutefois que le gouvernement fédéral et celui de chaque état doivent s’engager davantage dans la recherche de solutions étant donné l’importance de leur rôle.

Plusieurs enseignants seraient prêts à abandonner le livre traditionnel pour se tourner vers le contenu numérique. Mais il faudrait d’abord s’assurer que tous les élèves puissent y avoir accès. Selon le sondage, 35 % des répondants croient que les livres papier demeurent nécessaires, car plusieurs jeunes ne peuvent pas accéder au contenu numérique. Un nombre équivalent juge les livres papier coûteux et estime que l’argent serait mieux investi dans d’autres ressources pédagogiques. Enfin, 7 % font valoir que les enseignants manquent de temps ou de compétences pour créer leur propre matériel numérique.

Par ailleurs, 57 % des dirigeants de commission scolaire mentionnent que leur organisation a élaboré une politique spécifique pour contrer les menaces et le harcèlement en ligne. De plus, 34 % signalent que cela est déjà couvert dans une politique contre l’intimidation ou sur la sécurité à l’école.

En complément: 21 signes que vous êtes un enseignant du 21e siècle, par Roberto Gauvin

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :