ADVERTISEMENT

How much time do young Quebecers spend on electronic devices?

The CEFRIO NETendances 2019 survey - The digital family contains the most recent data on the presence of young people in Quebec on the Internet and on the use they make of the electronic devices available to them. It also includes data on parenting support.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The CEFRIO survey NETendances 2019 - The digital family contains the most recent data on the presence of 6 to 17 year olds in Quebec on the Internet and on the use they make of the electronic devices available to them. It also includes data on parenting support. 

According to this study:

“We observe that the use of electronic devices is more important among young people aged 13 to 17, while they are in high school, compared to the youngest in elementary school, aged 6 to 12 years. This is especially the case for the smart phone used by 49 % of elementary school children, compared to 75 % of secondary school children.

Listening to videos - on YouTube for example - is the activity most practiced on the Internet by young people. According to their parents, 86 % of 6 to 17 year olds practice this activity. The other activities carried out by more than half of young people in this age group are using the Internet at school (69 %); online games (60 %); visiting educational websites (59 %); watching series or films on the Internet (58 %); visiting entertainment websites (55 %); as well as listening to or downloading music on the Internet (52 %). With the exception of visiting educational websites, adolescents (13-17 years old) are more likely to practice each of these activities. "

Source: https://cefrio.qc.ca/fr/enquetes-et-donnees/netendances-la-famille-numerique/

Interestingly, the study presents data concerning parental control, and confirms that 88 % of Quebec parents of children aged 6 to 17 have rules at home to regulate their time spent on the Internet. The choice of sites visited is also reviewed by parents. This supervision increases by 6 % for parents of children aged 6 to 12 (94 %).

Regarding the time spent in front of a screen, “just over two-thirds of young people aged 6 to 17, or 70 % of them, spend 10 hours or less per week on electronic devices, surfing the Internet. , while 26 % spend 11 hours or more there. Among the youngest aged 6 to 12, 78 % spend an average of 10 hours or less per week on the Internet, compared to 56 % of high school youth aged 13 to 17, which represents a significant difference. by 22 percentage points. "

In 2019, 57% of young people aged 6 to 17 have either an email address or a personal profile page on a social network. In terms of social media presence, 39 % of them already have their own profile page on Facebook, Instagram or other. Young people aged 13 to 17 are more likely (82 %) than those aged 6 to 12 (42 %) to have an Internet presence by one of these means. 

For all the data from the CEFRIO study, go to on the site to download publication in PDF format.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Combien de temps passent les jeunes Québécois sur les appareils électroniques?

L’enquête du CEFRIO NETendances 2019 — La famille numérique contient les plus récentes données sur la présence des jeunes du Québec sur Internet et sur l’utilisation qu’ils font des appareils électroniques à leur disposition. Elle comprend également des donnés sur l’encadrement des parents.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

L’enquête du CEFRIO NETendances 2019 — La famille numérique contient les plus récentes données sur la présence des 6 à 17 ans du Québec sur Internet et sur l’utilisation qu’ils font des appareils électroniques à leur disposition. Elle comprend également des donnés sur l’encadrement des parents. 

Selon cette étude :

« On observe que l’usage des appareils électroniques est plus important chez les jeunes âgés de 13 à 17 ans, alors qu’ils sont à l’école secondaire, comparativement aux plus jeunes du primaire, âgés de 6 à 12 ans. C’est surtout le cas du téléphone intelligent utilisé par 49 % des jeunes du primaire, comparativement à 75 % des jeunes du secondaire.

L’écoute des vidéos – sur YouTube par exemple – est l’activité la plus pratiquée sur Internet par les jeunes. Selon leurs parents, 86 % des jeunes de 6 à 17 ans pratiquent cette activité. Les autres activités exercées par plus de la moitié des jeunes de ce groupe d’âge sont l’utilisation d’Internet dans un cadre scolaire (69 %); les jeux en ligne (60 %); la visite de sites Internet de nature éducative (59 %); le visionnement de séries ou de films sur Internet (58 %); la visite des sites Internet de divertissement (55 %); de même que l’écoute ou le téléchargement de musique sur Internet (52 %). Sauf pour la visite de sites Internet de nature éducative, les adolescents (13-17 ans) sont proportionnellement plus nombreux à pratiquer chacune de ces activités. »

Source : https://cefrio.qc.ca/fr/enquetes-et-donnees/netendances-la-famille-numerique/

Fait intéressant, l’étude présente des données concernant le contrôle parental, et confirme que 88 % des parents québécois d’enfants de 6 à 17 ans ont à la maison des règles pour encadrer leur temps passé sur Internet. Le choix des sites visités est également revu par les parent. Cet encadrement augmente de 6 % pour les parents d’enfants âgés de 6 à 12 ans (94 %).

En ce qui concerne le temps passé devant un écran, « un peu plus des deux tiers des jeunes de 6 à 17 ans, soit 70 % d’entre eux, passent 10 heures et moins par semaine sur des appareils électroniques, à naviguer sur Internet, alors que 26 % y passent 11 heures et plus. Du côté des plus jeunes âgés de 6 à 12 ans, ils sont 78 % à passer en moyenne 10 heures et moins par semaine sur Internet, comparativement à 56 % des jeunes du secondaire âgés de 13 à 17 ans, ce qui représente un écart important de 22 points de pourcentage. »

En 2019, 57% des jeunes âgés de 6 à 17 ans disposent soit d’une adresse courriel, soit d’une page de profil personnel sur un réseau social. En termes de présence sur les réseaux sociaux,  39 % d’entre eux ont déjà leur propre page de profil sur Facebook, Instagram ou autre. Les jeunes âgés de 13 à 17 ans sont plus nombreux (82 %) que ceux âgés de 6 à 12 ans (42 %) à disposer d’une présence sur Internet par l’un ou l’autre de ces moyens. 

Pour toutes les données de l’étude du CEFRIO, rendez-vous sur le site pour télécharger la publication en format PDF.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!