Cinema in a TED classroom, fiction? No, reality!

Last year, Isabelle Guertin undertook with her autistic students the realization of a fantastic film of about twenty minutes. The project will culminate with the big premiere, next April, in front of students and parents!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Last year, Isabelle Guertin undertook with her autistic students the realization of a fantastic film of about twenty minutes. The project will culminate with the big premiere, next April, in front of students and parents!

The teacher from Louis-Philippe Paré high school in Châteauguay introduced her 13 to 15-year-old students to cinema with the program material The cinema eye, from the Association des cinémas parallèles du Québec. The young people took up the challenge of building the scenario from A to Z in the Celtx software. Each student contributed according to their academic level. “It's free, easy-to-use software that helped students write by the rules,” she explains. As I wanted to submit the film to a competition and we were limited in time, I did the editing. On the other hand, the young people will edit the bloopers in Pinnacle, at school. "

The young people all had to experience the different roles that a film production requires: scripters, boom operators, cameramen, make-up artists, costume designers, set managers, etc. They also wrote the sponsorship request letters for the premiere and created the posters. “It really allowed us to discover each other's talents,” says the teacher. The project obviously made it possible to work on French, but also on the arts by creating sets and costumes. It has also been beneficial in terms of perseverance and motivation.

The students were also confronted in their "TED characteristics". “These are young people who need a routine and who show a certain rigidity. But during the shooting, it was no longer the school schedule and there were unforeseen events every day, ”underlines Ms. Guertin, visibly proud of the work accomplished.

At the end of the project, Isabelle Guertin wishes to undertake a school tour with her students so that they can present their project. In addition, the teacher will give a conference about her project as part of the congress of the Quebec Association of Learning Disabilities, from March 21 to 23, in Montreal.

Read also :

ICT and learning disabilities: student needs first!

Journalis-TIC: a communication and sharing project

Technological writing aid: a tool that restores confidence

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le cinéma dans une classe TED, fiction? Non, réalité!

L’an dernier, Isabelle Guertin a entrepris avec ses élèves autistes la réalisation d’un film fantastique d’une vingtaine de minutes. Le projet culminera par la grande première, en avril prochain, devant les élèves et les parents!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

L’an dernier, Isabelle Guertin a entrepris avec ses élèves autistes la réalisation d’un film fantastique d’une vingtaine de minutes. Le projet culminera par la grande première, en avril prochain, devant les élèves et les parents!

L’enseignante de l’école secondaire Louis-Philippe Paré, à Châteauguay, a initié ses élèves de 13 à 15 ans au cinéma avec le matériel du programme L’œil cinéma, de l’Association des cinémas parallèles du Québec. Les jeunes ont relevé le défi de bâtir le scénario de A à Z dans le logiciel Celtx. Chaque élève y a contribué en fonction de son niveau académique. « C’est un logiciel gratuit et facile d’utilisation qui aidait les élèves à écrire selon les règles, explique-t-elle. Comme je voulais soumettre le film à un concours et que nous étions limités dans le temps, c’est moi qui ai fait le montage. Par contre, les jeunes vont faire le montage des bloopers dans Pinnacle, à l’école. »

Les jeunes ont tous eu à camper les différents rôles que nécessite une production cinématographique : scripteurs, perchistes, caméramans, maquilleurs, costumiers, responsables des décors, etc. Ce sont aussi eux qui ont rédigé les lettres de demandes de commandite pour la première et créé les affiches. « Ça nous a vraiment permis de découvrir les talents de chacun », constate l’enseignante. Le projet a évidemment permis de travailler le français, mais aussi les arts par la création des décors et des costumes. Il a aussi été bénéfique au niveau de la persévérance et de la motivation.

Les élèves ont aussi été confrontés dans leurs « caractéristiques TED ». « Ce sont des jeunes qui ont besoin d’une routine et qui font preuve d’une certaine rigidité. Mais durant le tournage, ce n’était plus l’horaire de l’école et il y avait des imprévus à tous les jours », souligne Mme Guertin, visiblement fière du travail accompli.

Au terme du projet, Isabelle Guertin souhaite entreprendre une tournée des écoles avec ses élèves afin qu’ils puissent présenter leur projet. De plus, l’enseignante prononcera une conférence au sujet de son projet dans le cadre du congrès de l’Association québécoise des troubles d’apprentissage, du 21 au 23 mars, à Montréal.

À lire aussi :

TIC et troubles d’apprentissages : les besoins des élèves d’abord!

Journalis-TIC : un projet de communication et partage

Aide technologique à l’écriture : un outil qui redonne confiance

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!