Badges and fab labs: lifelong learning in multiple ways

In this École branchée educational meeting, Geoffroi Garon defines “fab labs”, “makerspaces”, “living labs” and digital badges!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In this École branchée educational meeting, Geoffrey Garon defines “fab labs”, “makerspaces”, “living labs” and digital badges!

(text by Audrey Miller)

The “École branchée educational meetings” are podcast interviews with school stakeholders from here and elsewhere. In this episode, our collaborator (and concept creator) Marc-André Girard talks with Mr. Geoffroi Garon-Shoulder. He is both a university researcher (PhD in communication) and an entrepreneur in educational technology, mainly with digital badges. He is also a director of Communautique, which is both a living lab and fab lab.

Make anything… or almost!

First of all, in the interview, he recalls what a fab lab, word from English " manufacturing laboratories ". The fab lab movement was born almost 15 years ago at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Concretely, it is a physical place where there are digitally controlled equipment that can be used to manufacture just about anything! They are all connected and manipulated using precision software. Also, these are spaces open to the public. You don't have to be an expert in technology to go there: artists and engineers alike, young and old, and of course educators meet there. There would be 900 to 1000 in the world fab labs recognized by MIT. They adhere to a charter, which notably requires openness to the public and an educational component.

Mr. Garon-Épaule continued the interview with details concerning the makerspaces and living labs, other open places largely inspired by the “Do It Yourself” (DIY) movement.

Valuing skills and learning with digital badges

Subsequently, he explains what the famous digital badges are. Basically, it is a platform for promoting skills and learning. The badge system refers to the “badges” issued by scouts, but in digital version. They are therefore digital traces of learning. He explains that they are generally considered under four types of use: motivation, certification, promotion, and business.

Digital badges make it possible to certify and encapsulate informal learning. He gives the example of a course to learn to fly a drone. The training can be certified by a badge system, which then constitutes an encrypted, secure digital trace.

To collect and show badges, we use a digital portfolio, which Geoffroi Garon-Épaule compares to a sort of skills CV that can enhance a traditional CV. For him, a badge system is a "powerful, but simple tool".

Digital badges, fab labs, the makerspaces… What link with school? “All of this fits into a context of lifelong learning and learning in multiple ways,” he sums up. In particular, badges make it possible to promote different paths among students, extracurricular, etc.

 

geoffroigaronBadges and fab labs: Lifelong learning in multiple ways

Marc-André Girard speaks with Geoffroi Garon-Épaule
Communication researcher and educational technology entrepreneur

Download (.mp3 format)

 

Listen:

 

Psst!

The podcast can be downloaded like downloading a piece of music and then listened to in the car, for example, on the way to work in the morning or on the way home!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Badges et fab labs : apprendre tout au long de la vie et de multiples façons

Publié le :

Dans ce Rendez-vous pédagogique de l’École branchée, Geoffroi Garon définit « fab labs », « makerspaces », « living labs » et badges numériques!
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Dans ce Rendez-vous pédagogique de l’École branchée, Geoffroi Garon définit « fab labs », « makerspaces », « living labs » et badges numériques!

(texte par Audrey Miller)

Les « Rendez-vous pédagogiques de l’École branchée » sont des entretiens en baladodiffusion avec des acteurs du milieu scolaire d’ici et d’ailleurs. Dans cet épisode, notre collaborateur (et idéateur du concept) Marc-André Girard s’entretient avec M. Geoffroi Garon-Épaule. Il est à la fois chercheur universitaire (doctorat en communication) et entrepreneur en technologie éducative, principalement avec les badges numériques. Il est aussi administrateur de Communautique, qui est à la fois un living lab et fab lab.

Fabriquer n’importe quoi… ou presque!

Tout d’abord, dans l’entrevue, il rappelle ce qu’est un fab lab, mot provenant de l’anglais « fabrication laboratories ». Le mouvement fab lab est né il y a presque 15 ans au Massachussetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Concrètement, c’est un lieu physique où se trouvent des équipements à commande numérique qui permettent de fabriquer à peu près n’importe quoi! Ils sont tous connectés et manipulables à l’aide de logiciels de précision. Aussi, ce sont des espaces ouverts au public. Pas obligé d’être expert en technologie pour y aller : artistes comme ingénieurs, jeunes et moins jeunes, et bien sûr pédagogues s’y retrouvent. Il y aurait dans le monde 900 à 1000 fab labs reconnus par le MIT. Ceux-ci adhèrent à une charte, qui exige notamment l’ouverture au public et un volet éducatif.

M. Garon-Épaule poursuit l’entrevue avec des précisions concernant les makerspaces et les living labs, d’autres lieux ouverts largement inspirés du mouvement « Do It Yourself » (DIY).

Valoriser des compétences et des apprentissages avec les badges numériques

Par la suite, il explique ce que sont les fameux badges numériques. À la base, c’est une plateforme permettant de valoriser des compétences, des apprentissages. Le système de badges fait référence aux « écussons » émis chez les scouts, mais en version numérique. Ce sont donc des traces numériques d’apprentissages. Il explique qu’on les envisage généralement sous quatre types d’usages : la motivation, la certification, la valorisation, et l’entreprise.

Les badges numériques permettent de certifier, encapsuler les apprentissages informels. Il donne l’exemple d’un cours permettant d’apprendre à piloter un drone. On peut attester la formation par un système de badges, qui constitue alors une trace numérique encryptée, sécurisée.

Pour recueillir et montrer ses badges, on utilise un portfolio numérique, que Geoffroi Garon-Épaule compare à une sorte de CV de compétences qui peut bonifier un CV traditionnel. Pour lui, un système de badge est un « outil puissant, mais simple ».

Les badges numériques, les fab labs, les makerspaces… quel lien avec l’école? « Tout cela s’insère dans un contexte d’apprentissage tout au long de la vie et d’apprentissage de multiples façons », résume-t-il. Particulièrement, les badges permettent de valoriser des parcours différents chez les élèves, le parascolaire, etc.

 

geoffroigaronBadges et fab labs : Apprendre tout au long de la vie et de multiples façons

Marc-André Girard s’entretient avec Geoffroi Garon-Épaule
Chercheur en communication et entrepreneur en technologie éducative

Télécharger (format .mp3)

 

Écouter :

 

Psst!

La baladodiffusion peut être téléchargée comme on télécharge un morceau de musique, puis écoutée dans la voiture, par exemple, en se rendant au travail le matin ou au retour à la maison!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'AQUOPS, Edteq et en tant que membre du comité #Francosphère de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!