Application prototypes developed by girls

Published on :

Click to view the complete summary

Are you subscribed to the magazine in digital format?

Add to favorites (0)

Here are some examples of prototype applications developed within the framework of Technovation Montréal's programs. Some of them even have functionalities that can already be used. Several of them have been recognized during the Technovation international competition.

Splace

Developed by Adelina Badea and Lina Mani (Jacques-Rousseau High School)

Safeplace is an application aimed at helping women who are victims of domestic violence to escape their toxic homes in the Greater Montreal area. The application features a map of shelters located in this territory, a messaging service to speak with domestic violence professionals and a resource section to get more information. 

"We believe our simple solution can transform traditional methods of exiting an abusive relationship into a safer and more convenient option."

Video presentation (pitch) : 

Video demonstration:

Covika

Semi-finalist at the 2021 international competition

Developed by Katerina Bitsanis (Charlemagne College) and Katyuska Diaz Salazar (Laval International School) 

Covika aims to centralize information about COVID-19 and present it in a clear and simple manner. The application includes a general information page, a list of nearby hospitals and testing centers, and a self-assessment questionnaire. There is also a page with restrictions in the user's area and another page with information about COVID-19 vaccines.

Video presentation (pitch) :  

Video demonstration:

Buoyansea

Developed by Rui Ying Li and Agnès Hage-Chehine (Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf) 

Buoyansea is a mental wellness mobile app for students and young adults. Tools such as a water and sleep tracker, gratitude journal, and personal goal list help users track their habits and organize their lives, promoting their mental health.

Video presentation (pitch) :

Video demonstration:

Spectrum

*Jury's Technology Pick of the year in the senior category at the 2021 regional competition

Developed by Celia Shi, Angela Lin and Alison Quach (Holy Name of Mary Residential School)

SPECTRUM is an educational mobile adventure game that raises awareness of the impacts of our actions on the environment. It offers easy-to-understand information while encouraging users to think ethically about their actions and make changes to their habits. Each chapter addresses a topic, such as digital pollution or fast fashion.

Video presentation (pitch) :

Video demonstration:

Available on Unity Play: https://play.unity.com/mg/other/technovation-spectrum

About EngagED Learning magazine

The professional magazine for teaching in the digital age!

The École branchée magazine is aimed at teachers, educational advisers and school management. It appears 3 times a year, in print and digital format, in addition to offering exclusive content online. You can subscribe personally or choose an advantageous school or institutional license.

Other articles in this issue

Des prototypes d’applications développées par des filles

Publié le :

Cliquez pour voir le sommaire complet.

Vous êtes abonné(e) au magazine en format numérique?

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Voici des exemples de prototypes d’applications développés dans le cadre des programmes de l’organisme Technovation Montréal. Certains présentent même des fonctionnalités qui peuvent déjà être utilisées. Plusieurs d’entre eux ont fait l’objet d’une reconnaissance lors de la compétition internationale de Technovation.

Splace

Développée par Adelina Badea et Lina Mani  (École secondaire Jacques-Rousseau)

Safeplace est une application visant à aider les femmes victimes de violence conjugale à échapper à leurs maisons toxiques dans le Grand Montréal. L’application propose une carte des refuges situés sur ce territoire, un service de messagerie pour parler avec des professionnels de la violence domestique et une section ressources pour obtenir plus d’informations. 

« Nous croyons que notre solution simple peut transformer les méthodes traditionnelles de sortie d’une relation abusive en une option plus sûre et plus pratique. »

Vidéo de présentation (pitch) : 

Vidéo de démonstration :

Covika

Demi-finaliste lors de la compétition internationale 2021

Développée par Katerina Bitsanis (Collège Charlemagne) et Katyuska Diaz Salazar (École internationale de Laval) 

Covika vise à centraliser l’information au sujet de la COVID-19 et à la présenter de manière claire et simple. L’application comprend une page d’information générale, une liste des hôpitaux et des centres de dépistage situés à proximité ainsi qu’un questionnaire d’autoévaluation. Une page présente également les restrictions dans la région où se trouve l’utilisateur et une autre donne de l’information sur les vaccins contre la COVID-19.

Vidéo de présentation (pitch) :  

Vidéo de démonstration :

Buoyansea

Développée par Rui Ying Li et Agnès Hage-Chehine (Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf) 

Buoyansea est une application mobile de bien-être mental destinée aux étudiants et aux jeunes adultes. Des outils tels qu’un suivi de la consommation d’eau et du sommeil, un journal de gratitude et une liste d’objectifs personnels aident les utilisateurs à suivre leurs habitudes et à organiser leur vie, favorisant ainsi leur santé mentale.

Vidéo de présentation (pitch) :

Vidéo de démonstration :

Spectrum

*Coup de cœur technologie du jury catégorie sénior lors de la compétition régionale 2021

Développée par Celia Shi, Angela Lin et Alison Quach (Pensionnat-du-Saint-Nom-de-Marie)

SPECTRUM est un jeu mobile d’aventure éducatif qui sensibilise aux impacts de nos actions sur l’environnement. Il offre des informations faciles à comprendre tout en incitant les utilisateurs à réfléchir de manière éthique à leurs actions et à apporter des modifications à leurs habitudes. Chaque chapitre aborde un sujet, comme la pollution numérique ou la mode rapide.

Vidéo de présentation (pitch) :

Vidéo de démonstration :

Disponible sur Unity Play : https://play.unity.com/mg/other/technovation-spectrum

À propos du magazine École branchée

Le magazine professionnel de l'enseignement à l'ère du numérique!

Le magazine École branchée s'adresse aux enseignants, conseillers pédagogiques et directions d'établissements. Il paraît 3 fois par an, en format imprimé et numérique, en plus d'offrir des contenus exclusifs en ligne. On peut s'y abonner personnellement ou choisir une avantageuse licence école ou institutionnelle.

Autres articles dans ce numéro