So that technologies make a difference in ethics and religious culture

A radio show on cultural symbols? An avatar imagined by the student? Cultural audio guides for all of Quebec? Why not!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

A radio show on cultural symbols? An avatar imagined by the student? Cultural audio guides for all of Quebec? Why not!

Here are some of the activities suggested by Benoit Petit and Joël Bouthillette, educational advisers for the RECIT national service for the development of the person, during the 24e congress of the Quebec Association of Elementary Teachers held in Quebec City in December.

Technologies to support learning

While it is sometimes difficult to find innovative and multidisciplinary projects to interest students in ethics and religious culture, the lecturers believe they have found part of the solution thanks to technology. For them, one thing is clear: technologies must make a difference in learning.

The speakers give the example of a child with writing difficulties. If his difficulties prevent him from deploying the necessary energy to think about the task, it is worth asking him to give his answer orally. So video capture can be a good way for children to give a response orally and to keep a memory of their work. For pedagogical advisers, it is always necessary to reduce information and communication technologies to their functions for learning.

Digital identity

Bullying and the role of social media has tragically resurfaced in the news. Why not take the opportunity to ask young people to reflect on their digital identity? The course in ethics and religious culture offers an ideal framework for this ethical reflection.

Benoit Petit therefore invited the workshop participants to create their own avatar on the Pixlr photo editing software, available on the internet. Like their students, teachers often want to master software from its first use. While some teachers found the software difficult to use, they nevertheless recognized that the project was a great way to bring discussion about digital identity: do others recognize me in this avatar? What does this avatar say about me?

Listening culture

Benoit Petit chose the Culture Listening project to explain to the teachers present the importance of choosing meaningful technologies for the project. For example, there is no point in producing podcast capsules if no one downloads them to listen to them. It is better then only to create audio files.

However, the national service of the RECIT in development of the person set up the Culture with the listening project whose objective is to create tourist audio guides for all of Quebec. Each location targeted by the project would be identified by a QR code that would allow visitors to download the audio guide from their smartphone. Podcasting is useful here.

As this project is organized on a national scale, this is a great way to motivate students and raise the quality standards of French or historical research, for example. The project therefore makes it possible to assess skills in different disciplines at the same time.

All the information on the projects presented in the workshop can be found on This site.

Read also :

Ethical reflection around ICT

Copyright and the Internet: Ethics in the Classroom

Podcasting to improve reading skills

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Pour que les technologies fassent une différence en éthique et culture religieuse

Une émission de radio sur les symboles culturels? Un avatar imaginé par l’élève? Des audioguides culturels pour tout le Québec? Pourquoi pas!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Une émission de radio sur les symboles culturels? Un avatar imaginé par l’élève? Des audioguides culturels pour tout le Québec? Pourquoi pas!

Voici quelques-unes des activités suggérées par Benoit Petit et Joël Bouthillette, conseillers pédagogiques pour le service national du RECIT pour le développement de la personne, lors du 24e congrès de l’Association québécoise des enseignantes et enseignants du primaire qui s’est tenu à Québec en décembre.

Les technologies pour aider à l’apprentissage

S’il est difficile parfois de trouver des projets novateurs et multidisciplinaires pour intéresser les élèves au cours d’éthique et de culture religieuse, les conférenciers croient avoir trouvé une partie de la solution grâce à la technologie. Pour eux, une chose est claire : les technologies doivent faire une différence dans les apprentissages.

Les conférenciers donnent l’exemple d’un enfant ayant des difficultés en écriture. Si ses difficultés l’empêchent de déployer l’énergie nécessaire pour réfléchir à la tâche, il vaut lui demander de donner sa réponse à l’oral. Ainsi la capture vidéo peut être un bon moyen pour les enfants de donner une réponse oralement et de garder un souvenir de leur travail. Pour les conseillers pédagogiques, il faut toujours ramener les technologies de l’information et de la communication à leurs fonctions pour l’apprentissage.

L’identité numérique

L’intimidation et le rôle des médias sociaux a refait surface de manière tragique dans l’actualité. Pourquoi ne pas en profiter pour demander aux jeunes de réfléchir sur leur identité numérique? Le cours d’éthique et de culture religieuse offre un cadre idéal pour cette réflexion éthique.

Benoit Petit a donc invité les participants de l’atelier à créer eux-mêmes leur propre avatar sur le logiciel de retouche de photo Pixlr, accessible sur internet. Comme leurs élèves, les enseignants souhaitent souvent maîtriser un logiciel dès sa première utilisation. Si certains enseignants ont trouvé le logiciel difficile à utiliser, ils ont cependant reconnu que le projet était une belle façon d’amener la discussion sur l’identité numérique : est-ce que les autres me reconnaissent dans cet avatar? Qu’est-ce que cet avatar dit de moi?

Culture à l’écoute

Benoit Petit a choisi le projet Culture à l’écoute pour expliquer aux enseignants présents l’importance de choisir des technologies significatives pour le projet. Par exemple, il est inutile de produire des capsules en baladodiffusion si personne ne les télécharge pour les écouter. Il vaut mieux alors seulement créer des fichiers audio.

Or, le service national du RECIT en développement de la personne a mis sur pied le projet Culture à l’écoute dont l’objectif est de créer des audioguides touristiques pour tout le Québec. Chaque lieu visé par le projet serait identifié par un code QR qui permettrait aux visiteurs de télécharger l’audioguide à partir de son téléphone intelligent. La baladodiffusion trouve ici toute son utilité.

Comme ce projet est organisé à l’échelle nationale, voilà une belle façon de motiver les élèves et de hausser les exigences de qualité du français ou de recherche historique, par exemple. Le projet permet donc d’évaluer des compétences dans différentes disciplines à la fois.

Toutes les informations sur les projets présentés en atelier se trouvent sur ce site.

À lire aussi :

La réflexion éthique autour des TIC

Droit d’auteur et Internet : l’éthique en classe

La baladodiffusion pour améliorer ses compétences en lecture

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :