The passion for student entrepreneurship

Corinne Germain is a teacher passionate about student entrepreneurship who educates teachers and their classes with workshops and activities. She tells how she helps students achieve their projects, while pushing schools to open their doors to entrepreneurship.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Infomercial

Corinne Germain is a teacher passionate about student entrepreneurship. Each week, she travels through the twenty or so establishments of the Découvreurs school board in Quebec City, as responsible for "the integration of pedagogy with entrepreneurial value". Its mission: to sensitize teachers and their classes to entrepreneurship through workshops and activities.

She herself supports students who participate in entrepreneurship competitions by reviewing, for example, their application to help them refine it.

According to her, entrepreneurship is a golden opportunity for students to develop qualities that are useful for life. In his view, "above all, it allows students to fulfill themselves as individuals".

BEYOND PREJUDICE 

Paradoxically, the one who also teaches ethics and religious culture has not always been so passionate about student entrepreneurship.

“When the School Board entrusted me with this file a few years ago, I did not understand why we wanted to produce mini-entrepreneurs in series. Quickly, I understood that it goes well beyond that, says Corinne Germain. Creativity, resourcefulness, cooperation, autonomy, sense of responsibility: students develop qualities that are useful for life! "

From now on, she does not miss an opportunity to fight prejudices. "Several teachers spontaneously think that commercial objectives are attached to student entrepreneurship," she regrets. We must open the doors of our schools more to entrepreneurship. "

RESOURCE 

This is all the more important, according to her, as resources are made available to teachers. To illustrate her point, Ms. Germain speaks of a budget measure to raise awareness of entrepreneurship from the Ministry of Education and Higher Education, which she has been using for four years. Its goal: to help students start an entrepreneurial project at school.

Regardless of the nature of the resource, Corinne Germain is categorical: “Knock on your management door to discuss it! It is the students who will come out the winners. "

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La passion de l’entrepreneuriat étudiant

Corinne Germain est une enseignante passionnée par l’entrepreneuriat étudiant qui sensibilise les enseignants et leurs classes avec des ateliers et des activités. Elle raconte comment elle aide les élèves à réaliser leurs projets, tout en poussant les écoles à ouvrir leurs portes à l’entrepreneuriat.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Publireportage

Corinne Germain est une enseignante passionnée par l’entrepreneuriat étudiant. Chaque semaine, elle parcourt la vingtaine d’établissements de la commission scolaire des Découvreurs, à Québec, à titre de responsable de « l’intégration de la pédagogie à valeur entrepreneuriale ». Sa mission : sensibiliser les enseignants et leurs classes à l’entrepreneuriat par le biais d’ateliers et d’activités.

Elle accompagne elle-même les élèves qui participent à des concours d’entrepreneuriat en revoyant, par exemple, leur dossier de candidature pour les aider à le peaufiner.

Selon elle, l’entrepreneuriat est pour les élèves une occasion en or de développer des qualités utiles pour la vie. À ses yeux, « il permet avant tout aux élèves de s’accomplir en tant qu’individus ».

AU-DELÀ DES PRÉJUGÉS 

Paradoxalement, celle qui enseigne aussi l’éthique et la culture religieuse n’a pas toujours été aussi passionnée l’entrepreneuriat étudiant.

« Lorsque la Commission scolaire m’a confié ce dossier il y a quelques années, je ne comprenais pas pourquoi nous voulions produire de mini-entrepreneurs en série. Rapidement, j’ai compris que ça va bien au-delà de ça, raconte Corinne Germain. Créativité, débrouillardise, coopération, autonomie, sens des responsabilités : les élèves développent des qualités utiles pour la vie! »

Dorénavant, elle ne manque pas une occasion de combattre les préjugés. « Plusieurs enseignants pensent spontanément que des objectifs mercantiles sont rattachés à l’entrepreneuriat étudiant, regrette-t-elle. Il faut ouvrir davantage les portes de nos écoles à l’entrepreneuriat. »

DES RESSOURCES 

Cela est d’autant plus important, selon elle, que des ressources sont mises à la disposition des enseignants. Pour illustrer son propos, Mme Germain parle d’une mesure budgétaire de sensibilisation à l’entrepreneuriat du ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur à laquelle elle recourt depuis quatre ans. Son objectif : aider les élèves à démarrer un projet entrepreneurial à l’école.

Peu importe la nature de la ressource, Corinne Germain est formelle : « Frappez à la porte de votre direction pour en discuter! Ce sont les élèves qui en ressortiront gagnants. »

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :