ADVERTISEMENT

Social media: guide and training for students and their parents

After a year of reflection, Collège François-de-Laval, a private high school in Quebec City, concluded that it was better to educate students than to ban social media.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

After a year of reflection, the François-de-Laval College, a private high school in Quebec City, concluded that it was better to educate students than to ban social media.

“We didn't want to bully young people, that's their reality. It is better to supervise them, educate them and raise their awareness, ”says Marc Dallaire, Managing Director. Last week, a first group of junior high school students attended a prevention program conference. “We realized, for example, that young people had misconfigured their security settings. This confirms that we are in the right direction, ”says Marc Dallaire, General Manager.

Students from other levels will also receive training, then it will be the parents' turn. “The parents told us that they felt deprived, they did not know how to supervise the young people in the face of this at home. This is another of the reasons why we went ahead, ”notes Mr. Dallaire. He also believes that knowing and using these tools will be an important asset for young people when they enter the labor market.

A guide for young people and parents with a particular interest in Facebook was also produced. It was set up with the help of Pierre-Thomas Choquette, a social media specialist, Stéphane Dion, from the National firm, and Pierre-Luc Pouliot, one of the college's teachers. “Subsequently, we submitted it to people in the field for their feedback,” says Mr. Dallaire.

Since then, the story has been picked up in the Quebec media and has snowballed. Some CEGEPs have contacted Mr. Dallaire for more information and to obtain a copy of the guide.

For now, the school has created its Facebook page, but there are no educational projects carried out using social media. Mr. Dallaire believes, however, that it could come. “A few years ago, if I had been told that a teacher would film the correction of a student's math exam to put it on their portal and give them feedback, I would have thought it was impossible and that's what we do at home now, he notes. I encourage our teachers to be innovative. "

Moreover, technology will occupy an increasingly important place at the Collège François-de-Laval. The school already has computer labs, including a mobile, and 17 interactive whiteboards, some of which are connected to cameras and microscopes. In addition, from next year, first year secondary classes will be equipped with laptops for certain subjects: mathematics, science, the social world and English (in part). The school will pay for the equipment. Then, in 2013, a one-student, one-laptop program will be set up. It is not yet clear whether students will need to acquire their own computers or whether the school will buy them and then rent them.

Read also :

Facebook and Twitter explained to parents

Social media popular with children… and their parents!

Digital identity: why and how to talk about it?

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Médias sociaux : guide et formation pour les élèves et leurs parents

Après une année de réflexion, le Collège François-de-Laval, une école secondaire privée de Québec, a conclu qu’il valait mieux éduquer les élèves que d’interdire les médias sociaux.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Après une année de réflexion, le Collège François-de-Laval, une école secondaire privée de Québec, a conclu qu’il valait mieux éduquer les élèves que d’interdire les médias sociaux.

« On ne voulait pas brimer les jeunes, c’est leur réalité. Il vaut mieux les encadrer, les éduquer et les sensibiliser », lance Marc Dallaire, directeur général. La semaine dernière, un premier groupe d’élèves de première secondaire a assisté à une conférence du programme de prévention. « On a réalisé, par exemple, que des jeunes avaient mal configuré leurs paramètres de sécurité. Ça vient confirmer que nous sommes dans la bonne direction », mentionne Marc Dallaire, directeur général.

Les élèves des autres niveaux vont également recevoir la formation, puis ce sera au tour des parents. « Les parents nous disaient qu’ils se sentaient dépourvus, ils ne savaient pas comment encadrer les jeunes face à ça à la maison. C’est une autre des raisons pour lesquelles nous sommes allés de l’avant », note M. Dallaire. Il estime aussi que la connaissance et l’utilisation de ces outils seront un atout important pour les jeunes quand ils entreront sur le marché du travail.

Un guide à l’intention des jeunes et des parents s’intéressant particulièrement à Facebook a aussi été produit. Il a été mis sur pied avec l’aide de Pierre-Thomas Choquette, un spécialiste en médias sociaux, Stéphane Dion, de la firme National, et Pierre-Luc Pouliot, l’un des enseignants du collège. « Par la suite, nous l’avons soumis à des gens du milieu pour avoir leur rétroaction », mentionne M. Dallaire.

Depuis, l’histoire a été reprise dans les médias de Québec et a fait boule de neige. Des cégeps ont notamment communiqué avec M. Dallaire pour en savoir plus et pour avoir une copie du guide.

Pour l’instant, l’école a créé sa page Facebook, mais il n’y a pas de projets pédagogiques réalisés à l’aide des médias sociaux. M. Dallaire croit toutefois que ça pourrait venir. « Il y a quelques années, si on m’avait dit qu’un enseignant filmerait la correction d’un examen de mathématique d’un élève pour le mettre sur son portail et lui donner ses commentaires, j’aurais pensé que c’était impossible et c’est ce qu’on fait chez nous maintenant, note-t-il. J’encourage nos enseignants à être innovateurs. »

D’ailleurs, la technologie occupera une place de plus en plus grande au Collège François-de-Laval. L’école est déjà dotée de laboratoires informatiques, dont un mobile, et de 17 tableaux blancs interactifs dont certains sont branchés à des caméras et des microscopes. De plus, dès l’an prochain, des classes de première secondaire seront équipées d’ordinateurs portables pour certaines matières : les mathématiques, les sciences, l’univers social et l’anglais (en partie). C’est l’école qui paiera pour l’équipement. Ensuite, en 2013, un programme un élève, un portable, sera mis en place. On ignore pour l’instant si les élèves devront acquérir leur propre ordinateur ou si l’école les achètera pour leur louer ensuite.

À lire aussi :

Facebook et Twitter expliqués aux parents

Les médias sociaux populaires chez les enfants… et leurs parents!

L’identité numérique : pourquoi et comment en parler?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct