ADVERTISEMENT

Digital Reading in New Brunswick

Fredericton - In Fredericton, New Brunswick, sixteen students (eight in 5th grade and eight in 7th grade) enrolled in a French immersion program in School District 8 have been reading eBooks since February 2010 and then sharing their impressions of reading within a literary circle.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Fredericton - In Fredericton, New Brunswick, sixteen students (eight in 5th grade and eight in 7th grade) enrolled in a French immersion program in School District 8 have been reading eBooks since February 2010 and then sharing their impressions of reading within a literary circle.

The eBook, also called an electronic book reader, e-reader or ebook, is a physical medium that allows you to store and read digital books, or the electronic version of a printed book. The eBook used by the Fredericton students is a Sony Reader PSR-300.

Chantale Cloutier, responsible for French immersion literacy, and Monique McMinniman, grade 7 teacher, are responsible for the pilot project. They admit that they had some difficulty with the devices initially, especially in transferring digital books from the computer to the eBooks. “Sony does not allow more than six eBooks per computer. So we had to use three different computers and buy the books three times. Now that we know how to do it, everything is working fine, ”says Ms. Cloutier.

According to her, the main challenge of the project is to find content in French; children's novels in digital version are still rare. Nevertheless, she stays the course: “Students love digital books”.

The two officials have already noticed a "huge increase" in motivation to read among students. They study at two different schools in School District 8: Liverpool Street School (primary) and Bliss Carman Middle School (secondary).

To complete the reading component, they have created a wiki site where students can post comments on their readings and participate in discussions. “Students do other activities such as literary circles, Jeopardy play and so on, all through technology and digital boards. Nothing is done with paper and pencil, ”says Ms. Cloutier.

“We are very satisfied with the results so far,” she adds. Moreover, the two officials already hope to open the project to more students and offer it to other schools.

To be continued…

By Martine Rioux

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Lecture numérique au Nouveau-Brunswick

Fredericton - À Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, seize élèves (huit de 5e année et huit de 7e année), inscrits à un programme d'immersion en français dans le District scolaire 8, lisent sur des livrels depuis février 2010 et partagent ensuite leurs impressions de lecture à l’intérieur d’un cercle littéraire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Fredericton – À Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, seize élèves (huit de 5e année et huit de 7e année), inscrits à un programme d’immersion en français dans le District scolaire 8, lisent sur des livrels depuis février 2010 et partagent ensuite leurs impressions de lecture à l’intérieur d’un cercle littéraire.

Le livrel, aussi appelé lecteur de livres électroniques, liseuse ou ebook, est un support physique qui permet de stocker et de lire des livres numériques, soit la version électronique d’un ouvrage imprimé. Le livrel utilisé par les élèves de Fredericton est un Sony Reader PSR-300.

Chantale Cloutier, responsable de la littéracie en immersion française, et Monique McMinniman, enseignante de 7e année, sont responsables du projet pilote. Elles admettent qu’elles ont éprouvé quelques difficultés avec les appareils au départ, surtout pour transférer les livres numériques de l’ordinateur vers les livrels. « Sony ne permet pas plus de six livrels par ordinateur. Nous avons donc dû utiliser trois ordinateurs différents et acheter les livres trois fois. Maintenant que nous savons comment faire, tout fonctionne bien », indique Mme Cloutier.

Selon elle, le principal défi du projet est de trouver du contenu en français; les romans jeunesse en version numérique étant encore rares. Néanmoins, elle garde le cap : « Les élèves adorent les livres numériques ».

Les deux responsables ont d’ailleurs déjà remarqué une « énorme augmentation » de la motivation pour lire chez les élèves. Ceux-ci étudient dans deux écoles différentes du District scolaire 8 : Liverpool Street School (primaire) et Bliss Carman Middle School (secondaire).

Pour compléter le volet lecture, elles ont créé un site wiki où les élèves peuvent placer leurs commentaires sur leurs lectures et participer à des discussions. « Les élèves font d’autres activités telles que cercles littéraires, jeu de Jeopardy ou autres, tout cela par l’entremise de la technologie et de tableaux numériques. Rien ne se fait à partir de papier et de crayon », dit Mme Cloutier.

« Nous sommes très satisfaites des résultats jusqu’a présent », ajoute-t-elle. D’ailleurs, les deux responsables espèrent déjà ouvrir le projet à plus d’élèves et le proposer à d’autres écoles.

À suivre…

Par Martine Rioux

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!
Avis Facebook pour l’UE! Vous devez vous connecter pour afficher et publier des commentaires FB!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct