ADVERTISEMENT

The power of breaks in the learning process

Learning synchronized swimming or problem solving requires several hundred hours of practice. To maximize learning efficiency, practicing is good, but taking breaks is essential. This Edutopia article cites three scientific studies that demonstrate why breaks are not only desirable, but necessary in the learning process.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Learning synchronized swimming or problem solving requires several hundred hours of practice. To maximize learning efficiency, doing drills is good, but taking breaks is essential. This article from Edutopia (cites three scientific studies that demonstrate why interruptions are not only desirable, but necessary in the learning process.

A discovery that changes our understanding of the learning process

Published in 2021, the results of Leonardo Cohen and his team of neurologists from the National Institute of Health surprised many in the educational community. Indeed, it is commonly accepted that in order to learn a gesture or a knowledge, one must practice. In neuroeducation, repetition allows the consolidation of neural circuits, which facilitates the retention of information. Pauses between two activities are often perceived as a break in the learning process, a time when the brain rests, gets energized and returns to its initial state, ready to resume its work. However, Professor Cohen's work shows that this is not the case.

In his study, young adults connected to devices that capture neurological activity had to learn to write with their non-dominant hand. The work sessions were interspersed with short breaks. During these periods, brain activity was 20 times faster. Nerve impulses flowed from the neocortex, where motor and sensory information is processed, to the hippocampus, the memory center, more than 12 times per second! The brain seems to use this time to replay, in a loop and at full speed, its new learning.

These results make the researcher say that our understanding of the mechanisms of memorization has just taken a big step forward. Until now, we underestimated the role of pauses in the process of retaining information. In fact, breaks are as important as the exercises themselves!

For the introduction of breaks in class

Another researcher and teacher, Judy Willis, says that to promote better learning, breaks must be allowed on a frequent basis, before fatigue or boredom occurs. In her practice, she suggests a 3-5 minute break after 10-15 minutes of learning activity in elementary school, and after 20-30 minutes in high school. And what to do during these breaks? Nothing really special. Singing, walking or chatting with colleagues will not interfere with the memorization process that the brain engages in, on the contrary.

Combat cognitive fatigue

Another research study conducted this time in 2016 demonstrated the impacts of cognitive fatigue that sets in during the school day. For every hour that passes, the study showed a drop in performance tests, on the order of 1 % standard deviation. In practical terms, this equates to a loss of over 10 school days per year! However, by allowing more rest periods throughout the day, scores on the same tests increase faster than the decrease caused by cognitive fatigue. In other words, repeated breaks do more than compensate for lost performance, they improve it.

So isn't it time to take a break?

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le pouvoir des périodes de pause dans le processus d’apprentissage

Apprendre la nage synchronisée ou la résolution de problème nécessite plusieurs centaines d’heures de pratique. Pour maximiser l’efficacité de l’apprentissage, faire des exercices, c’est bien, mais prendre des pauses, c’est essentiel. Cet article d’Edutopia (en anglais) cite trois recherches scientifiques qui démontrent pourquoi des interruptions sont non seulement souhaitables, mais nécessaires dans le processus d’apprentissage.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Apprendre la nage synchronisée ou la résolution de problème nécessite plusieurs centaines d’heures de pratique. Pour maximiser l’efficacité de l’apprentissage, faire des exercices, c’est bien, mais prendre des pauses, c’est essentiel. Cet article d’Edutopia (en anglais) cite trois recherches scientifiques qui démontrent pourquoi des interruptions sont non seulement souhaitables, mais nécessaires dans le processus d’apprentissage.

Une découverte qui change notre compréhension du processus d’apprentissage

Publiés en 2021, les résultats de Leonardo Cohen et de son équipe de neurologues du National Institute of Health en ont surpris plusieurs dans la communauté éducative. En effet, il est communément accepté que pour apprendre un geste ou un savoir, il faut s’exercer. En neuroéducation, la répétition permet de consolider les circuits neuronaux, ce qui facilite la rétention de l’information. Les périodes de pause entre deux activités sont souvent perçues comme un arrêt dans le processus d’apprentissage, un moment où le cerveau se repose, s’énergise pour revenir à son état initial, prêt à reprendre son travail. Or, les travaux du professeur Cohen montrent qu’il n’en est rien.

Dans son étude, de jeunes adultes reliés à des appareils captant l’activité neurologique, devaient apprendre à écrire avec leur main non dominante. Les sessions de travail étaient entrecoupées de courtes pauses. Or, durant ces périodes, l’activité cérébrale était 20 fois plus rapide. L’influx nerveux circulait du néocortex, lieu du traitement de l’information motrice et sensorielle, à l’l’hippocampe, le centre de la mémoire, plus de 12 fois à la seconde! Le cerveau semble utiliser ce temps pour se repasser, en boucle et à toute allure, ses nouveaux apprentissages.

Ces résultats font dire au chercheur que notre compréhension des mécanismes de mémorisation vient de franchir un grand pas. Jusqu’à maintenant, nous sous-estimions le rôle des pauses dans le processus de la rétention de l’information. En fait, les pauses occupent une fonction aussi importante que les exercices eux-mêmes!

Pour l’instauration des pauses en classe

Une autre chercheure et enseignante, Judy Willis, indique que, pour favoriser un meilleur apprentissage, des pauses doivent être permises sur une base fréquente, avant que ne surviennent la fatigue ou l’ennui. Dans sa pratique, elle suggère un temps de détente de 3 à 5 minutes après 10 à 15 minutes d’activité d’apprentissage au primaire, et après 20 à 30 minutes au secondaire. Et que faire durant ces pauses? Rien de vraiment spécial. Chanter, marcher ou discuter avec des confrères ne nuira pas au processus de mémorisation auquel le cerveau s’adonne, au contraire.

Combattre la fatigue cognitive

Une autre recherche réalisée cette fois en 2016 a démontré les impacts de la fatigue cognitive qui s’installe durant la journée à l’école. Pour chaque heure qui passe, l’étude a démontré une baisse à des tests de performance, de l’ordre de 1 % d’écart type. Concrètement, cela équivaut à une perte de plus de 10 jours de classe par année! Cependant, en permettant plus de périodes de repos au fil de la journée, les résultats aux mêmes tests augmentent plus rapidement que la diminution causée par la fatigue cognitive. Autrement dit, les pauses répétées font plus que compenser les pertes de performance, elles les améliorent.

Alors, n’est-ce pas justement l’heure de prendre une pause?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et maintenant technopédagogue a accumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Dans ses textes, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion pour les ressources numériques, les pratiques efficaces et la formation à distance.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :