Music contributes to many facets of development

According to the results of several studies, music promotes faster fluency in language and reading, increased concentration ability and helps develop emotional intelligence.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

A document recently published by the Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto, entitled "The Benefits of Music Education" (The benefits of music education: an overview of current studies in neuroscience) confirms that music education provides children with many benefits in the short and long term. According to the results of several studies, compiled in this document, music promotes faster fluency in language and reading, increased ability to concentrate and helps develop emotional intelligence.

Many positive effects

Among the positive effects linked to music, we note in particular an increase in intelligence quotient, better development of learning and memorization mechanisms, better assimilation of information and better motor coordination. Plus, learning music helps the brain build strong neural circuits, which helps improve structure and function through a process called neuroplasticity.

Another very encouraging discovery is that the beneficial effects of music last over time. Indeed, musical training would delay the first symptoms of senile dementia and better compensate in the event of hearing loss. In fact, studies show that an older adult with hearing loss will be more able to identify sounds in a noisy environment if they have musical training.

Stimulate cognitive development

The use of technologies such as functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) and electroencephalography (EEG) have enabled neuroscientists to gain a better understanding of how music acts on the brain, how it improves its function and promotes l 'learning. Music - playing an instrument or singing - has been shown to cause changes in brain activity, changes that stimulate cognitive development.

The document The benefits of music education: an overview of current studies in neuroscience, available in English version only, can be consulted on the website of the Royal Conservatory of Music.

In the same vein, researcher Jonathan Bolduc, associate member of the International Brain, Music and Sound Research Laboratory (BRAMS) of the University of Montreal, has also recently shown through his work that “musical activities promote the development of phonological awareness, that is, the skills to perceive, segment and manipulate the sound units of language, such as rhymes, syllables and phonemes. "

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Pierre Turbis
Pierre is a journalist and columnist. He contributes to numerous publications.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La musique contribue à de nombreuses facettes du développement

Selon les résultats de plusieurs études, la musique favorise une maîtrise plus rapide du langage et de la lecture, une capacité de concentration accrue et aide à développer l’intelligence émotionnelle.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Un document récemment publié par le Conservatoire royal de musique de Toronto, intitulé « The Benefits of Music Education » (Les bénéfices de l’éducation musicale : survol des études actuelles en neuroscience) confirme que l’éducation musicale procure aux enfants de nombreux bienfaits à court comme à long terme. Selon les résultats de plusieurs études, compilées dans ce document, la musique favorise une maîtrise plus rapide du langage et de la lecture, une capacité de concentration accrue et aide à développer l’intelligence émotionnelle.

De nombreux effets positifs

Parmi les effets positifs liés à la musique, on note particulièrement un accroissement du quotient intellectuel, un meilleur développement des mécanismes d’apprentissage et de mémorisation, une meilleure assimilation de l’information et une meilleure coordination motrice. De plus, l’apprentissage de la musique aide le cerveau à établir de solides circuits neuraux, ce qui contribue à en améliorer la structure et la fonction via un processus appelé la neuroplasticité.

Autre découverte très encourageante, les effets bénéfiques de la musique perdurent dans le temps. En effet, la formation musicale permettrait de retarder les premiers symptômes de la démence sénile et de mieux compenser dans le cas d’une perte de l’ouïe. De fait, les études démontrent qu’un aîné souffrant de perte auditive arrivera plus facilement à identifier les sons dans un environnement bruyant s’il possède une formation musicale.

Stimuler le développement cognitif

L’emploi de technologies telles que l’imagerie par résonnance magnétique fonctionnelle (IRMf) et l’électroencéphalographie (EEG) ont permis aux chercheurs en neuroscience de mieux comprendre comment la musique agit sur le cerveau, comment elle en améliore le fonctionnement et favorise l’apprentissage. On a démontré que la musique – la pratique d’un instrument ou du chant – provoque des changements dans l’activité cérébrale, changements qui stimulent le développement cognitif.

Le document Les bénéfices de l’éducation musicale : survol des études actuelles en neuroscience, disponible en version anglaise uniquement, peut être consulté sur le site du Conservatoire Royal de Musique.

Dans le même ordre d’idées, le chercheur Jonathan Bolduc, membre associé au Laboratoire international de recherche sur le cerveau, la musique et le son (BRAMS) de l’Université de Montréal, a aussi récemment montré par ses travaux que « les activités musicales favorisent le développement de la conscience phonologique, soit les habiletés à percevoir, segmenter et manipuler les unités sonores du langage, comme les rimes, les syllabes et les phonèmes. »

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Pierre Turbis
Pierre est journaliste et chroniqueur. Il collabore à de nombreuses publications.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct