Hackerspaces

(previous page) A hacker is often perceived as a virtual criminal. Yet hackers are said to be the heroes of the computer revolution. Thanks to them, we have […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

(Previous page)

A hacker, is often seen as a virtual criminal. Yet hackers are said to be the heroes of the computer revolution. Thanks to them, we had to push back the limits of security. The hacker we will talk about here rather responds to the definition expressed by the HackerOuverts.fr site: anyone curious about the operation of the objects that surround him, and who aims to make the most of their capacities for the pleasure of his own achievements. Nothing to do with a bandit!

Today, a global current called hackerspace offers people to meet in a common place to work on their projects while exchanging and sharing with other hackers, in an informal atmosphere. The essence of these plans is not to try to gain access to the secret files of the FBI, nor to defraud the customers of the Amazon bookstore! The new ones hackers focus on solving concrete problems many of which will directly benefit the community, as shown the list of active projects on the Hackerspaces.org site.

And what does the school have to do with all of this? Part of the answer lies in the very definition of the hacker: he does not necessarily have the knowledge, but he masters the skills that will allow him to obtain the knowledge when it is needed. This is what a "geek" father wrote on his blog in an article quite confusing for newbies, " Why I want my daughter to be a hacker "(Why do I want my daughter to be a hacker). It indicates that a hacker is simply someone who likes to discover and do things on their own. He gives four reasons why he wants his daughter to be one:

1. The hackers advocate small communities, therefore the independence of social systems that aim for generalization.

2. The hackers development above all their skills, not so much their knowledge.

3. The hackers can " hacker Not only electronics, but everything. For example, the food distribution chain by planting a garden, dependence on electricity by installing solar panels, etc.

4. The hackers prefer open and free tools, to ensure that they will be available for generations to come.

As to hackerspaces, learning and sharing are their main objectives. It sounds like socioconstructivism to be mistaken. It is the skills-based approach applied in a concrete way.

The animators of the STORY OF Mathematics, Science and Technology, Pierre Couillard and Pierre Lachance, are already working in the spirit hackerspace although they were not familiar with this current when we spoke to them. They take the applications that exist and adapt them to achieve the educational goals they have in mind.

Moreover, Pierre Lachance points out that this spirit reflects the raison d'être of national and local RÉCITs: the animators identify content and software (mainly free) that they adapt, use, create or share to meet the needs. "The contributions we have made to various projects always aim to improve / adapt a product which, in our opinion, has significant educational potential for the Quebec school network," explains Pierre Couillard. Some examples: implementation of WikiniMST, deployment of SPIP, creation of a timeline in social universe, free software translation Geogebra and the application Scratch from MIT, Geometria, etc.

Pierre Lachance believes that “the school has a lot to gain from collaborating in the construction of expertise / content and sharing it with a free license, that is to say that allows others to resume work, modify it, and redistribute it. "

Form of hackers

Now, we should see how to transport this way of doing things to the students in our schools.

In France, Thomas Maillioux, teacher librarian, tried the experiment of hackerspace during the 2010-2011 school year with the students of the Evariste Gallois College. It was young people who approached him because of his reputation as a handyman. For two hours each week, he and students would meet and try to answer their questions about computers, electronics, programming and video games.

What made this hackerspace so successful was that the projects were chosen by the students themselves and were not evaluated. Very importantly, in the hackerspace philosophy, we give back its place to error as an integral part of the learning process. “The ability for students to experiment without being scored, to program a line of code wrong, burn out an electrical component, or fail to operate a circuit simply gave them more freedom to fumble around and to make a mistake - to learn by mistake, ”explains Mr. Maillioux in an interview with theInfobourg.

How to set up a hackerspace at school? Thomas Maillioux suggests to adult instigators to meet "real" hackers to familiarize yourself with the type of atmosphere that reigns there. Thus, they will be equipped to maintain it when students want to embark on the adventure. He also suggests preparing to learn from students. “Some young people were very surprised to see me take 3D modeling software lessons with one of them. Far from threatening my “teaching authority”, it allowed them to trust me and see me as “one of them”, so to be less afraid of making mistakes in front of me, ”he says.

In his view, the working methods inherent in the concept of hackerspace, or the possibility of working in groups on projects, the ability to share your own experiments, the possibility of pushing further research already carried out by someone else and the possibility of playing the role of the teacher from time to time , may be beneficial for some students in all schools.

To read more

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les hackerspaces

(page précédente) Un hacker, est souvent perçu comme un criminel virtuel. Pourtant, on dit que les hackers sont les héros de la révolution informatique. Grâce à eux, on a notamment […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

(page précédente)

Un hacker, est souvent perçu comme un criminel virtuel. Pourtant, on dit que les hackers sont les héros de la révolution informatique. Grâce à eux, on a notamment dû repousser les limites de la sécurité. Le hacker dont nous parlerons ici répond plutôt à la définition exprimée par le site HackerOuverts.fr : toute personne curieuse du fonctionnement des objets qui l’entourent, et qui vise à exploiter au maximum leurs capacités pour le plaisir de ses propres réalisations. Rien à voir avec un bandit!

Aujourd’hui, un courant mondial appelé hackerspace propose à des gens de se réunir dans un endroit commun pour travailler sur leurs projets tout en échangeant et partageant avec d’autres hackers, dans une atmosphère informelle. L’essence de ces projets n’est pas de tenter d’accéder aux fichiers secrets du FBI, ni de frauder les clients de la librairie Amazon! Les nouveaux hackers se concentrent sur la résolution de problèmes concrets dont plusieurs bénéficieront directement à la communauté, comme le montre la liste des projets actifs sur le site Hackerspaces.org.

Et qu’est-ce que l’école a à voir dans tout ça? Une partie de la réponse réside dans la définition même du hacker : il ne possède pas nécessairement la connaissance, mais il maîtrise les compétences qui lui permettront d’obtenir la connaissance au moment où celle-ci sera nécessaire. C’est ce qu’un père « geek » a écrit sur son blogue dans un article assez déroutant pour les néophytes, « Why I want my daughter to be a hacker » (Pourquoi je veux que ma fille soit une hacker). Il indique qu’un hacker est simplement quelqu’un qui aime découvrir et faire les choses par lui-même. Il donne quatre raisons pour lesquelles il souhaite que sa fille en soit une :

1. Les hackers préconisent les petites communautés, donc l’indépendance des systèmes sociaux qui visent la généralisation.

2. Les hackers développement avant tout leurs compétences, pas tant leurs connaissances.

3. Les hackers peuvent « hacker » non seulement l’électronique, mais tout. Par exemple, la chaîne de distribution alimentaire en plantant un jardin, la dépendance à l’électricité en installant des panneaux solaires, etc.

4. Les hackers préfèrent des outils ouverts et libres, pour s’assurer qu’ils seront disponibles pour les générations à venir.

Quant aux hackerspaces, apprendre et partager sont leurs objectifs principaux. Cela ressemble à s’y méprendre au socioconstructivisme. C’est l’approche par compétences appliquée de façon concrète.

Les animateurs du RÉCIT de la mathématique, des sciences et de la technologie, Pierre Couillard et Pierre Lachance, travaillent déjà dans l’esprit hackerspace même s’ils ne connaissaient pas bien ce courant lorsque nous leur avons parlé. Ils partent des applications qui existent et les adaptent pour atteindre les objectifs pédagogiques qu’ils ont en tête.

D’ailleurs, Pierre Lachance fait remarquer que cet esprit traduit bien la raison d’être des RÉCIT nationaux et locaux : les animateurs repèrent des contenus et des logiciels (libres, principalement) qu’ils adaptent, exploitent, créent ou partagent pour répondre aux besoins. « Les contributions que nous avons faites à différents projets ont toujours comme but l’amélioration/adaptation d’un produit qui, selon nous, a un potentiel éducatif signifiant pour le réseau scolaire québécois, » explique Pierre Couillard. Quelques exemples : mise en place du WikiniMST, déploiement de SPIP, création d’une ligne du temps en univers social, traduction du logiciel libre Geogebra et de l’application Scratch du MIT, Geometria, etc.

Pierre Lachance estime que « l’école a beaucoup à gagner à collaborer à la construction d’expertises/contenus et à le partager avec une licence libre, c’est-à-dire qui permet aux autres de reprendre le travail, le modifier, et le redistribuer. »

Former des hackers

Maintenant, il faudrait voir comment transporter cette façon de faire jusqu’aux élèves dans nos écoles.

En France, Thomas Maillioux, enseignant documentaliste, a tenté l’expérience du hackerspace au cours de l’année scolaire 2010-2011 avec les élèves du Collège Évariste Gallois. Ce sont les jeunes qui l’ont approché en raison de sa réputation de bricoleur. Ainsi, deux heures chaque semaine, des élèves et lui se rencontraient et tentaient ensemble de répondre à leurs questions concernant les ordinateurs, l’électronique, la programmation et les jeux vidéo.

Ce qui a fait le succès de ce hackerspace, c’est que les projets étaient choisis par les élèves eux-mêmes et qu’ils n’étaient pas évalués. Fait très important, dans la philosophie hackerspace, on redonne sa place à l’erreur comme faisant partie intégrante du processus d’apprentissage. « La possibilité pour les élèves d’expérimenter sans être notés, de se tromper dans la programmation d’une ligne de code, de griller un composant électrique ou de ne pas faire fonctionner un circuit leur laissait tout simplement plus de liberté de tâtonner et de se tromper — d’apprendre par l’erreur », explique M. Maillioux en entrevue avec l’Infobourg.

Comment mettre en place un hackerspace à l’école? Thomas Maillioux suggère aux adultes instigateurs de rencontrer de « vrais » hackers pour se familiariser avec le type d’ambiance qui y règne. Ainsi, ils seront outillés pour l’entretenir lorsque des élèves voudront se lancer dans l’aventure. Il suggère aussi de se préparer à apprendre des élèves. « Certains jeunes ont été très surpris de me voir prendre des cours de modélisation 3D sur un logiciel avec l’un d’entre eux. Loin de menacer mon “autorité d’enseignant”, cela leur a permis de me faire confiance et de me voir comme “un des leurs”, donc d’avoir moins peur de faire des erreurs devant moi », raconte-t-il.

À son avis, les méthodes de travail inhérentes au concept de hackerspace, soit la possibilité de travailler en groupe sur des projets, la capacité de partager ses propres expérimentations, la possibilité de pousser les recherches déjà effectuées par quelqu’un d’autre et la possibilité de jouer le rôle de l’enseignant de temps en temps, peuvent être bénéfiques pour certains élèves dans toutes les écoles.

Pour lire la suite

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :