End-of-year exams: 5 tools to help your students

Spring is already upon us, bringing with it good weather... and final exams! This is often a challenging time for students and teachers alike. To make it easier for you and your students to prepare, here are the 5 best tools from Alloprof. // SPONSORED FEATURE
  • Sponsored report
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Spring is already upon us, bringing with it good weather... and final exams! This is often a challenging time for students and teachers alike. To make it easier for you and your students to prepare, here are the 5 best tools from Alloprof.

1. The MiniRecups

If there is one effective resource that your students will love, it is the MiniRecups. These are online tutorials that last less than 30 minutes. Each one provides a review of prior concepts, features an interactive video to validate understanding, and challenges the student with exercises. MiniRecaps can even be presented in class or offered as homework to allow students to validate their understanding. There are already 150 MiniRecups available on the site, so the concept your students need to study is probably there!

2. The Mutual Aid Zone

Of course, you can't be available all the time to answer students' questions, and those questions often become more numerous on the eve of exams. There is now a tool that can help them seven days a week: the Mutual aid zone.

The Help Zone is a collaborative space where students can ask questions and receive explanations from their peers, verified by the Alloprof team. A fast and reliable resource! In addition, your students can also help their peers, which is not only good for their self-confidence, but also for their own understanding of the concepts before the exams.

3. The top notions

There is a lot to review and your students don't know where to start or how to structure their study? The top notions for the primary level and for secondary schools are perfect to help them. For each level and each subject, a dozen central and essential concepts have been selected based on the recommendations of the Association des Orthopédagogues du Québec and educational researchers. Each of these concepts is accompanied by the best resources to facilitate its learning.

4. The notional videos

If Alloprof's pedagogical sheets are a reference for finding a written explanation, the videos offer short, clear and dynamic explanations on the academic concepts that pose the most difficulties for students. The Alloprof's YouTube channel offers hundreds of videos on a variety of topics ranging from short conceptual explanations (2 to 3 minutes) to CyberReviews (1 to 2 hours), webinars covering all the preparation for some of the ministry's exams.

5. The games

Who says studying is boring? More and more, educational researchers are looking at the benefits of play and gamification on learning and motivation, and the results are quite positive! Whether it's for have fun (while learning!) in class or at home, games help to diversify the routine and energize the review. Here are some examples of Alloprof games :

Alloprof Teachers

Did you know that Alloprof is currently developing a whole section of content and tools for give teachers a boost? To stay on top of the best resources to help your students, subscribe to the Teachers' Newsletter. To be won: 500 $ in bookstores!

Your comments on this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

You might also like:

Examens de fin d’année : 5 outils pour aider vos élèves

  • Reportage commandité
Le printemps est déjà à nos portes, emportant avec lui le beau temps… et les examens de fin d’année! C’est souvent une période remplie de défis, autant pour les élèves que pour les profs. Pour vous faciliter la tâche et aider vos élèves à bien s’y préparer, voici les 5 meilleurs outils d’Alloprof. // REPORTAGE COMMANDITÉ
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le printemps est déjà à nos portes, emportant avec lui le beau temps… et les examens de fin d’année! C’est souvent une période remplie de défis, autant pour les élèves que pour les profs. Pour vous faciliter la tâche et aider vos élèves à bien s’y préparer, voici les 5 meilleurs outils d’Alloprof.

1.  Les MiniRécups

S’il y a une ressource efficace que vos élèves adoreront, c’est bien les MiniRécups. Il s’agit de récupérations en ligne qui durent moins de 30 minutes. Chacune d’elles permet de revoir les notions préalables, propose une vidéo interactive qui permet de valider la compréhension et met l’élève au défi avec des exercices. Les MiniRécups peuvent même être présentées en classe ou proposées en devoirs afin de permettre aux élèves de valider leur compréhension. Comme il y a déjà 150 MiniRécups accessibles sur le site, la notion que vos élèves doivent étudier s’y trouve surement!

2.  La Zone d’entraide

Évidemment, vous ne pouvez pas être constamment disponible pour répondre aux questions des élèves et celles-ci deviennent souvent plus nombreuses à la veille des examens. Il existe maintenant un outil qui peut les aider sept jours sur sept : la Zone d’entraide.

Le Zone d’entraide, c’est un espace collaboratif où les élèves peuvent poser des questions et recevoir des explications de leurs pairs, vérifiées par l’équipe d’Alloprof. Une ressource fiable et rapide! En plus, vos élèves peuvent aussi aider leurs comparses, ce qui est non seulement bon pour la confiance en soi, mais aussi pour leur propre compréhension des notions avant les examens.

3.  Les top notions

Il y a beaucoup de choses à réviser et vos élèves ne savent plus où donner de la tête ni comment structurer leur étude? Les top notions pour le primaire et pour le secondaire sont parfaites pour les aider. Pour chaque niveau et chaque matière, une dizaine de notions centrales et essentielles ont été sélectionnées en se basant sur les recommandations de l’Association des Orthopédagogues du Québec et de chercheurs en éducation. Chacune de ces notions est accompagnée des meilleures ressources pour faciliter son apprentissage.

4.  Les vidéos notionnelles

Si les fiches pédagogiques d’Alloprof sont une référence pour trouver une explication écrite, les vidéos offrent des explications courtes, claires et dynamiques sur les notions scolaires qui posent le plus de difficultés aux élèves. La chaine YouTube d’Alloprof propose des centaines de vidéos sur des sujets variés allant des courtes explications notionnelles (2 à 3 minutes) jusqu’aux CyberRévisions (1 à 2 heures), des webinaires couvrant l’ensemble de la préparation de certains examens du ministère.

5.  Les jeux

Qui a dit qu’étudier était ennuyant? De plus en plus, les chercheurs en éducation s’intéressent aux bienfaits du jeu et de la ludification sur l’apprentissage et la motivation, et les résultats sont assez positifs! Que ce soit pour s’amuser (en apprenant!) en classe ou à la maison, les jeux permettent de diversifier la routine et de dynamiser la révision. Voici quelques exemples de jeux d’Alloprof :

Alloprof Enseignants

Saviez-vous qu’Alloprof développe actuellement toute une section de contenus et d’outils destinée à donner un coup de pouce aux enseignants? Pour rester à l’affut des meilleures ressources pour aider vos élèves, abonnez-vous à l’infolettre Enseignants. À gagner : 500 $ en librairie!

Vos commentaires sur cet article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :