ADVERTISEMENT

The new Stadacona School: the first Lab-École to be built

Press Release - The Centre de services scolaires de la Capitale (CSSC) and Lab-École are pleased to announce the opening of the new Stadacona Elementary School, which will welcome its first students in 2022. This school is also the first of six Lab-École projects to be completed.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Press release - The Centre de services scolaires de la Capitale (CSSC) and Lab-École are pleased to announce the opening of the new Stadacona Elementary School, which will welcome its first students on August 29. This school is also the first of 6 Lab-École projects to be launched in Quebec.

Lab-École proposes a new way of designing Quebec schools that uses innovative initiatives in the areas of physical environment, healthy and active lifestyle and nutrition. Created in close collaboration with each community, these laboratory schools, open to the community, place the student at the center of their reflections and are adapted to their needs and those of the staff who accompany them on a daily basis.

A TIERED SCHOOL WITH A COMMUNITY AND SOCIAL FOCUS

The innovative architectural concept of the Stadacona school, designed by Jérôme Lapierre Architecte and Lab-École, and realized by ABCP architecture, is based on a tiered construction, which multiplies access to the exterior thanks to its habitable roofs. The school includes collaborative spaces, a bleacher, a kitchen and a dining room that can be opened to the community outside of school hours. The strong and sustainable architectural image allows for the development of a true school and community living environment.

The project represents an investment of $25.8 M$ by the Ministry of Education (MEQ). This school becomes the 68th institution and the 47th elementary school on the CSSC territory, which has over 31,000 students. Located at the western end of the Limoilou district, at the corner of François-1er Avenue and de l'Espinay Street, the school includes 4 preschool classes and 16 elementary classes. It will accommodate 317 students from kindergarten to grade 6.

"I am delighted with the opening of Stadacona School, which will become a place of encounter, discovery and learning for generations of students in the Limoilou district. I would like to thank all of the partners who have provided the students and staff with a modern school with an inspiring environment that is conducive to academic growth and success.

Pierre Lapointe, Director General of the Centre de services scolaires de la Capitale

"The Stadacona School is the result of more than five years of work, and I am extremely proud and moved to finally see the children take ownership of the spaces we have imagined for them. The school fits perfectly into Limoilou and will be one of the most beautiful places in the neighborhood. It's a school that will make children want to go there every morning with a smile, and nothing makes me happier!"

Pierre Thibault, architect and co-founder of the Lab-École

"We dream of every school having a lunchroom, a space to eat outside, and that these places become opportunities to meet, learn and exchange. Stadacona School is beautiful and it has all that. It's like a big house where you can relax and rest. What is beautiful and important is that it is open to its neighborhood, that the whole community can benefit from it. A school that belongs to Limoilou for Limoilou.

Ricardo Larrivée, chef, host, co-founder of Ricardo Media and co-founder of Lab-École

"The Stadacona school is a laboratory school where we will test and evaluate new ideas and ways of doing things. It has a courtyard with one of the most beautiful views in Quebec City and children will be able to play safely on the roof. It is now one of those schools that will help influence future construction to make it a better environment for school stakeholders and Quebec children."

Pierre Lavoie, co-founder of the Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie, athlete, speaker and co-founder of Lab-École

ABOUT THE CAPITAL SCHOOL SERVICE CENTER
The Centre de services scolaires de la Capitale is the 9th largest school service center in Quebec. Mainly located in Quebec City, the CSSC is present in :

- the boroughs of La Cité-Limoilou, des Rivières and La Haute-Saint-Charles;
- the municipality of Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier;
- the cities of Fossambault-sur-le-Lac, Lac-Saint-Joseph, Shannon and Sainte-Catherine-de-la-Jacques-Cartier.

School website: school-stadacona.cssc.gouv.qc.ca
CSSC Website: https://cssc.gouv.qc.ca/
The registration period for CSSC facilities for the 2022-2023 school year has ended. For the 2023-2024 year, the period will be between February 6 and 14, 2023.


ABOUT THE LAB-SCHOOL

Lab-École is a non-profit organization financially supported by the MEQ whose mission is to bring together multidisciplinary expertise to design the schools of tomorrow; schools that meet the needs and realities of students and those who accompany them.

END OF PRESS RELEASE / BEGINNING OF FACT SHEET

Stadacona Elementary School

The Quebec School Lab

Context

Founded in 2017, Lab-École is a non-profit organization whose mission is to bring together multidisciplinary expertise to design the schools of tomorrow. Under the impetus of its three founding members, Pierre Thibault, Pierre Lavoie and Ricardo Larrivée, Lab-École intends to mobilize this collective thinking to turn it into a social project. Five years later, the first Lab-École is getting ready to welcome its first students.


The Lab-École aims to become a catalyst for change and innovation to create the best schools, those that fully promote the well-being, the development of everyone's potential and the success of students and all those around them. By proposing a redesigned physical environment, acting on the development of a healthy and active lifestyle and promoting healthy eating, the Lab-École wants to serve as a model for the future generation of elementary schools in Quebec and around the world.


In order to apply, test and measure these proposals, 6 school service centers/school boards are accompanied by the Lab-École in the design and realization of their own school project.

The six projects: https://www.lab-ecole.com/projets-selectionnes-lab-ecole/

Stadacona School

The first of six Lab-École schools to be built, Stadacona School is located in Vieux-Limoilou, on the edge of the Vanier district. This area has experienced a significant demographic increase in recent years, which has led to overcrowding in the three surrounding elementary schools. The new school will therefore make it possible to respond to this new demographic context, while at the same time being part of a major revitalization project for this sector of the city, which has a high deprivation index.

A habitable threshold

The new Stadacona School is the result of a collaboration between the Lab-École team, Jérôme Lapierre Architect, ABCP architecture and the Centre de services scolaires de la Capitale (CSSC). Consultation with teachers, children and CSSC professionals was very important in order to create a physical environment that meets their needs and contributes to their well-being and educational success.


The school is easily accessible by active transportation, mainly by foot. Within a reasonable walking distance (1.6 km), there are also many green spaces, such as Cartier-Brébeuf Park along the St. Charles River, the Grand Marché de Québec just a few steps away and the Patro Roc-Amadour.

A double gymnasium full of light

The school will house 20 classrooms, including 4 preschools and 16 elementary schools, as well as spaces for collaboration and dining. Given the composition of its future clientele and the surrounding population, the school has a decidedly community and social vocation. Due to the dense urban context, the project favours a vertical typology and uses the potential of its roofs to increase the capacity of the outdoor play areas.


The school will house 20 classrooms, including 4 preschools and 16 elementary schools, as well as spaces for collaboration and dining. Given the composition of its future clientele and the surrounding population, the school has a decidedly community and social vocation. Due to the dense urban context, the project favours a vertical typology and uses the potential of its roofs to increase the capacity of the outdoor play areas.

Stadacona School has :

- A reception courtyard that serves as a connection between the neighborhood, the school, its heart and the backyard.
- Locker rooms off the hallways, strategically positioned at the various entrances making it a "bootless" school.
- A bleacher: the community heart of the school. A hub of a thousand and one activities, it allows students to gather for events, in addition to being a place for reading.
- The library is divided up to be closer to the children and to encourage the consultation and borrowing of books for all ages.
- A double gymnasium whose acoustics, abundant windows and mezzanine enhance the experience of both users and spectators.
- A huge island at the top of the stage that can accommodate a whole class or the children of the daycare for culinary activities.
- Corridors that are not corridors... they are learning streets. Free of checkrooms, you can do projects, individual or team work and also relax by reading a good book, for example.
- In cycles 2 and 3, classes are grouped around common spaces called learning communities. Students will converge there to complete assignments and projects in several school disciplines.
- A magnificent outdoor classroom, with a breathtaking view of Quebec City.
- Livable roofs that are an extension of the yard where children can play safely.
- Outdoor spaces that are places of discovery and learning, at children's level.
- Layouts and furniture that allow flexibility and versatility in the use of spaces, according to needs.

Laboratory" school

A consortium of researchers led by the Faculty of Education of the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) has been mandated to assess the impact of Lab-École on the educational success and well-being of students and the staff who accompany them.


Cost
This project represents an investment of $25.8M$ by the Department of Education.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

La nouvelle école Stadacona : premier Lab-École à voir le jour

Communiqué – Le Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale (CSSC) et le Lab-École font découvrir la nouvelle école primaire Stadacona qui accueillera ses premiers élèves dès la rentrée 2022. Cette école est également le premier des 6 projets du Lab-École à voir le jour.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Communiqué – Le Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale (CSSC) et le Lab-École font découvrir la nouvelle école primaire Stadacona qui accueillera ses premiers élèves dès la rentrée, le 29 août prochain. Cette école est également le premier des 6 projets du Lab-École à voir le jour au Québec.

Le Lab-École propose une nouvelle façon de concevoir les écoles québécoises qui met à contribution des initiatives innovantes en matière d’environnement physique, de mode de vie sain et actif et d’alimentation. Créées en étroite collaboration avec chaque milieu, ces écoles laboratoires, ouvertes sur la communauté, placent l’élève au centre des réflexions et sont adaptées à leurs besoins et à ceux du personnel qui les accompagne quotidiennement.

UNE ÉCOLE EN PALIERS À VOCATION COMMUNAUTAIRE ET SOCIALE

Le concept architectural novateur de l’école Stadacona, conçu par Jérôme Lapierre Architecte et le Lab-École, et réalisé par la firme ABCP architecture, repose sur une construction en paliers, qui multiplie les accès à l’extérieur grâce à ses toits habitables. L’école inclut notamment des espaces collaboratifs, un gradin, une cuisine et une salle à manger qui pourront s’ouvrir à la communauté à l’extérieur des heures de classe. L’image architecturale identitaire forte et durable permet le développement d’un véritable milieu de vie scolaire et communautaire.

Le projet représente un investissement de 25,8 M$ de la part du ministère de l’Éducation (MEQ). Cette école devient le 68e établissement et la 47e école primaire sur le territoire du CSSC, qui compte plus de 31 000 élèves. Située à l’extrémité ouest du quartier Limoilou, à l’angle de l’avenue François-1er et de la rue de l’Espinay, l’école comprend 4 classes de niveau préscolaire et 16 de niveau primaire. Elle accueillera 317 élèves de la maternelle 4 ans à la 6e année.

« Je me réjouis de l’ouverture de l’école Stadacona qui deviendra un lieu de rencontres, de découvertes et d’apprentissages pour des générations d’élèves du quartier de Limoilou. Je remercie l’ensemble des partenaires grâce auxquels les élèves et le personnel bénéficient d’une école moderne dont l’environnement inspirant est propice à l’épanouissement et à la réussite scolaire. »

Pierre Lapointe, directeur général du Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale

« L’école Stadacona est le fruit de plus de cinq années de travail, et je suis extrêmement fier et ému de voir enfin les enfants s’approprier les espaces que nous avons imaginés pour eux. L’école s’intègre parfaitement dans Limoilou et va être l’un des plus beaux endroits du quartier. C’est une école qui va donner aux enfants le goût d’y aller chaque matin avec le sourire, et rien ne me fait plus plaisir! »

Pierre Thibault, architecte et cofondateur du Lab-École

« Nous, on rêve que chaque école ait une salle à dîner, un espace pour manger dehors, et que ces lieux deviennent des opportunités de se réunir, apprendre et échanger. L’école Stadacona est magnifique et elle a tout ça. C’est comme une grande maison où on a le goût de se reposer et de se poser. Ce qui est beau et important, c’est l’ouverture sur son quartier, que toute la collectivité puisse en bénéficier. Une école qui appartient à Limoilou pour Limoilou. »

Ricardo Larrivée, chef, animateur, cofondateur de Ricardo Média et cofondateur du Lab-École

« L’école Stadacona est une école laboratoire dans laquelle nous allons tester et évaluer des nouvelles idées et façons de faire. Elle a une cour avec une des plus belles vues de la ville de Québec et les enfants pourront y jouer sur le toit en toute sécurité. Elle fait désormais partie de ces écoles qui contribueront à influencer les futures constructions pour en faire de meilleurs environnements pour les intervenants scolaires et les enfants du Québec. »

Pierre Lavoie, cofondateur du Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie, athlète, conférencier et cofondateur du Lab-École

À PROPOS DU CENTRE DE SERVICES SCOLAIRE DE LA CAPITALE
Le Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale se situe au 9e rang des plus importants centres de services scolaires au Québec. Principalement situé dans la ville de Québec, le CSSC est notamment présent dans :

• les arrondissements de La Cité-Limoilou, des Rivières et de La Haute-Saint-Charles;
• la municipalité de Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier;
• les villes de Fossambault-sur-le-Lac, de Lac-Saint-Joseph, de Shannon et de Sainte-Catherine-de-la-Jacques-Cartier.

Site Web de l’école : ecole-stadacona.cssc.gouv.qc.ca
Site Web du CSSC : https://cssc.gouv.qc.ca/
La période d’inscription dans les établissements du CSSC pour l’année scolaire 2022-2023 est terminée. Pour l’année 2023-2024, la période se déroulera entre le 6 et le 14 février 2023.


À PROPOS DU LAB-ÉCOLE

Le Lab-École est un organisme à but non lucratif appuyé financièrement par le MEQ qui a pour mission de rassembler une expertise multidisciplinaire pour concevoir les écoles de demain; des écoles qui répondent aux besoins et aux réalités des élèves et de ceux qui les accompagnent.

FIN DU COMMUNIQUÉ / DÉBUT DE LA FICHE INFORMATIVE

École primaire Stadacona

Le Lab-École Québec

Contexte

Fondé en 2017, le Lab-École est un organisme à but non lucratif qui s’est donné comme mission de rassembler une expertise multidisciplinaire pour concevoir les écoles de demain. Sous l’impulsion de ses trois membres fondateurs, Pierre Thibault, Pierre Lavoie et Ricardo Larrivée, le Lab-École entend mobiliser cette réflexion collective pour en faire un projet de société. Cinq ans plus tard, le premier Lab-École s’apprête à accueillir ses premiers élèves.


Le Lab-École vise à devenir un catalyseur de changement et d’innovation pour créer les meilleures écoles, celles qui favorisent pleinement le bien-être, le développement du potentiel de chacun et la réussite des élèves et de tous ceux qui gravitent autour d’eux. En proposant un environnement physique repensé, agissant sur le développement d’un mode de vie sain et actif et favorisant une saine alimentation, le Lab-École veut servir de modèle pour la future génération d’écoles primaires au Québec et à travers le monde. 


Afin d’appliquer, de tester et de mesurer ces propositions, 6 centres de services scolaires/commission scolaire sont accompagnés par le Lab-École dans la conception et la réalisation de leur propre projet d’école.

Les six projets : https://www.lab-ecole.com/projets-selectionnes-lab-ecole/

L’école Stadacona

Premier des six Lab-École à voir le jour, l’école Stadacona se trouve dans le Vieux-Limoilou, à la limite du quartier Vanier. Ce secteur connaît une importante hausse démographique depuis quelques années, ce qui a entraîné une surpopulation dans les trois écoles primaires environnantes. La nouvelle école permettra donc de répondre à ce nouveau contexte démographique, tout en s’inscrivant dans un grand projet de revitalisation de ce secteur de la ville, qui présente un indice de défavorisation élevé.

Un seuil habitable

La nouvelle école Stadacona est le fruit d’une collaboration entre l’équipe du Lab-École, Jérôme Lapierre Architecte, ABCP architecture et le Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale (CSSC). Consulter les enseignants, les enfants et les professionnels du CSSC était très important afin de créer un environnement physique qui répond à leurs besoins et de contribuer au bien-être et à la réussite éducative.   


L’école est facilement accessible par le transport actif, principalement à pied. Dans un rayon de marche acceptable, soit 1,6 km, on trouve également de nombreux espaces verts, tels le parc Cartier-Brébeuf bordant la rivière Saint-Charles, le Grand Marché de Québec à quelques pas ainsi que le Patro Roc-Amadour.

Un gymnase double bondé de lumière

L’école accueillera 20 classes, dont 4 de niveau préscolaire et 16 de niveau primaire, en plus d’espaces pour collaborer et manger. Étant donné la composition de sa future clientèle et de la population avoisinante, l’école a une vocation résolument communautaire et sociale. En raison du contexte urbain plutôt dense, le projet favorise une typologie verticale et utilise le potentiel de ses toitures pour augmenter la capacité d’accueil des aires de jeux extérieures.


L’école accueillera 20 classes, dont 4 de niveau préscolaire et 16 de niveau primaire, en plus d’espaces pour collaborer et manger. Étant donné la composition de sa future clientèle et de la population avoisinante, l’école a une vocation résolument communautaire et sociale. En raison du contexte urbain plutôt dense, le projet favorise une typologie verticale et utilise le potentiel de ses toitures pour augmenter la capacité d’accueil des aires de jeux extérieures.

L’école Stadacona compte :  

• Un préau d’accueil qui sert de connexion entre le quartier, l’école, son cœur et la cour arrière.
• Des vestiaires hors des corridors, stratégiquement positionnés aux différentes entrées ce qui en fait une école « sans bottes ».
• Un gradin : le cœur communautaire de l’école. Carrefour de mille et une activités, il permet de réunir les élèves pour des événements, en plus d’être un lieu propice à la lecture.
• Une bibliothèque éclatée pour se rapprocher des enfants et favoriser la consultation et l’emprunt des livres à tous les âges.
• Un gymnase double dont l’acoustique, la fenestration abondante ainsi que la mezzanine permettent de bonifier l’expérience à la fois des utilisateurs et des spectateurs.
• Un immense îlot tout en haut du gradin qui permet d’accueillir toute une classe ou les jeunes du service de garde pour des activités culinaires.
• Des corridors qui n’en sont pas… ce sont des rues d’apprentissage. Libres de vestiaires, on peut y faire des projets, des travaux individuels ou en équipe et s’y détendre aussi en lisant un bon livre, par exemple.
• Aux 2e et 3e cycles, le regroupement des classes se fait autour d’espaces communs qu’on appelle communautés d’apprentissage. Les élèves y convergeront pour y effectuer des travaux et y réaliser des projets dans plusieurs disciplines scolaires.
• Une magnifique classe extérieure, avec une vue imprenable sur Québec.
• Des toits habitables qui sont une extension de la cour où les enfants peuvent jouer en toute sécurité.
• Des espaces extérieurs qui sont des lieux de découvertes et d’apprentissage, à hauteur d’enfants.
• Des aménagements et du mobilier qui permettent une flexibilité et une polyvalence dans l’utilisation des espaces, selon les besoins. 

École « laboratoire »

Un consortium de chercheurs piloté par la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) a été mandaté afin d’apprécier les retombées des Lab-École sur la réussite éducative et le bien-être des élèves et du personnel qui les accompagnent. 


Coût 
Ce projet constitue un investissement de 25,8 M$ du ministère de l’Éducation.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :