Leading the operations of a (real!) Space mission in elementary school

Take part in an international space mission from the classroom? This will be the experience of students across the United States and at St. John Paul II Elementary School in Bolton, Ontario. Nothing less!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Take part in an international space mission from the classroom? This will be the experience of students across the United States and at St. John Paul II Elementary School in Bolton, Ontario. Nothing less!

Elementary school students from Bolton, Ont., Will take part in a true international space mission. For nine months, 20 students from the 4e at the 6e year ofSt. John Paul II Elementary School The STMSat-1 nanosatellite will be tracked from a mission operations telecentre they built at their facility with the help of Ontario company Canadensys Aerospace.

The satellite, scheduled to launch from the International Space Station on May 11, will take photos of the Earth every 30 seconds and transmit them to a network of mission operations telecentres in schools across the states. -United. The students of St. John Paul II School are the only foreign partners in this project.

STMSat-1 was built by American students at St. Thomas More Cathedral School in Arlington, Virginia; it is the first CubeSat designed, assembled and launched into space by elementary school children. It is expected to be operational within two weeks of launch and remain in orbit for at least nine months.

Most recently, the students had the chance to meet Canadian Space Agency Astronaut Jeremy Hansen, accompanied by MP Ruby Sahota, to discuss the project.

More information can be obtained from STMSat-1 here. (in English)

It is to be continued!

 

SOURCE: press release from the Canadian Space Agency

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Diriger les opérations d’une (vraie!) mission spatiale à l’école primaire

Participer à une mission spatiale internationale à partir de la classe? C’est ce que vivront des élèves des quatre coins des États-Unis et de l’école primaire St. John Paul II, à Bolton, en Ontario. Rien de moins!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Participer à une mission spatiale internationale à partir de la classe? C’est ce que vivront des élèves des quatre coins des États-Unis et de l’école primaire St. John Paul II, à Bolton, en Ontario. Rien de moins!

Des élèves de niveau primaire de Bolton, en Ontario, participeront à une véritable mission spatiale internationale. Pendant neuf mois, 20 élèves de la 4e à la 6e année de l’école élémentaire St. John Paul II suivront le nanosatellite STMSat-1 depuis un télécentre des opérations des missions qu’ils ont bâti dans leur établissement avec l’aide de l’entreprise ontarienne Canadensys Aerospace.

Le satellite, dont le lancement depuis la Station spatiale internationale est prévu pour le 11 mai, prendra des photos de la Terre toutes les 30 secondes et les transmettra à un réseau de télécentres des opérations des missions se trouvant dans des écoles des quatre coins des États-Unis. Les élèves de l’école St. John Paul II sont les seuls partenaires étrangers de ce projet.

STMSat-1 a été construit par des élèves américains de l’école St. Thomas More Cathedral d’Arlington, en Virginie; c’est le premier CubeSat conçu, assemblé et lancé dans l’espace par des jeunes de niveau primaire. Il devrait être opérationnel dans les deux semaines suivant le lancement et demeurer en orbite pendant au moins neuf mois.

Tout récemment, les élèves ont eu la chance de rencontrer l’astronaute de l’Agence spatiale canadienne Jeremy Hansen, accompagné de la députée Ruby Sahota, afin de discuter du projet.

On peut obtenir plus d’information sur STMSat-1 ici. (en anglais)

C’est à suivre!

 

SOURCE : communiqué de l’Agence spatiale canadienne

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :