ADVERTISEMENT

Demystifying copyright applied to digital works in education

Permitted, not permitted? Fair use? TBI / TNI / tablets? Lost in copyright jargon? Here is a file which, we hope, will help you to see more clearly!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Permitted, not permitted? Fair use? TBI / TNI / tablets? Lost in copyright jargon? Here is a file which, we hope, will help you to see more clearly!

A joint file between Carrefour education and Infobourg.com

Nowadays, a host of possibilities are available to teachers in order to concoct the most attractive courses. With the help of technology, it is now possible to open your classroom to an infinite number of resources. Digital books and the web are more prevalent in schools, and it is not always easy for teachers to know what to do and what not to do with these resources. The presence of an interactive digital whiteboard (IWB) in the classroom can even become an obstacle to respecting copyright because it is so easy to present various digital works on them.

Respect for copyright is what every teacher should think about when planning a teaching period in which digital resources are exploited. However, it is far from always easy to clearly define the copyright applied to digital works. Many even go so far as not to care, while others limit themselves to the content to present to students, not knowing exactly what is legal and what is not. This ignorance of copyright is perhaps explained by the very few hours devoted to this subject within the framework of teacher training. And it is therefore once in the field that you have to learn how to properly use digital works in the classroom. However, by having some knowledge on the subject, it is easier to respect the copyright associated with photographs, videos, sounds, and music.

A summary of copyright law in schools as well as examples of permitted uses of digital works in the classroom will be presented in this file, with the aim of demystifying what is allowed and what is not. is not.

Summary of the file

1. Demystifying copyright applied to digital works in education
2. Respect for copyright is not new!
3. Respecting copyright in education: the basics
- The public domain
- Exceptions to the law
- Author's permission and free licenses
4. Use of TNI and copyright
- Web consultation
- PowerPoint projection
- Screening of a movie or TV show
- Projection of a digitized book
- Use of tebeware to create content
5. Resources offering royalty-free content
6. Respect for copyright applied to digital works: not easy, but possible!
- References used in the drafting of this dossier

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Véronique Lavergne
Véronique Lavergne
Véronique is a librarian at the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières and a trainer in educational technology for future teachers. She also holds a teaching certificate in the social universe at the secondary level and collaborates regularly with the organization L'École branchée.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Démystifier le droit d’auteur appliqué aux œuvres numériques en éducation

Permis, pas permis? Utilisation équitable? TBI / TNI / tablettes? Perdu(e) dans le jargon du droit d'auteur? Voici un dossier qui, on l'espère, vous aidera à y voir plus clair!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Permis, pas permis? Utilisation équitable? TBI / TNI / tablettes? Perdu(e) dans le jargon du droit d’auteur? Voici un dossier qui, on l’espère, vous aidera à y voir plus clair!

Un dossier conjoint Carrefour éducation et Infobourg.com

De nos jours, une foule de possibilités s’offrent aux enseignants afin de concocter des cours des plus attrayants. La technologie aidant, il est maintenant possible d’ouvrir sa classe sur une infinité de ressources. Les livres numériques et le Web sont davantage présents dans les écoles et il n’est pas toujours évident pour les enseignants de savoir ce qu’il leur est permis de faire ou de ne pas faire avec ces ressources. La présence d’un tableau numérique interactif (TNI) en classe peut même devenir un obstacle au respect du droit d’auteur tellement il est facile de présenter des œuvres numériques variées sur ces derniers.

Le respect du droit d’auteur, voilà à quoi devrait réfléchir tout enseignant lors de la planification d’une période d’enseignement dans laquelle des ressources numériques sont exploitées. Seulement, il est loin d’être toujours facile de bien cerner le droit d’auteur appliqué aux œuvres numériques. Plusieurs vont même jusqu’à ne pas s’en soucier, tandis que d’autres se limitent dans les contenus à présenter aux élèves, ne sachant pas exactement ce qui est légal ou non. Cette méconnaissance du droit d’auteur s’explique peut-être par le très peu d’heures consacrées à ce sujet dans le cadre de la formation des maîtres. Et c’est donc une fois sur le terrain qu’il faut apprendre à utiliser convenablement les œuvres numériques en classe. Pourtant, en ayant certaines connaissances sur le sujet, il est plus facile de respecter le droit d’auteur associé à des photographies, vidéos, sons, et musiques.

Un résumé de la loi sur le droit d’auteur dans les établissements scolaires ainsi que des exemples d’utilisations permises d’œuvres numériques en classe seront présentés dans ce dossier, dans le but de démystifier ce qui est permis de faire et ce qui ne l’est pas.

Sommaire du dossier

1. Démystifier le droit d’auteur appliqué aux œuvres numériques en éducation
2. Le respect du droit d’auteur, ça ne date pas d’hier!
3. Respecter le droit d’auteur en enseignement : le b.a.-ba
– Le domaine public
– Les exceptions à la loi
– La permission de l’auteur et les licences libres
4. L’utilisation du TNI et les droits d’auteur
– Consultation du Web
– Projection d’un PowerPoint
– Projection d’un film ou d’une émission télévisée
– Projection d’un livre numérisé
– Utilisation du tébéiciel pour créer des contenus
5. Des ressources proposant des contenus libres de droits
6. Le respect du droit d’auteur appliqué aux œuvres numériques : pas évident, mais possible!
– Références utilisées dans la rédaction de ce dossier

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Véronique Lavergne
Véronique est bibliothécaire à l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières et formatrice en technologie éducative auprès des futurs enseignants. Elle détient aussi un brevet d'enseignement de l'univers social au secondaire et collabore régulièrement avec l'organisme L'École branchée.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!