ADVERTISEMENT

Oratory competition: Young English speakers will demonstrate their fluency in French this Saturday

The Concours d'art oratoire au Québec is a public speaking contest in French that takes place every spring at CÉGEP John Abbott. Organized by Canadian Parents for French, it brings together […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The Oratory Competition in Quebec is a public speaking competition in French that takes place every spring at CÉGEP John Abbott. Organized by Canadian Parents for French, it brings together young people from English secondary schools from all over Quebec who come to demonstrate their mastery of oral French in front of a jury and an audience. First place winners in each of the five categories in Secondary 5 are eligible to enter the National Public Speaking Competition in Ottawa on May 25, where they could win scholarships of 5,000 $ and 20,000 $ at the University of Ottawa.

The Competition in Quebec will take place from 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. on May 11 in the Penfield auditorium of CÉGEP John Abbort, located at 21 275, chemin Lakeshore, in Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Students will give 3 to 5 minute speeches in French on topics of their choice. Mr. Robert Rothon, National Director General of CPF, and Mr. Claude Parent, member of the Board of Directors of CPF, will be on site and answer questions.

Better command of French is a key objective for young non-French speaking Quebecers. The Competition helps them achieve this goal by providing them with a rewarding forum in which to practice and improve their spoken French.

Canadian Parents for French (CPF) is the national network of volunteers who believe that French is an integral part of Canada, and who are dedicated to promoting and creating opportunities for learning French as a second language for young Canadians.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Concours d’art oratoire : De jeunes anglophones démontreront leur maîtrise du français ce samedi

Le Concours d’art oratoire au Québec est un concours oratoire public en français qui a lieu chaque printemps au CÉGEP John Abbott. Organisé par Canadian Parents for French, il rassemble […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le Concours d’art oratoire au Québec est un concours oratoire public en français qui a lieu chaque printemps au CÉGEP John Abbott. Organisé par Canadian Parents for French, il rassemble des jeunes d’écoles secondaires anglaises de partout au Québec qui viennent démontrer leur maîtrise du français oral devant un jury et un auditoire. Les gagnants de la première place dans chacune des cinq catégories du secondaire 5 sont admissibles à participer au Concours national d’art oratoire à Ottawa, le 25 mai, où ils pourraient gagner des bourses de 5 000 $ et de 20 000 $ à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Le Concours au Québec aura lieu de 9 h 30 à 14 h, le 11 mai, dans l’auditorium Penfield du CÉGEP John Abbort, situé au 21 275, chemin Lakeshore, à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Les étudiants feront des discours en français d’une durée de 3 à 5 minutes sur des sujets de leur choix. M. Robert Rothon, directeur général national de CPF, et M. Claude Parent, membre du Conseil d’administration de CPF, seront sur place et répondront aux questions.

Une meilleure maîtrise du français constitue un objectif clé pour les jeunes Québécois non francophones. Le Concours les aide à atteindre cet objectif en leur fournissant une tribune valorisante où pratiquer et perfectionner leur français parlé.

Canadian Parents for French (CPF) est le réseau national de bénévoles qui estime que le français fait partie intégrante du Canada, et qui se consacre à promouvoir et à créer des occasions d’apprentissage du français langue seconde pour les jeunes Canadiens et Canadiennes.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct