A turnkey tool for teaching drama

Publireportage - Scène en images, a digital tool that allows free viewing of excerpts from current Quebec plays, in addition to offering several ways to renew the educational content of the courses. 

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Advertorial by Mélanie Jannard - Scene in pictures
Illustration by Sandrine Corbeil

Creating, interpreting and appreciating theatrical works: these are the skills imparted to young people in drama classes. While the first two are easily practiced in the classroom, the third can give specialist teachers a hard time when accessibility to the theater is limited. It was to respond to this lack of resources that Scène en images was designed, a digital tool that allows free viewing of excerpts from current Quebec plays, in addition to offering several ways to revitalize and renew the educational content of Classes. 

Scène en images was born out of a need in the field of drama education in Quebec. Until now, we often turned to YouTube to find excerpts to present in class to explore criticism with students. The catch? “There was no contemporary or interesting content. Most of the content was foreign, mostly old shows French, for example, ”explains Simon Caplette Charette, president of the Association Théâtre Éducation du Québec (ATEQ) and high school drama teacher, involved in the implementation of the project. “All this without counting the quality of the recording, which often leaves much to be desired… And the hours of research! ".

Goodbye YouTube, hello Scene in pictures! 

Thanks to its platform, which contains extracts from contemporary Quebec plays carefully selected for the school environment, Scène en images improves the teaching experience. A collaboration with many partners, including the Maison Théâtre et Théâtres Unis Enfance Jeunesse, ensures the availability of content where all resale rights have been paid adequately and fairly, which is not always the case for the extracts found. on the Internet. These partnerships will possibly make it possible to forge links between the various actors of Quebec theater and the education community, in addition to "making theater travel within the province", underlines Simon Caplette Charette, who sees an aspect in it. interesting promotional product for its chosen field.

A refreshing and fun teaching

Scène en images offers three ways to listen to the video clips.

  • Emotional listening, from start to finish, without interruption.
  • Listening interspersed with relevant questions prepared in advance.
  • Sensory listening, without sound or images, which allows you to focus on specific elements such as decor, lighting or voices.

A specialist in drama in elementary school and dedicated to training young audiences, Frédérik Todd is eager to test these renewed teaching methods. 

“We wanted to reassure the drama teachers. Scene in pictures will not prevent us from going to the theater ”, specifies Frédérik Todd. Of course, the two spokespersons are of the opinion that viewing a work will never replace the chance to be able to attend a real performance. However, using an educational tool in the classroom will undoubtedly lead students to fully appreciate their next trip to the theater. Make way for the show!

Scene in pictures will be available for free for the 2021-2022 school year in the area reserved for members of the ATEQ website. 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Un outil clé en main pour enseigner l’art dramatique

Publireportage - Scène en images, un outil numérique qui permet de visionner gratuitement des extraits de pièces québécoises actuelles, en plus d’offrir plusieurs façons de renouveler le contenu pédagogique des cours. 

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Publireportage par Mélanie Jannard - Scène en images
Illustration de Sandrine Corbeil

Créer, interpréter et apprécier des œuvres théâtrales : voilà les compétences transmises aux jeunes dans les cours d’art dramatique. Alors que les deux premières se pratiquent aisément en classe, la troisième peut donner du fil à retordre aux enseignant(e)s spécialistes lorsque l’accessibilité au théâtre est limitée. C’est pour répondre à ce manque de ressources qu’a été conçu Scène en images, un outil numérique qui permet de visionner gratuitement des extraits de pièces québécoises actuelles, en plus d’offrir plusieurs façons de dynamiser et de renouveler le contenu pédagogique des cours. 

Scène en images est né d’un besoin dans le milieu de l’enseignement de l’art dramatique au Québec. Jusqu’à maintenant, on se tournait souvent vers YouTube afin de trouver des extraits à présenter en classe pour explorer la critique avec les élèves. Le hic? « Il n’y avait pas de contenu contemporain ou intéressant. La majorité du contenu était étranger, soit principalement des vieux shows français, par exemple », explique Simon Caplette Charette, président de l’Association Théâtre Éducation du Québec (ATEQ) et enseignant d’art dramatique au secondaire, engagé dans l’implantation du projet. « Le tout sans compter la qualité de l’enregistrement, qui laisse souvent à désirer…Et les heures de recherche! ».

Adieu YouTube, bonjour Scène en images! 

Grâce à sa plateforme, qui contient des extraits de pièces québécoises contemporaines soigneusement sélectionnées pour le milieu de scolaire, Scène en images améliore l’expérience d’enseignement. Une collaboration avec de nombreux partenaires, dont la Maison Théâtre et Théâtres Unis Enfance Jeunesse, assure la disponibilité d’un contenu où tous les droits de suite ont été versés adéquatement et équitablement, ce qui n’est pas toujours le cas pour les extraits trouvés sur Internet. Ces partenariats permettront possiblement de tisser des liens entre les différents acteurs du théâtre québécois et le milieu de l’éducation, en plus de « faire voyager le théâtre à l’intérieur de la province », souligne Simon Caplette Charette, qui y voit un aspect promotionnel intéressant pour son domaine de prédilection.

Un enseignement rafraîchissant et ludique

Scène en images propose trois façons d’écouter les extraits vidéos.

  • L’écoute émotive, d’un bout à l’autre, sans interruption.
  • L’écoute entrecoupée de questions pertinentes préparées à l’avance.
  • L’écoute sensorielle, sans le son ou l’image, qui permet de bien se concentrer sur des éléments précis comme le décor, les éclairages ou encore les voix.

Spécialiste en art dramatique au primaire et voué à la formation du jeune public, Frédérik Todd a très hâte de tester ces méthodes d’enseignement renouvelées. 

« On a tenu à rassurer les enseignants d’art dramatique. Scène en images ne nous empêchera pas d’aller au théâtre », précise Frédérik Todd. Bien entendu, les deux porte-parole sont d’avis que le visionnement d’une œuvre ne remplacera jamais la chance de pouvoir assister à une véritable représentation. Toutefois, l’utilisation d’un outil pédagogique en classe amènera sans aucun doute les élèves à apprécier pleinement leur prochaine sortie au théâtre. Place au spectacle!

Scène en images sera disponible gratuitement pour l’année scolaire 2021-2022 dans l’espace réservé aux membres du site de l’ATEQ. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!
Avis Facebook pour l’UE! Vous devez vous connecter pour afficher et publier des commentaires FB!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct