The ins and outs of the COVID-19 coronavirus

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Last December, a new coronavirus named COVID-19 was detected in the city of Wuhan in China after an outbreak of atypical pneumonia was identified. The first ill people developed their symptoms following exposure to a seafood and live animal market located in the city. Insights into the ins and outs of COVID-19.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

What is the new coronavirus?

COVID-19 is a highly contagious disease caused by the novel coronavirus. This coronavirus was unknown before December 2019, when the first cases were reported in the city of Wuhan in China. Indeed, sick people developed their symptoms following exposure to a seafood and live animal market located in the city. Coronaviruses form a family of viruses that can affect both humans and animals; the hypothesis is therefore that COVID-19 would have been transmitted from a living animal to humans during a visit to this Wuhan market. The virus could come from a snake, a bat or a pangolin since the proteins of this coronavirus are more likely to act in the body of these three animals. Experts are still studying the origin by listing the animals sold in this market.

Since then, the epidemic in China has turned into a global pandemic, affecting Europe more strongly with two thirds of the victims, especially in Italy, Spain and France. However, it is in the United States that we see the greatest increase in COVID-19 with more than 55,000 cases detected in one week.

The coronavirus is a virus from the same family as those used in colds and flu, but also in more serious respiratory diseases. When humans have it, they experience symptoms like fever, cough, and breathing difficulties similar to pneumonia. Other coronaviruses have been responsible for major epidemics around the world such as severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) in 2002-2003 and the Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) from 2012.

Who can be infected?

The number of people who contract the virus is growing exponentially and, unfortunately, those most at risk can die from it. What is worrying at the moment is that no drug or vaccine exists to stop the progression of this virus. Researchers are studying the virus to better understand it and find solutions to prevent its spread. We can consult this web application to know in real time the number of people affected by the disease. 

Strict measures

In order to ensure that the virus does not spread all over the planet, very serious measures are being put in place. Borders, schools and all non-essential businesses are closed. Public transport has stopped in some countries and planes no longer take off at several airports. All travelers are placed in quarantine for 14 days upon arrival at home and the majority of governments have declared confinement, mandatory or not, for the general population. In hospitals, intense sanitation measures are installed. In Wuhan, they even built a new 1,000-bed hospital in record time (10 days) to accommodate infected people.

WHO

The World Health Organization (WHO) takes care of registering patients in each country. She studies the progression of the virus, she organizes the health precautions to be adopted in all the countries of the world, at the same time as she deploys the efforts to find solutions not only to cure the patients, but also to stop the viral infection.

The challenge

The progression curve of the COVID-19 is exponential. The goal of each country is to flatten this curve. Ask students to learn about this concept of flattening the curve by reading the Pharmachien's file on this subject. They will then have to summarize the concept in their own words so that they can explain it to their friends and tell them what they can do to help flatten the curve.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

Secondary cycle 2:

– Ethics

  • Analyze a situation from an ethical point of view

– Science

  • Situate a scientific problem in its context
  • Build your opinion on the issue under study
  • Produce and transmit scientific messages

- Mathematical

  • Data analysis
  • Entering and transmitting information using mathematical language

– Health Education

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Act as an ethical citizen in the digital age
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Producing content with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Popplet or Mindomo
  • Can go
  • Sheets or Excel

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of the readings and activities, students will be able to assess the severity of the epidemic as well as fully understand the safety measures to adopt to avoid infection without causing panic.

Objectives of the activities

  • Understand the measures adopted during an outbreak of an epidemic.
  • Develop a critical mind in the face of information and people's reactions.
  • Be objective and stick to the facts when it comes to issues surrounding the COVID-19 coronavirus.

ACTIVITY 1: To be well informed

A group of walkers left at the beginning of December 2019 in complete autonomy. Their hike started in Tibet and ended on the outskirts of Wuhan, China. The group decided not to go through the cities and chose not to bring communication tools. Cut off from all external contact, the walkers end their trek in the region most at risk of contracting the COVID-19 coronavirus. 

You are a friend of hikers. You must welcome them and inform them of the current epidemic situation. How will you welcome them? 

Using a digital tool such as PoppletMindomo or another known to the students to create mind maps, they will need to collect information related to the following points: 

  • what is important to prepare for their arrival;
  • what precautions should be taken to protect them;
  • what information is important to pass on to them?

Learners will find several answers to these questions on the WHO website in the "Frequently Asked Questions about Novel Coronaviruses" section.

ACTIVITY 2: Prevention is better than cure

When a virus like the COVID-19 coronavirus appears, humans are afraid. The information conveyed is sometimes good, sometimes exaggerated, sometimes completely wrong. What do you see from the reactions of people in and around the media?

Have students create an infographic using Can go which advises people on health precautions and prevention methods to reduce the risk of contamination.

You will find here examples of infographics created by the WHO to inspire students in their approach. Moreover, on the Government of Quebec website, students will have a list of health precautions for travelers to China and steps to take to prevent virus transmission. This will therefore provide them with objective and reliable data for the creation of their infographic.

ACTIVITY 3: A graph is worth a thousand words

Using data from this web application which reports in real time the number of confirmed cases, the students are invited to create a graph which represents the distribution of the new coronavirus in the world.

Four different angles are possible:

  • number of confirmed cases by country;
  • number of confirmed cases by city;
  • number of deaths by country;
  • number of healings per country.

Use a spreadsheet such as Google Sheets or Microsoft Excel to enter the data and thus create the desired graph (lines, areas, columns, sectors, etc.).

FOR FURTHER

Several data on the coronavirus are spreading in real time on the Web. From this data, some media and people on social networks produce maps to show the spatial spread of the epidemic from officially recorded cases. You will find here several of these cards, more or less rigorous, and which often stir up panic in the population by the choice of colors or the mode of representation. Each team can then choose a card and analyze it. The descriptive texts which are connected to it will help the learners to understand the objective of each of the cards. The teams will finally be able to provide a summary related to the elements below:  

  • what is the source of the map;
  • what are the author's intentions;
  • what emotions the card evokes;
  • another element chosen by the teacher.

TO KNOW MORE

New coronavirus: global epidemic of fake news
La Presse, January 28, 2020

Novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV)
World Health Organization 

Coronavirus: why China took a long time to react
Brut, February 9, 2020 (13-minute documentary)

Novel coronavirus
World Health Organization, January 31, 2020 (5 minute video)

What we know about the mysterious virus that appeared in China
Québec Science, January 21, 2020

New coronavirus in China: on the trail of the snake?
Science et Avenir, January 23, 2020

Virus in China: 6 words to understand
1jour1actu, January 27, 2020

Coronavirus 2019-nCoV
Government of Quebec

The coronavirus in 12 questions
Radio-Canada, January 29, 2020

Coronavirus: not all studies are created equal
Agence Science-Presse, February 7, 2020

Coronavirus (3 minute video)
Update

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Qu’est-ce que le nouveau coronavirus?

La COVID-19 est une maladie très contagieuse causée par le nouveau coronavirus. Ce coronavirus était inconnu avant le mois de décembre 2019, au moment où les premiers cas ont été déclarés dans la ville de Wuhan en Chine. En effet, les personnes malades ont développé leurs symptômes à la suite d’une exposition à un marché de fruits de mer et d’animaux vivants situé dans la ville. Les coronavirus forment une famille de virus qui peuvent toucher autant l’humain que l’animal; l’hypothèse est donc que la COVID-19 se serait transmise d’un animal vivant vers l’humain lors d’une visite dans ce marché de Wuhan. Le virus pourrait provenir d’un serpent, d’une chauve-souris ou d’un pangolin puisque les protéines de ce coronavirus sont plus susceptibles d’agir dans l’organisme de ces trois animaux. Des experts en étudient toujours la provenance en recensant les animaux vendus à ce marché.

Depuis, l’épidémie en Chine s’est transformée en pandémie mondiale, touchant plus fortement l’Europe avec le deux tiers des victimes, notamment en Italie, en Espagne et en France. C’est toutefois aux États-Unis qu’on remarque la plus forte progression de la COVID-19 avec plus de 55 000 cas détectés en une semaine.

Le coronavirus est un virus de la même famille que ceux des rhumes, des grippes, mais aussi de maladies respiratoires plus graves. Lorsque l’humain en est atteint, il ressent des symptômes comme la fièvre, la toux et des difficultés respiratoires semblables à une pneumonie. D’autres coronavirus ont été responsables de grandes épidémies à travers le monde comme le syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SRAS) en 2002-2003 et le syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS) à partir de 2012.

Qui peut être infecté?

Le nombre de personnes qui contractent le virus augmente de façon exponentielle et, malheureusement, les gens les plus à risque peuvent en mourir. Ce qui est inquiétant pour le moment, c’est qu’aucun médicament ou vaccin n’existe pour stopper la progression de ce virus. Les chercheurs étudient le virus pour mieux le comprendre et trouver des solutions pour éviter sa propagation. On peut consulter cette application Web pour connaître en temps réel le nombre de personnes affectées par la maladie. 

Des mesures rigoureuses

Afin de s’assurer que le virus ne se propage pas sur toute la planète, des mesures très sérieuses sont mises en place.  On ferme les frontières, les écoles et tous les commerces non essentiels. Les transports collectifs sont arrêtés dans certains pays et les avions ne décollent plus dans plusieurs aéroports. Tous les voyageurs sont placés en quarantaine pour 14 jours à leur arrivée à la maison et la majorité des gouvernements ont décrété un confinement, obligatoire ou non, pour la population en général. Dans les hôpitaux, des mesures de salubrité intenses sont installées. À Wuhan, ils ont même construit un nouvel hôpital de 1000 lits en un temps record (10 jours) pour accueillir les gens infectés.

L’OMS

L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) s’occupe de répertorier les malades dans chaque pays. Elle étudie la progression du virus, elle organise les précautions sanitaires à adopter dans tous les pays du globe, en même temps qu’elle déploie les efforts pour trouver des solutions pour non seulement guérir les patients, mais aussi stopper l’infection virale.

Ton défi

La courbe de progression de la COVID-19 est exponentielle. L’objectif de chacun des pays est d’aplatir cette courbe. Informe-toi sur ce concept d’aplatissement de la courbe en lisant le dossier du Pharmachien à ce sujet. Résume ensuite le concept dans tes propres mots pour être en mesure de l’expliquer à tes amis et leur faire part des gestes à poser pour aider à aplatir la fameuse courbe.

 
Cliquez sur les titres de sections pour les afficher!
PRÉSENTATION GÉNÉRALE

Disciplines et niveaux visés

2e cycle du secondaire :

– Éthique

  • Analyser une situation d’un point de vue éthique

– Science

  • Situer une problématique scientifique dans son contexte
  • Construire son opinion sur la problématique à l’étude
  • Produire et transmettre des messages à caractère scientifique

– Mathématique

  • Analyse de données
  • Saisie et transmission de l’information au moyen du langage mathématique

– Éducation à la santé

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Popplet ou Mindomo
  • Canva
  • Sheets ou Excel

Intention pédagogique du guide

Au terme des lectures et activités, les élèves seront en mesure d’évaluer la gravité de l’épidémie ainsi que de bien comprendre les mesures de sécurité à adopter pour éviter l’infection sans causer la panique.

Objectifs des activités

  • Comprendre les mesures adoptées lors de l’éclosion d’une épidémie.
  • Développer l’esprit critique face à l’information et aux réactions des gens.
  • Faire preuve d’objectivité et s’en tenir aux faits en ce qui concerne les enjeux entourant le coronavirus COVID-19.
SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Pour être bien informés

Un groupe de marcheurs est parti au début du mois de décembre 2019 en complète autonomie. Leur randonnée débutait au Tibet et se terminait aux abords de Wuhan, en Chine. Le groupe a décidé de ne pas passer par les villes et a choisi de ne pas apporter d’outils de communication. Coupés alors de tout contact extérieur, les marcheurs terminent leur trek dans la région la plus à risque de contracter le coronavirus COVID-19. 

Vous êtes un ami des randonneurs. Vous devez les accueillir et les informer de la situation d’épidémie actuelle. Comment les accueillerez-vous? 

À l’aide d’un outil numérique tel que Popplet, Mindomo ou un autre connu des élèves pour créer des cartes mentales, ils devront collecter des informations en lien avec les points suivants : 

  • qu’est-ce qui est important de préparer pour leur arrivée;
  • quelles précautions doit-on prendre pour les protéger;
  • quelles informations sont importantes à leur transmettre?

Les apprenants trouveront plusieurs réponses à ces questions sur le site Web de l’OMS dans la section « Questions fréquentes sur les nouveaux coronavirus ».

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Mieux vaut prévenir que guérir

Lors de l’apparition d’un virus comme le coronavirus COVID-19, l’humain a peur. L’information véhiculée est parfois bonne, parfois exagérée, parfois complètement erronée. Qu’observez-vous des réactions des gens dans les médias et autour de vous?

Demandez aux élèves de créer une infographie à l’aide de Canva qui conseille les gens sur les précautions sanitaires et les méthodes de prévention pour diminuer les risques de contamination.

Vous trouverez ici des exemples d’infographies créées par l’OMS pour inspirer les élèves dans leur démarche. De plus, sur le site Web du Gouvernement du Québec, les élèves auront une liste de précautions sanitaires pour les voyageurs qui se rendent en Chine et des gestes à poser pour prévenir la transmission de virus. Cela leur fournira donc des données objectives et fiables pour la création de leur infographie.

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Un graphique vaut mille mots

À l’aide des données contenues sur cette application Web qui relate en temps réel le nombre de cas confirmés, les élèves sont invités à créer un graphique qui représente la répartition du nouveau coronavirus dans le monde.

Quatre angles différents sont possibles :

  • nombre de cas confirmés par pays;
  • nombre de cas confirmés par ville;
  • nombre de décès par pays;
  • nombre de guérisons par pays.

Utilisez un tableur tel que Google Sheets ou Microsoft Excel pour inscrire les données et ainsi créer le graphique voulu (courbes, aires, colonnes, secteurs, etc.).

POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN

Plusieurs données sur le coronavirus se propagent en temps réel sur le Web. À partir de ces données, certains médias et gens sur les réseaux sociaux produisent des cartes pour montrer la diffusion spatiale de l’épidémie à partir des cas officiellement recensés. Vous trouverez ici plusieurs de ces cartes, plus ou moins rigoureuses, et qui souvent attisent la panique dans la population par les choix des couleurs ou le mode de représentation. Chaque équipe peut alors choisir une carte et en faire l’analyse. Les textes descriptifs qui y sont reliés aideront les apprenants à bien comprendre l’objectif de chacune des cartes. Les équipes pourront finalement fournir une synthèse en lien avec les éléments ci-dessous :  

  • quelle est la source de la carte;
  • quelles sont les intentions de l’auteur;
  • quelles émotions suscite la carte;
  • autre élément choisi par l’enseignant.
POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Nouveau coronavirus : épidémie mondiale de fake news
La Presse, 28 janvier 2020

Nouveau coronavirus (2019-nCoV)
Organisation mondiale de la santé 

Coronavirus : pourquoi la Chine a mis du temps à réagir
Brut, 9 février 2020 (documentaire 13 minutes)

Novel coronavirus
World Health Organization, 31 janvier 2020 (vidéo 5 minutes)

Ce qu’on sait du mystérieux virus apparu en Chine
Québec Science, 21 janvier 2020

Nouveau coronavirus en Chine : sur la piste du serpent ?
Science et Avenir, 23 janvier 2020

Virus en Chine: 6 mots pour comprendre
1jour1actu, 27 janvier 2020

Coronavirus 2019-nCoV
Gouvernement du Québec

Le coronavirus en 12 questions
Radio-Canada, 29 janvier 2020

Coronavirus: toutes les études ne sont pas égales
Agence Science-Presse, 7 février 2020

Le coronavirus (vidéo de 3 minutes)
MAJ



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : NOS ABONNÉS NE VOIENT PAS CES ANNONCES