religion

Five years of reign for Pope Francis

Elected at the head of the Roman Catholic Church on March 13, 2013, Pope Francis is celebrating five years at the head of the Roman Curia this week. Five years full of optimism for some, but which only demonstrated the inability of the Church to modernize for others.

The Edict of Nantes and religious “peace” in France

On April 13, 1598, Henri IV, King of France, promulgated the Edict of Nantes, which was intended to be permission for freedom of worship, civil and political rights for Protestants in France. This will therefore put an end to the wars of religion which plunged France into a chaotic situation for nearly 40 years.

Global support for kidnapped schoolgirls in Nigeria

For several weeks now, some 200 high school girls have been kidnapped by the radical Islamist group Boko Haram. Let's take a closer look at the events of the past few days while taking the pulse of the planet on the various actions aimed at supporting the efforts of the authorities to find them safe and sound.

Pope Benedict XVI resigns

Benedict XVI becomes the third pope in history to resign during his mandate. He will leave his post on February 28 due to his advanced age, which no longer allows him to fulfill his role well.

religion

Cinq ans de règne pour le Pape François

Élu à la tête de l’Église catholique romaine le 13 mars 2013, le Pape François célèbre cette semaine cinq années à la tête de la Curie romaine. Cinq années pleines d’optimisme pour certains, mais qui n’ont fait que démontrer l’incapacité de l’Église à se moderniser pour d’autres.

L’Édit de Nantes et la « paix » religieuse en France

Le 13 avril 1598, Henri IV, roi de France, promulgue l’Édit de Nantes qui se veut une permission pour la liberté de culte, de droits civils et politiques pour les protestants de France. Celui-ci mettra donc fin aux guerres de religion qui ont plongé la France dans une situation chaotique pendant près de 40 ans.

Soutien mondial aux jeunes écolières enlevées au Nigéria

Depuis quelques semaines déjà, quelque 200 lycéennes ont été enlevées par le groupe islamiste radical Boko Haram. Allons voir de plus près les évènements des derniers jours tout en prenant le pouls de la planète sur les différentes actions visant à soutenir les efforts des autorités pour les retrouver saines et sauves.

Le pape Benoît XVI démissionne

Benoît XVI devient le 3e pape de l’histoire à démissionner pendant son mandat. Il quittera ses fonctions le 28 février prochain en raison de son âge avancé, qui ne lui permet plus de bien remplir son rôle.