The monarch: a butterfly to protect

Published / Updated on

The monarch is a beautiful black and orange butterfly; one of the largest butterflies in Canada. More present twenty years ago, the monarch is less and less seen. In 2003, it was already considered an endangered species, but with 90% of its population in decline, it has been classified as endangered since 2016. Climate change, the use of pesticides as well as the destruction of its habitat cause its decline. Insights into how we can act on the environment and our community in an ethical and responsible manner.
 

The monarch is a beautiful black and orange butterfly; one of the largest diurnal butterflies in Canada elsewhere. You may have seen them before, because they come to walk around the houses to feed on the nectar of the flowers. However, if you had been born 20 years earlier, you would have come across a lot more. In 2003, the monarch was already considered a species at risk, but with 90% of its population in decline, it has been classified as endangered since 2016. Climate change, the use of pesticides as well as the destruction of its habitat cause unfortunately its fall. 

Let's find out about the monarch

The monarch is a butterfly that is born. To reproduce, the female lays her eggs on a plant called milkweed. When the caterpillars hatch from the eggs, they are already served because they feed exclusively on milkweed.

The monarch needs to travel to find these milkweeds. It is one of the insects that make a long migration. In the fall, the monarch leaves Canada south. In two months, he travels between 2000 and 5000 kilometers. The monarchs of Quebec go to the state of Michoancán, in central Mexico. They enjoy resting all winter on the Oyamel firs of this mountainous region. He can have hundreds of butterflies on the same tree. There are, however, much less than before.

In the spring, each monarch resumes his journey north. It moves during the day to the rhythm of the flowering of its beloved plant: the milkweed. Females take the opportunity to lay their eggs. A beautiful yellow, black and white striped caterpillar emerges from the egg after three to twelve days. She revels in her host plant to reach 2,700 times her weight in about two weeks. 

In order to transform into a butterfly, the caterpillar finds a safe place and becomes a pretty green chrysalis adorned with a golden line. The butterfly's body will develop in the chrysalis for eight to fifteen days.  

Monarch butterflies that emerge from their chrysalis will live between three to five weeks. The adult butterfly uses milkweed to lay its eggs, but it feeds on the nectar of flowers in its path. It is protected from most predators by the poisonous agent it has accumulated by eating milkweed during its caterpillar phase. During the migration to the North, several generations of monarchs will follow one another. It is in June that you will see them flying around in your garden, here in Quebec. Monarchs that become butterflies at the end of August develop differently to be ready in the fall to migrate to Mexico. These live up to eight months.

Why do you observe the decline of the mornarch?

What is causing such a rapid and significant decline? Mainly, it is the loss of its habitat that is catastrophic. There is, of course, climate change that turns ecosystems upside down, but humans accelerate the destruction process even more by using pesticides that eliminate milkweed and nectar-bearing plants. It urbanizes the wintering and breeding grounds of the monarch. As it becomes more and more difficult to find places to lay, feed and protect themselves, the monarchs are dying.

Can something be done to help the monarchs?

Canada, the United States and Mexico are working together to conserve and restore its habitat. To understand the causes of the decline of the monarch, researchers are studying several criteria. They record the number of eggs, caterpillars and butterflies. They identify the plants in their territories and count the milkweeds. They also observe the environment and measure temperature and wind speed. 

Several environmental organizations get involved, thus creating participatory science programs. People are encouraged to sow milkweed and nectar plants to attract butterflies. We have also created platforms for citizens to identify eggs, caterpillars and butterflies as well. They can register this data on these web platforms and also note where they found it. 

There is no age to help monarch butterflies. The following four organizations offer you the opportunity to get involved in the conservation of the monarch and to restore its habitat:

So, if you are worried about the monarch's situation and you want to preserve its migration, take the time to properly identify the milkweed (see the photo below). Also see if there are eggs and caterpillars on it. Be careful to spot the magnificent monarch. Be careful not to confuse him with a butterfly that looks a lot like him: the viceroy. Visit the websites of the organizations named in this article to choose the one that's right for you. Casually, by putting energy into saving the monarch, an entire ecosystem benefits from it. Take action to save this pretty butterfly!

Les nombreuses vertus de l'asclépiade en font une plante d' avenir
Source: Journal le Tour

Your challenge

Check out the four monarch conservation organizations featured in the article to choose one that suits your values and aspirations. Talk about these organizations with your family, as they may need to help you depending on where you live. Then take the time to register:

 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Le monarque : un papillon à protéger

Paru le

 

Le monarque est un magnifique papillon noir et orange; un des plus grands papillons diurnes du Canada d’ailleurs. Tu en as peut-être déjà vus, car ils viennent se promener autour des maisons pour se nourrir du nectar des fleurs. Cependant, si tu étais né 20 ans plus tôt, tu en aurais croisés vraiment beaucoup plus. En 2003, on considérait le monarque déjà comme une espèce en péril, mais avec 90% de sa population en déclin, il est classé en voie de disparition depuis 2016. Les changements climatiques, l’utilisation de pesticides ainsi que la destruction de son habitat causent malheureusement sa chute. 

Découvrons le monarque

Le monarque est un papillon qui vit le jour. Pour se reproduire, la femelle pond ses œufs sur une plante qui s’appelle l’asclépiade. Quand les chenilles sortent des œufs, elles sont déjà servies car elles se nourrissent exclusivement d’asclépiade.

Le monarque a besoin de se déplacer pour trouver ces asclépiades. Il fait partie des insectes qui font une longue migration. À l’automne, le monarque quitte le Canada vers le sud. En deux mois, il parcourt entre 2000 et 5000 kilomètres. Les monarques du Québec se rendent dans l’état du Michoancán, au centre du Mexique. Ils apprécient se reposer tout l’hiver sur les sapins Oyamel de cette région montagneuse. Il peut avoir des centaines de papillons sur le même arbre. On en dénombre toutefois beaucoup moins qu’avant.

Au printemps, chaque monarque reprend sa route vers le Nord. Il se déplace le jour au rythme de floraison de sa plante bienaimée : l’asclépiade. Les femelles en profitent pour pondre leurs œufs. Une belle chenille rayée jaune, noire et blanche sort de l’oeuf après trois à douze jours. Elle se délecte de sa plante hôte pour atteindre 2700 fois son poids en environ deux semaines. 

Afin de se transformer en papillon, la chenille trouve un endroit bien à l’abri et devient une jolie chrysalide verte ornée d’une ligne dorée. Le corps du papillon se développera dans la chrysalide pendant huit à quinze jours.  

Les papillons monarques qui sortiront de leur chrysalide vivront entre trois à cinq semaines. Le papillon adulte utilise l’asclépiade pour pondre ses œufs, mais il se nourrit du nectar des fleurs sur son chemin. Il est protégé de la plupart des prédateurs par l’agent toxique qu’il a accumulé en mangeant l’asclépiade durant sa phase de chenille. Lors de la migration vers le Nord, plusieurs générations de monarques se succèderont. C’est en juin que tu les verras virevolter dans ton jardin, ici au Québec. Les monarques qui deviennent papillons dès la fin de mois d’août se développent différemment pour être prêts à l’automne à migrer vers le Mexique. Ceux-ci vivent jusqu’à huit mois.

Pourquoi observe-ton le déclin du mornarque?

Qu’est-ce qui cause ce déclin si rapide et important? Principalement, c’est la perte de son habitat qui est catastrophique. Il y a, certes, les changements climatiques qui chamboulent les écosystèmes, mais l’humain accélère encore plus le processus de destruction en utilisant des pesticides qui éliminent l’asclépiade et les plantes nectarifères. Il urbanise les territoires d’hivernage et de reproduction du monarque. Comme il est de plus en plus difficile de trouver des endroits pour pondre, pour se nourrir et pour se protéger, les monarques meurent.

Peut-on faire quelque chose pour aider les monarques?

Le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique travaillent de concert à sa conservation et à la restauration de son habitat. Pour comprendre les causes du déclin du monarque, les chercheurs étudient plusieurs critères. Ils répertorient le nombre d’œufs, de chenilles et de papillons. Ils identifient les plantes de leurs territoires et dénombre les asclépiades. Ils observent aussi l’environnement et mesurent la température et la vitesse des vents. 

Plusieurs organismes environnementaux s’impliquent, créant ainsi des programmes de science participative. On invite la population à semer de l’asclépiade et des plantes à nectar pour attirer les papillons. On a aussi créé des plateformes pour que les citoyens répertorient, eux-aussi, les œufs, les chenilles et les papillons. Ils peuvent inscrire ces données sur ces plateformes Web et noter aussi où ils les ont trouvés. 

Il n’y a pas d’âge pour aider les papillons monarques. Les quatre organisations suivantes t’offrent la possibilité de t’impliquer pour la conservation du monarque et pour restaurer son habitat :

Alors, si la situation du monarque t’inquiète et que tu souhaites préserver sa migration, prends le temps de bien identifier l’asclépiade (voir la photo ci-bas). Observe aussi s’il y a des œufs et des chenilles dessus. Sois attentif pour repérer le magnifique monarque. Attention de ne pas le confondre avec un papillon qui lui ressemble beaucoup : le vice-roi. Va consulter les sites des organismes nommés dans cet article pour choisir celui qui te convient. Mine de rien, en mettant de l’énergie à sauver le monarque, c’est tout un écosystème qui en bénéficie. Passe à l’action pour sauver ce joli papillon!

Les nombreuses vertus de l'asclépiade en font une plante d'avenir
Source : Journal le Tour

Ton défi

Consulte les quatre organisations de conservation du monarque proposées dans l’article afin d’en choisir une qui convient à tes valeurs et tes aspirations. Parle de ces organisations avec ta famille, car elle aura peut-être à t’aider selon l’endroit où tu habites. Ensuite, prends le temps de t’y inscrire :

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Journée mondiale du « geek »

Depuis 2006, tous les 25 mai a lieu la Journée mondiale du « geek ». Cette date fait référence à divers éléments emblématiques de cette culture. Découvrons lesquels!

Que se passe-t-il en Ukraine?

Depuis plusieurs semaines, de violentes manifestations ont lieu en Ukraine. Voyons pourquoi des milliers de personnes descendent dans la rue pour protester contre le gouvernement ukrainien.

Utilisation des données personnelles : stop ou encore?

Les grandes marques et les entreprises essaient de plus en plus d'être proches de leurs clients potentiels et communiquent de plus en plus fréquemment et directement en essayant de cibler au mieux leurs goûts et préférences. Et qui sont les meilleures amies de ces compagnies ? Nos données personnelles, bien sûr!