COVID-19 Explained to Young People: What History Can Teach Us

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

As part of the SCOOP capsule series! on COVID-19, we are interested today in what history can teach us about the ways of experiencing a pandemic. Like the Black Death, the Spanish Flu, SARS, avian flu or Ebola, COVID-19 will undoubtedly make history in its own way. These diseases are responsible for millions of deaths over time, but nevertheless allow advances in medical, technological and human terms ... Have we learned from previous epidemics? What lessons can we learn from the present situation? SCOOP! explains to you in video.

As part of the SCOOP capsule series! on COVID-19, we are now interested in what history can teach us about coping with a pandemic. COVID-19 has been in full swing for several weeks now and continues to leave its mark all over the planet. Like the Black Death, the Spanish Flu, SARS, avian flu or Ebola, COVID-19 will undoubtedly make history in its own way. Unfortunately, all these diseases are responsible for millions of deaths over time, but nevertheless allow society to make advancements on the medical, technological, human levels ... Have we learned from previous epidemics? What lessons can we learn from the exceptional situation we are currently experiencing? SCOOP! explains to you in video.

Do not repeat the mistakes of the past, start over what worked well

In the last 100 years, the world has witnessed several pandemics: the Spanish flu in 1918, the first cases of AIDS in 1981, SARS in 2002, H1N1 (swine flu) in 2009 and COVID-19 which continues to increase. wreak havoc for several months now. Until a vaccine is found, COVID-19 cannot be brought under control, but we can still slow its progress by strictly following the containment and social distancing measures prescribed by the government.

Flatten the curve

It is not yesterday that such measures exist and they have been able to show their effectiveness throughout history. For example, in 1918, at the very beginning of the Spanish flu pandemic, the city of Philadelphia and the city of St. Louis adopted completely opposite strategies: Philadelphia allowed a parade of some 200,000 people, while St. Louis prohibited everything. gathering. As shown in the graph below, the Philadelphia curve (in black) shows that there was a fairly high death toll from the start of the pandemic. In contrast, Saint-Louis (in gray) has managed to flatten its curve and remain constant by enforcing social distancing measures for its population. The rate of Spanish flu was therefore two times lower in St. Louis than in Philadelphia.

Source: RAD

Quarantine

Quarantine is a concept that has also been around for a very long time. Indeed, it was in the 14th century, in Italy, that the phenomenon was observed for the first time. Boats arriving from a plague-infested area had to isolate themselves for 40 days… Hence the term “quarantine”. During the Great Plague of London in 1665, quarantine was also used to isolate the sick. Houses with infected people were barricaded and a cross was added with the sign “God Have Mercy On Us”. Until the 20th century, several quarantines took place in lazarets (establishments with very thick walls and difficult living conditions). Several were also trying to escape. Today, the quarantine is going much better, in the comfort of our own home, and for a period of 14 days.

Vaccination to save lives

One of the great advances in the field of medicine is certainly the arrival of vaccines to immunize the population against potentially fatal diseases. During vaccination, the bacteria or attenuated virus is introduced into the body. An attenuated infectious agent is harmless to our health since it cannot cause disease. This is where the immune system kicks in by making antibodies to fight off the bacteria or virus in question. The body therefore trains itself to fight the enemy and if it encounters it for real, it will be protected from it and will not fall ill!

The best example and which, moreover, appears to be one of the greatest successes in public health history, is the eradication of smallpox through vaccination. This disease, for hundreds and hundreds of years, killed 30% people in two weeks. Just in the 20th century, we are talking about more than 300 million deaths from smallpox. After decades of effort and a worldwide vaccination campaign in the late 1960s, on October 29, 1979, the WHO declared smallpox eradicated from the face of the earth.

In the case of COVID-19, all scientific communities are working day and night on the design of a vaccine. No date has yet been put forward regarding the possible marketing. Clinical trials are being carried out, among others in Seattle, where 45 volunteers will test for six weeks a vaccine called mRNA-1273. If these tests prove to be conclusive, it could take another eighteen months before marketing. It should be noted that no cure has been found against a coronavirus (the family of COVID-19) in history. However, current research is encouraging and could stop the pandemic in the coming months. 

Disinformation: from yesterday to today

It is not new either that disinformation abounds in times of crisis. For example, during the Spanish flu of 1918 (which coincided with the First World War), the media avoided talking about this pandemic so that the soldiers did not lose their motivation to fight. Once the war was over, false rumors of a cure for the Spanish flu abounded: miraculous water to prevent disease, magic liquor to kill flu germs, etc. This phenomenon of disinformation is therefore not new and increases during a crisis. People need to be reassured, to know all the answers, to have a feeling of control over the situation. In these times of a pandemic, it's easy to let emotions get the best of your senses. This is why we find so much content with questionable intentions that can lead to different cognitive biases, thereby altering critical judgment. Some gurus and charlatans therefore take advantage of the situation to influence and rally as many people as possible to their cause.

The number of false information circulating in times of COVID-19 is breaking all records. Medical misinformation, conspiracy theories, rumors about government measures, hijacked photos and videos, attempted scams or hoaxes, “fake news” about COVID-19 spreads faster than the virus. It is therefore important, even essential, in the context of the current crisis, to choose credible sources of information when it comes time to get informed, such as Radio-CanadaPressThe newsScience-Press Agencythe École branchée. In addition to trusting these media that publish reliable content, web specialists have set up platforms where they sift through an impressive amount of news to disentangle the true from the false. Les Décrypteurs de Radio-Canadathe rumor detector from the Agence Science-Presse and the Decoders of the newspaper Le Monde are experts in dealing with fake news that spreads on social media. They set the record straight and tell you the truth, among other things, on everything related to COVID-19.


For the first time in its history, the entire Quebec population is affected by all of these exceptional measures. In what ways do you think COVID-19 will make history? What lessons can we learn from all of this, once the pandemic is behind us?


Quiz time

Click here to have access to a quiz created from the Quizizz platform. You will be in "practice" mode, so no adult is required to start the quiz. You will even have all the time you want to answer the questions.

For teachers, use this link to access the quiz. Then click on “Play Live”. A window will open to assign the parameters of your choice. Now click on “Host game” and invite the students to go to joinmyquiz.com by providing them with the game code that appeared on the screen. When everyone is ready to begin, click on “Start”.

Have a good quiz!

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

La COVID-19 expliquée aux jeunes : ce que l’histoire peut nous enseigner

Paru le

Dans le cadre de la série des capsules SCOOP! sur la COVID-19, on s’intéresse aujourd’hui à ce que l’histoire peut nous apprendre sur les façons de vivre une pandémie. La COVID-19 bat son plein depuis plusieurs semaines maintenant et continue à laisser sa trace partout sur la planète. À l’image de la peste noire, de la grippe espagnole, du SRAS, de la grippe aviaire ou de l’Ebola, la COVID-19 marquera assurément l’histoire à sa façon. Malheureusement, toutes ces maladies sont responsables de millions de morts à travers le temps, mais permettent néanmoins à la société de faire des avancements sur les plans médical, technologique, humain… Avons-nous appris des précédentes épidémies? Quelles leçons pourrons-nous tirer de la situation exceptionnelle vécue présentement? SCOOP! t’explique en vidéo.

Ne pas reproduire les erreurs du passé, recommencer ce qui a bien fonctionné

Dans les 100 dernières années, le monde a été témoin de plusieurs pandémies : la grippe espagnole en 1918, les premiers cas de sida en 1981, le SRAS en 2002, la H1N1 (grippe porcine) en 2009 et la COVID-19 qui continue de faire des ravages depuis maintenant plusieurs mois. D’ici à ce qu’un vaccin soit trouvé, la COVID-19 ne pourra pas être maîtrisée, mais nous pouvons tout de même ralentir sa progression en suivant à la lettre les mesures de confinement et de distanciation sociale prescrites par le gouvernement.

Aplatir la courbe

Ce n’est pas d’hier que de telles mesures existent et elles ont pu montrer leur efficacité au courant de l’histoire. Par exemple, en 1918, au tout début de la pandémie de grippe espagnole, la ville de Philadelphie et celle de Saint-Louis ont adopté des stratégies complètement opposées : Philadelphie autorisait un défilé de quelque 200 000 personnes, tandis que Saint-Louis interdisait tout rassemblement. Comme représentée dans le graphique ci-dessous, la courbe de Philadelphie (en noir) démontre qu’il y a eu un nombre de morts assez élevé dès le début de la pandémie. À son opposé, Saint-Louis (en gris) a réussi à aplatir sa courbe et demeurer constant en faisant respecter des mesures de distanciation sociale à sa population. Le taux de grippe espagnole fut donc deux fois moins élevé à Saint-Louis qu’à Philadelphie.

Source : RAD

La mise en quarantaine

La mise en quarantaine est un concept qui existe également depuis très longtemps. En effet, c’est au 14e siècle, en Italie, que le phénomène fut observé pour la première fois. Des bateaux arrivant d’une zone infestée par la peste devaient s’isoler pendant 40 jours… D’où le terme « quarantaine ». Pendant la Grande peste de Londres en 1665, la mise en quarantaine était également utilisée pour isoler les malades. On barricadait les maisons où se trouvaient des personnes infectées et on y ajoutait une croix avec l’écriteau « God Have Mercy On Us » (que Dieu ait pitié de nous). Jusqu’au 20e siècle, plusieurs mises en quarantaines se passaient dans des lazarets (établissements avec des murs très épais et aux conditions de vie difficiles). Plusieurs essayaient d’ailleurs de s’en échapper. Aujourd’hui, la mise en quarantaine se passe beaucoup mieux, dans le confort de notre foyer, et pour une période de 14 jours.

La vaccination pour sauver des vies

Une des grandes avancées dans le domaine de la médecine est certainement l’arrivée de vaccins pour immuniser la population contre des maladies potentiellement mortelles. Lors de la vaccination, la bactérie ou le virus atténué est introduit dans le corps. Un agent infectieux atténué est inoffensif pour notre santé puisqu’il ne peut pas causer de maladie. C’est là que le système immunitaire entre en action en fabriquant des anticorps pour combattre la bactérie ou le virus en question. Le corps s’entraîne donc à combattre l’ennemi et s’il le rencontre pour vrai, il en sera protégé et ne tombera pas malade!

Le plus bel exemple et qui, de surcroît, apparaît comme une des plus grandes réussites de l’histoire en Santé publique, est l’éradication de la variole grâce à la vaccination. Cette maladie, depuis des centaines et des centaines d’années, tuait en deux semaines 30% des gens qui en étaient infectés. Juste au 20e siècle, on parle de plus de 300 millions de décès causés par la variole. Après des décennies d’effort et une campagne mondiale de vaccination à la fin des années 60, le 29 octobre 1979, l’OMS déclara la variole éradiquée de la surface de la Terre.

Dans le cas de la COVID-19, toutes les communautés scientifiques travaillent jour et nuit sur la conception d’un vaccin. Aucune date n’a encore été avancée concernant la possible mise en marché. Des essais cliniques s’effectuent, entre autres à Seattle, où 45 volontaires vont tester pendant six semaines un vaccin nommé mRNA-1273. Si ces tests s’avèrent concluants, il pourrait s’écouler encore dix-huit mois avant une commercialisation. Il faut savoir qu’aucun remède n’a été trouvé contre un coronavirus (la famille de la COVID-19) dans l’histoire. Néanmoins, les recherches effectuées actuellement sont encourageantes et pourraient stopper la pandémie dans les prochains mois. 

La désinformation : d’hier à aujourd’hui

Ce n’est pas d’hier non plus que la désinformation pullule en période de crise. Par exemple, lors de la grippe espagnole de 1918 (qui coïncidait avec la Première Guerre), les médias ont évité de parler de cette pandémie pour que les soldats ne perdent pas leur motivation à combattre. Une fois la guerre terminée, ce sont les fausses rumeurs de traitement contre la grippe espagnole qui abondaient : une eau miraculeuse pour prévenir la maladie, une liqueur magique pour tuer les germes de la grippe, etc. Ce phénomène de désinformation n’est donc pas nouveau et s’amplifie pendant une crise. Les gens ont besoin d’être rassurés, de connaître toutes les réponses, d’avoir une impression de contrôle sur la situation. En ces temps de pandémie, il est facile de laisser les émotions prendre le dessus sur la raison. C’est pourquoi nous retrouvons autant de contenu aux intentions douteuses qui peut mener à différents biais cognitifs, altérant du même coup le jugement critique. Certains gourous et charlatans profitent donc de la situation pour influencer et rallier un maximum de gens à leur cause.

Le nombre de fausses informations qui circulent en temps de COVID-19 bat tous les records. Désinformation médicale, théories du complot, rumeurs sur les mesures gouvernementales, photos et vidéos détournées, tentatives d’arnaques ou canulars, les « fake news » concernant la COVID-19 se propagent plus rapidement que le virus. Il est donc important, voire essentiel, dans le contexte de crise que nous vivons actuellement, de choisir des sources d’information crédibles quand vient le temps de s’informer, telles que Radio-CanadaLa PresseL’actualitél’Agence Science-Pressel’École branchée. En plus de faire confiance à ces médias qui publient du contenu fiable, des spécialistes du Web ont mis en place des plateformes où ils passent au crible une quantité impressionnante de nouvelles pour ainsi démêler le vrai du faux. Les Décrypteurs de Radio-Canadale détecteur de rumeurs de l’Agence Science-Presse et les Décodeurs du journal Le Monde sont des experts dans le traitement des fausses nouvelles qui se propagent sur les réseaux sociaux. Ils rétablissent les faits et te donnent l’heure juste, entre autres, sur tout ce qui concerne la COVID-19.


Pour la première fois de son histoire, c’est la totalité de la population québécoise qui est touchée par toutes ces mesures exceptionnelles. De quelles manières la COVID-19 passera-t-elle à l’histoire, selon toi? Quelles leçons pourrons-nous tirer de tout ça, une fois la pandémie derrière nous?


L’heure du quiz

Clique ici pour avoir accès à un jeu-questionnaire créé à partir de la plateforme Quizizz. Tu seras en mode « pratique », alors aucun adulte n’est requis pour démarrer le quiz. Tu auras même tout le temps que tu veux pour répondre aux questions.

Pour les profs, servez-vous de ce lien-ci pour avoir accès au quiz. Cliquez ensuite sur « Play Live ». Une fenêtre s’ouvrira pour attribuer les paramètres de votre choix. Cliquez maintenant sur « Jeu d’hôte » et invitez les élèves à aller sur joinmyquiz.com en leur fournissant le code du jeu qui est apparu à l’écran. Quand tous seront prêts à commencer, cliquez sur « Début ».

Bon quiz!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir...

Un homme-ordures milite pour la cause environnementale

À New-York, un homme porte sur lui les déchets qu’il génère depuis près de deux semaines. Son objectif? Sensibiliser la population sur la quantité de déchets générés par les Américains chaque jour.

Portrait de Stephen Harper nu : de l’art politique?

La toile représentant l'ancien premier ministre du Canada Stephen Harper nu a été vendue pour 20 000 $ cette semaine. Voyons de plus près ce que représente cette œuvre.

Les moustaches de novembre

Au mois de novembre, de nombreux hommes se laissent pousser la moustache… Pourquoi font-ils cela? C’est en appui au mouvement Movember, qui soutient les initiatives liées à la recherche sur le cancer de la prostate et la santé mentale des hommes.