A new football helmet in the NFL: a Quebec creation!

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

At the invitation of the NFL (National Football League), a group of Quebec engineers created a helmet that absorbs the energy of the blows to redistribute it. Let's take this news to learn more about the history and culture surrounding American football, discuss the science of injury prevention in sports, and discover other inventions from home!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

In 2019, the NFL (National Football League) launched a competition to invent a new football helmet to further prevent head injuries among players. KOLLIDE, a group of Quebec engineers, created a helmet that absorbs the energy of the blows to redistribute it

Here is a video to learn more.

 

Suggested Activities

Let's take this news to learn more about the history and culture surrounding American football, discuss the science of injury prevention in sports, and discover other inventions from home!

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Un nouveau casque de football dans la NFL : une création québécoise!

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

À l'invitation de la NFL (National Football League), un groupe d’ingénieurs québécois a créé un casque qui absorbe l’énergie des coups pour la redistribuer. Partons de cette nouvelle pour en apprendre plus sur l’histoire et la culture entourant le football américain, discuter de de la science de la prévention des blessures dans le sport et découvrir d’autres inventions de chez nous!

En 2019, la NFL (ligue nationale de football américain) a lancé un concours dans le but d’inventer un nouveau casque de football pour prévenir davantage les blessures à la tête chez les joueurs. KOLLIDE, un groupe d’ingénieurs québécois, a créé un casque qui absorbe l’énergie des coups pour la redistribuer

Voici d’ailleurs une vidéo pour en apprendre davantage.

 

Suggestions d’activités

Partons de cette nouvelle pour en apprendre plus sur l’histoire et la culture entourant le football américain, discuter de de la science de la prévention des blessures dans le sport et découvrir d’autres inventions de chez nous!

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!