Green light for adolescent vaccination

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The long-awaited announcement by teens, their parents and their teachers has finally taken place: the COVID-19 vaccine can now be administered to all young people aged 12 to 17 in Canada.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

The long-awaited announcement by adolescents, their parents and teachers has finally taken place: the vaccine against COVID-19 can now be administered to all young people between the ages of 12 and 17 from Canada.

Indeed, the vaccine from the company Pfizer is the first that can be injected, before the end of the school year, to all adolescents wanting to be protected against the coronavirus which has been raging for more than 14 months now.

A first teenager vaccinated

A first teenager was vaccinated shortly before the youth campaign officially began. As a result, a 14-year-old boy from Mauricie, living with great anxiety and having obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), obtained an authorization from his doctor to be vaccinated quickly.

“I didn't have the normal life of everyone my age, to be able to go to school easily with a simple mask. With me, everything was extreme: three masks, difficulty going to school, disinfecting everything, washing myself every time I came back from school… Lots of things like that which made my daily life difficult. "

Journal de Montréal, May 10, 2021

Objective: end of the school year

All other teens in Canada will be able to get their first dose very soon, starting with Alberta. It must be said that Canada is the first country to approve a vaccine for young people aged 12 to 16. This decision was based on a study that was done among 2000 young people in the United States. The results determined that it was safe to give young people the same two doses given to adults.

The goal in Quebec is therefore to give the first dose before June 24 and the second at the start of the school year in September. This is great news for teenagers who have been particularly hard pressed by the confinement of the past few months. There is hope!

The role of vaccines

Vaccines are used to protect people by preventing them from developing certain potentially dangerous diseases. During vaccination, the bacteria or attenuated virus is introduced into the body. An attenuated infectious agent is harmless to our health since it cannot cause disease. This is where the immune system kicks in by making antibodies to fight off the bacteria or virus in question. The body therefore trains itself to fight the enemy and if it encounters it for real, it will be protected from it and will not fall ill!

The antibodies that have been developed with the vaccine may be effective against several strains of the same virus at the same time. For example, in the case of influenza, the vaccine contains three different strains (influenza type B, H1N1 and H3N2), which all circulate at the same time, and therefore may be effective against either of these influenza. In 2020, we are talking about an efficacy of 69% for influenza type B, 44% for H1N1 and 62% against H3N2. Overall, this vaccine protects up to 58%.

The manufacture of vaccines

The manufacture of vaccines makes it possible to obtain viruses or bacteria which have lost their pathogenicity, but which have retained their characteristics. Once injected, the vaccine allows the body to produce specific antibodies without developing the disease. To begin manufacturing a vaccine, researchers perform a massive cell culture of the bacteria or virus in question. Then, the collected cells must be heated and treated with chemicals in order to make them harmless.

There are two main processes in vaccine design: live (attenuated) vaccines and inert (inactivated) vaccines. Live or attenuated vaccines, such as those against measles, mumps and rubella require an infectious agent that is still alive, but which has lost its power to infect due to chemical treatments. Other vaccines, like rabies, are created by suppressing infectious agents living in viruses. Or as with tetanus, only a harmless part of the bacteria is used. These are called inert or inactivated vaccines.

The challenge

It's quiz time!

here is the link to access a quiz on the role of vaccines from the Quizizz platform. Click on “Play Live”. A window will open to assign the settings of your choice to the quiz. Then click on "Host game", then invite the students to go to joinmyquiz.com and provide them with the game code that appeared on the screen. When everyone is ready to begin, click on “Start”.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

Science and technology (secondary 3)

  • Medical technologies: vaccines
  • Technological universe (biotechnology)
  • Living universe (immune system)

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Communicate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Quiz
  • Edpuzzle
  • LearningApps
  • Flipgrid

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to deepen their knowledge of vaccines and their uses around the world.

Objectives of the activities

  • Know the stages of manufacturing a vaccine.
  • Learn a specialized lexicon related to vaccines.
  • Give your point of view on vaccination.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Feu vert à la vaccination des adolescents

Paru / Mis à jour le

L'annonce tant attendue par les adolescents, leurs parents et leurs enseignants a enfin eu lieu : le vaccin contre la COVID-19 peut dès maintenant être administré à tous les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans du Canada.
 

L’annonce tant attendue par les adolescents, leurs parents et leurs enseignants a enfin eu lieu : le vaccin contre la COVID-19 peut dès maintenant être administré à tous les jeunes de 12 à 17 ans du Canada.

En effet, le vaccin de la compagnie Pfizer est le premier qui pourra être injecté, avant la fin de l’année scolaire, à tous les adolescents voulant être protégés contre le coronavirus qui sévit depuis plus de 14 mois maintenant.

Un premier ado vacciné

Un premier adolescent a été vacciné un peu avant que la campagne des jeunes ne débute officiellement. De ce fait, un garçon de 14 ans de la Mauricie, vivant une grande anxiété et ayant un trouble obsessionnel compulsif (TOC), a obtenu une autorisation de son médecin pour être vacciné rapidement.

« Je n’avais pas la vie normale de toutes les personnes de mon âge, d’être capable d’aller à l’école facilement avec un masque bien simplement. Avec moi, tout était extrême: trois masques, difficultés d’aller à l’école, tout désinfecter, me laver à chaque fois que je revenais de l’école… Plein de choses comme ça qui rendaient mon quotidien difficile. »

Journal de Montréal, 10 mai 2021

Objectif : fin de l’année scolaire

Tous les autres adolescents du Canada pourront recevoir leur première dose très bientôt, en commençant par l’Alberta. Il faut dire que le Canada est le premier pays à approuver un vaccin pour les jeunes de 12 à 16 ans. Cette décision s’est basée sur une étude qui a été faite chez 2000 jeunes aux États-Unis. Les résultats ont permis de trancher qu’il était sécuritaire d’administrer aux jeunes les mêmes deux doses qu’on donnait aux adultes.

L’objectif au Québec est donc de donner la première dose avant le 24 juin et la deuxième lors de la rentrée scolaire en septembre. C’est une excellente nouvelle pour les adolescents qui ont été particulièrement éprouvés par le confinement des derniers mois. Il y a de l’espoir!

Le rôle des vaccins

Les vaccins servent à protéger les gens en leur évitant de développer certaines maladies potentiellement dangereuses. Lors de la vaccination, la bactérie ou le virus atténué est introduit dans le corps. Un agent infectieux atténué est inoffensif pour notre santé puisqu’il ne peut pas causer de maladie. C’est là que le système immunitaire entre en action en fabriquant des anticorps pour combattre la bactérie ou le virus en question. Le corps s’entraîne donc à combattre l’ennemi et s’il le rencontre pour vrai, il en sera protégé et ne tombera pas malade!

Les anticorps qui ont été développés grâce au vaccin peuvent être efficaces contre plusieurs souches à la fois d’un même virus. Par exemple, dans le cas de la grippe, le vaccin contient trois souches différentes (influenza type B, H1N1 et H3N2), qui circulent toutes en même temps, et peut donc être efficace contre l’une ou l’autre de ces grippes. En 2020, on parle d’une efficacité de 69% pour l’influenza type B, 44% pour la H1N1 et 62% contre la H3N2. Globalement, ce vaccin protège à hauteur de 58%.

La fabrication des vaccins

La fabrication de vaccins permet d’obtenir des virus ou des bactéries qui ont perdu leur pouvoir pathogène, mais qui ont conservé leurs caractéristiques. Une fois injecté, le vaccin permet au corps la production d’anticorps spécifiques sans développer la maladie. Pour débuter la fabrication d’un vaccin, les chercheurs effectuent une culture cellulaire massive de la bactérie ou du virus en question. Ensuite, les cellules recueillies doivent être chauffées et traitées aux produits chimiques dans le but de les rendre inoffensives.

Il existe deux procédés principaux dans la conception de vaccins : les vaccins vivants (atténués) et les vaccins inertes (inactivés). Les vaccins vivants ou atténués, comme ceux contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole nécessitent un agent infectieux toujours vivant, mais qui a perdu son pouvoir d’infecter grâce aux traitements chimiques. D’autres vaccins, comme celui de la rage, sont créés en supprimant les agents infectieux vivant des virus. Ou comme dans le cas du tétanos, c’est seulement une partie inoffensive de la bactérie qui est utilisée. On les appelle les vaccins inertes ou inactivés.

Ton défi

C’est l’heure du quiz!

Voici le lien pour avoir accès à un jeu-questionnaire sur le rôle des vaccins à partir de la plateforme Quizizz. Tu peux simplement cliquer sur le bouton vert Entraîne-toi pour jouer!

Pour les profs : Cliquez sur « Play Live ». Une fenêtre s’ouvrira pour attribuer les paramètres de votre choix au quiz. Cliquez ensuite sur « Jeu d’hôte », puis invitez les élèves à aller sur joinmyquiz.com et fournissez-leur le code du jeu qui est apparu à l’écran. Quand tous seront prêts à commencer, cliquez sur « Début ».


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


Classification des activités :

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!