COVID-19 explained to young people: quarantine

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

As part of the SCOOP! on COVID-19, we are now talking about quarantine. Several people, all over the world, find themselves quarantined for fourteen days. But what exactly does all of this mean?

As part of the series of informative capsules on COVID-19 for young people aged 8 to 16, quarantine is now being discussed. Several people, all over the world, find themselves quarantined for fourteen days. But what exactly does all of this mean?


What is quarantine?

Since the start of the COVID-19 coronavirus crisis, several measures have been put in place by governments around the world to try to contain the spread of the disease as much as possible. One of the proposed actions is the quarantine of people arriving from travel. Quarantining yourself means you have to self-isolate at home for the 14 days prescribed in this case. We don't go to school, to the grocery store, or to public transport. Quarantine is therefore intended as a measure to try to slow down the course of the infection and minimize local transmission.

“On average, it is estimated that one case of COVID-19 infection could potentially generate two or three more in its environment. "

Source: Radio-Canada, March 13, 2020

The term "quarantine" was first used in the 14th century in Italy. Boats arriving in the country that had passed through a plague-infected area had to self-isolate for about 40 days, hence the quarantine. Until the 20th century, isolation took place in a lazaretto, an establishment with very thick walls and difficult living conditions. Several were also trying to escape. Today, quarantine is going much better, in the comfort of our own home.


What to do if you are in quarantine?

The Public Health Agency of Canada has issued its recommendations regarding behaviors to adopt in times of isolation:

1- stay at home

You must not, under any circumstances, leave your home. For an emergency, call 811 first.

2- Adopt good respiratory hygiene practices

Cough or sneeze into the crook of your arm rather than your hands. Use a tissue and wash your hands afterwards.

3- wash your hands often

Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Before preparing a meal, after a meal, after using the toilet and at any time that requires washing. It is better to wash your hands too often than not enough!

4- Limit contact with your loved ones

Stay away from others, including those who live with you. If you cannot maintain the minimum distance of two meters, wear a surgical mask and keep interactions as short as possible. Also limit contact with pets.

5- don't share personal items

Prevent others from having access to your personal items, be it the toothbrush, bed, cell phone, computer, etc.

6- Clean the surfaces often

It is advisable to wash the surfaces you use around the house (doorknobs, counters, toilets, etc.) at least once a day.

Also disinfect your computer and phone, if possible, with 70 % alcohol.

7- watch your symptoms

Even if you are in preventive segregation, take your temperature at the same time each day. Pay special attention to symptoms such as fever, cough, shortness of breath, chest pain, diarrhea, severe vomiting, and unusual fatigue.

Source: Radio-Canada, March 13, 2020


Quiz on Quizizz

To check the student's understanding of the concept of quarantine, go to to the next quiz. Then click on “Play live”. You will have access to a few parameters to configure. Once it's to your liking, click on the purple "Host Play" button. The learner will go to joinmyquiz.com and will enter the unique code that you have given him. When all the players are connected, the adult or the teacher is ready to press “Start”.

Have a good quiz!

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

mis à jour le :

Dans le cadre de la série de capsules informatives sur la COVID-19 destinée aux jeunes de 8 à 16 ans, il est aujourd’hui question de la mise en quarantaine. Plusieurs personnes, partout à travers le monde, se retrouvent mises en quarantaine pendant quatorze jours. Mais qu’est-ce que tout cela signifie, au juste?


Qu’est-ce que la mise en quarantaine?

Depuis le début de la crise du coronavirus COVID-19, plusieurs mesures ont été mises en place par les gouvernements à travers le monde pour tenter de contenir au maximum la propagation de la maladie. Une des actions proposées est la mise en quarantaine des gens qui arrivent de voyage. Se mettre en quarantaine signifie qu’on doit s’isoler à la maison pour les 14 jours prescrits dans le cas présent. On ne va ni à l’école, ni à l’épicerie, ni dans les transports en commun. La mise en quarantaine se veut alors une mesure pour tenter de freiner la courbe d’évolution de l’infection et minimiser la transmission locale.

« En moyenne, on estime qu’un cas d’infection à la COVID-19 pourrait en générer potentiellement deux ou trois autres dans son environnement. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 13 mars 2020

Les termes « mise en quarantaine » ont été utilisés pour la première fois au 14e siècle, en Italie. Les bateaux qui arrivaient au pays et qui avaient traversé une zone infectée par la peste devaient s’isoler pendant environ 40 jours, d’où la mise en quarantaine. Jusqu’au 20e siècle, l’isolement se passait dans un lazaret, un établissement avec des murs très épais et aux conditions de vie difficiles. Plusieurs essayaient d’ailleurs de s’en échapper. Aujourd’hui, la mise en quarantaine se passe beaucoup mieux, dans le confort de notre foyer.


Quoi faire si on est en quarantaine?

L’Agence de santé publique du Canada a émis ses recommandations concernant les comportements à adopter en période d’isolement :

1- Restez à la maison

Il ne faut, sous aucun prétexte, quitter son domicile. Pour un cas d’urgence, appelez d’abord le 811.

2- Adoptez de bonnes pratiques d’hygiène respiratoire

Toussez ou éternuez dans le creux de votre bras plutôt que dans vos mains. Utilisez un mouchoir et lavez les mains ensuite.

3- Lavez-vous souvent les mains

Lavez-vous souvent les mains avec du savon et de l’eau pendant au moins 20 secondes. Avant de se préparer un repas, après le repas, après avoir utilisé les toilettes et à tout autre moment nécessitant un lavage. Il vaut mieux se laver les mains trop souvent que pas assez!

4- Limitez les contacts avec vos proches

Tenez-vous loin des autres, y compris ceux qui vivent avec vous. Si vous ne pouvez pas maintenir la distance minimale de deux mètres, portez un masque chirurgical et écourtez le plus possible les interactions. Limitez aussi les contacts avec les animaux de compagnie.

5- Ne partagez pas des articles personnels

Évitez que les autres aient accès à vos articles personnels, que ce soit la brosse à dents, le lit, le cellulaire, l’ordinateur, etc.

6- Nettoyez souvent les surfaces

Il est conseillé de laver au moins une fois par jour les surfaces que vous utilisez dans la maison (poignées de porte, comptoirs, toilette, etc.).

Désinfectez aussi votre ordinateur et votre téléphone, si possible, avec de l’alcool à 70 %.

7- Surveillez vos symptômes

Même si vous êtes en isolement de manière préventive, prenez votre température chaque jour, à la même heure. Surveillez particulièrement les symptômes tels que la fièvre, la toux, l’essoufflement, les douleurs à la poitrine, la diarrhée, les vomissements importants et la fatigue inhabituelle.

Source : Radio-Canada, 13 mars 2020


Jeu-questionnaire sur Quizizz

Pour vérifier la compréhension de l’élève sur le concept de mise en quarantaine, accédez au quiz suivant. Ensuite, cliquez sur « Play live ». Vous aurez accès à quelques paramètres à configurer. Une fois que c’est à votre goût, cliquez sur le bouton mauve « Jeu d’hôte ». L’apprenant se rendra sur joinmyquiz.com et y inscrira le code unique que vous lui aurez transmis. Quand tous les joueurs sont connectés, l’adulte ou l’enseignant est prêt à appuyer sur « Début ».

Bon quiz!



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : NOS ABONNÉS NE VOIENT PAS CES ANNONCES