Challenges and Benefits of Assistive Technologies for Learning Disabilities

Sometimes very bright children struggle to succeed in their studies. They are victims of a disorder invisible to the naked eye: dyslexia, dysorthography or dyscalculia. Once teachers and students master assistive technology, young people can finally be successful!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

A joint file from Infobourg and Carrefour education.

By Nathalie Côté and Julie Beaupré

Sometimes very bright children struggle to succeed in their studies. They are victims of a disorder invisible to the naked eye: dyslexia, dysorthography or dyscalculia. Just over 3 % of Canadian children are said to have a learning disability, according to Statistics Canada. Some specialists argue rather that 10 % to 15 % would suffer. This difference is explained in particular by different definitions of learning disabilities.

Be that as it may, these students - and their parents - often experience schooling as a real way of the cross. In addition to the academic difficulties, these families have to fill out a lot of paperwork and wait for help. Several of them end up turning to private professionals.

However, these students, once simply labeled as mediocre, can now aspire to success, not least thanks to a technological boost. For the year 2012-2013, the Ministry of Education has budgeted $ 6.6 million to offer technological assistance to students with disabilities or with adjustment or learning difficulties. However, these tools remain controversial. Some players in the education community consider it to be cheating, nothing less. Conversely, others rather believe that this technology allows young people to finally express their full potential.

But even when they are convinced of the benefits of this technology, teachers face various obstacles on a daily basis. They must change their teaching methods and adapt to these new tools. Good training is usually needed to do this effectively. But the results are there. Once teachers and students master the technology, young people can finally be successful!

 

Summary of the file

Introduction

1. Know success at last through technology
- Put words on the ailments

2. ICTs to help students with learning disabilities: an injustice to others?
- What the authorities say

3. Technologies for assisting learning disabilities: the technopedagogical challenge for teachers
- Vintage, dictations?
- Technological skills 101
- Easy, this software?

4. Digitizing your traditional equipment: a survival guide
- Planning and hardware
- Copyright: holà!

5. Deployment of technological aids: changes to be expected in the classroom
- What tech assistants bring to students
- Technological training

6. Assistive technology and ministerial assessment
- The exam tablet?

Conclusion

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Défis et avantages des technologies d’aide aux troubles d’apprentissage

Des enfants parfois très brillants peinent à réussir leurs études. Ils sont victimes d’un trouble invisible à l’œil nu : dyslexie, dysorthographie ou dyscalculie. Une fois que les enseignants et les élèves maîtrisent bien les technologies d'aide, les jeunes peuvent enfin connaître le succès!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Un dossier conjoint d’Infobourg et de Carrefour éducation.

Par Nathalie Côté et Julie Beaupré

Des enfants parfois très brillants peinent à réussir leurs études. Ils sont victimes d’un trouble invisible à l’œil nu : dyslexie, dysorthographie ou dyscalculie. Un peu plus de 3 % des enfants canadiens auraient un trouble d’apprentissage, selon Statistique Canada. Certains spécialistes avancent plutôt que 10 % à 15 % en souffriraient. Cet écart s’explique notamment par des définitions différentes des troubles d’apprentissage.

Quoi qu’il en soit, ces élèves – et leurs parents – vivent souvent la scolarité comme un véritable chemin de croix. Outre les difficultés académiques, ces familles doivent remplir bien de la paperasse et patienter pour obtenir de l’aide. Plusieurs d’entre elles finissent d’ailleurs par se tourner vers des professionnels privés.

Cependant, ces élèves, autrefois simplement étiquetés comme médiocres, peuvent maintenant aspirer au succès, notamment grâce à un coup de pouce technologique. Pour l’année 2012-2013, le ministère de l’Éducation a prévu un budget de 6,6 millions de dollars pour offrir une aide technologique pour les élèves handicapés ou en difficulté d’adaptation ou d’apprentissage. Ces outils demeurent toutefois controversés. Certains acteurs du milieu de l’enseignement considèrent qu’il s’agit de tricherie, rien de moins. À l’inverse, d’autres croient plutôt que cette technologie permet aux jeunes d’exprimer enfin leur plein potentiel.

Mais même lorsqu’ils sont convaincus des bienfaits de cette technologie, les enseignants se butent à différents obstacles au quotidien. Ils doivent modifier leurs méthodes d’enseignement et s’adapter à ces nouveaux outils. Une bonne formation est généralement nécessaire pour le faire efficacement. Mais les résultats sont là. Une fois que les enseignants et les élèves maîtrisent bien la technologie, les jeunes peuvent enfin connaître le succès!

 

Sommaire du dossier

Introduction

1. Connaître enfin le succès grâce à la technologie
– Mettre des mots sur les maux

2. Des TIC pour aider les élèves ayant des troubles d’apprentissage : une injustice pour les autres?
– Ce qu’en disent les autorités

3. Technologies d’aide aux troubles d’apprentissage : le défi technopédagogique des enseignants
– Vintages, les dictées?
– Compétences technologiques 101
– Faciles, ces logiciels?

4. Numériser son matériel traditionnel : guide de survie
– Planif et quincaillerie
– Droits d’auteur : holà!

5. Déploiement d’aides technologiques : des changements à prévoir dans la classe
– Ce que les aides technos apportent aux élèves
– L’entraînement technologique

6. Technologies d’aide et évaluation ministérielle
– La tablette aux examens?

Conclusion

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :