Mass tourism: when there are "too" many tourists ...

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The Phi Phi Islands in Thailand have suffered significant environmental impacts due to mass tourism. The famous Maya Bay, immortalized by Leonardo DiCaprio in the film The Beach and forced to close in 2018 to avoid an ecological disaster, must reopen on January 1 ... The archipelago has been healing its wounds since the start of the pandemic and the authorities are promising to invent another development model. Here are activities that will introduce students to the concept of mass tourism and its consequences.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Apart from the pandemic, mass tourism affects several travel destinations around the globe. Even in Quebec, places like Old Quebec and some national parks attract people from all over the world, which has interesting economic spinoffs for the region. However, despite the positive aspects of having a large number of tourists, the negative effects on the environment and the pressure on waste management are not always worth the effort. 

This is the case in the Phi Phi Islands, in Thailand, which live with significant environmental impacts: 

“The archipelago has been healing its wounds since the pandemic and the authorities promise to invent another development model there. Time is running out: his famous Maya Bay, immortalized by Leonardo DiCaprio in the film The Beach and forced to close in 2018 to avoid an ecological disaster, must reopen on 1er January.

“The human impact, the overabundance of motor boats, the lack of regulation on these islands, despite being classified as a“ national park ”, combined with global warming, have led to an environmental disaster. "

La Presse

In order to be able to continue welcoming visitors while protecting the ecosystem, it is essential to create rules and educate tourists. It's all about balance! 

 

Suggested activities

The following activities will allow students to discover the concept of mass tourism and its consequences using a concrete example. 

The complete activity lasts approximately 75 minutes. It will probably take more if students are not already used to working with a digital tool like the iPad. 

To get all the activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Tourisme de masse : quand il y a « trop » de touristes…

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Les îles Phi Phi, en Thaïlande, ont subi d’importants impacts environnementaux à cause du tourisme de masse. La célèbre Maya Bay, immortalisée par Leonardo DiCaprio dans le film The Beach et forcée de fermer dès 2018 pour éviter une catastrophe écologique, doit rouvrir le 1er janvier... L’archipel panse ses plaies depuis le début de la pandémie et les autorités promettent d’inventer un autre modèle de développement. Voici des activités qui permettront de faire découvrir aux élèves le concept de tourisme de masse ainsi que ses conséquences.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Hors pandémie, le tourisme de masse affecte plusieurs destinations voyage autour du globe. Même au Québec, des endroits comme le Vieux-Québec ou encore certains parcs nationaux attirent des gens de partout dans le monde, ce qui entraîne des retombées économiques intéressantes pour la région. Toutefois, malgré les aspects positifs de la présence d’un grand nombre de touristes, les effets néfastes sur l’environnement et la pression sur la gestion des déchets n’en valent pas toujours la chandelle. 

C’est le cas aux îles Phi Phi, en Thaïlande, qui vivent avec d’importants impacts environnementaux : 

« L’archipel panse ses plaies depuis la pandémie et les autorités promettent d’y inventer un autre modèle de développement. Le temps presse : sa célèbre Maya Bay, immortalisée par Leonardo DiCaprio dans le film The Beach et forcée de fermer dès 2018 pour éviter une catastrophe écologique, doit rouvrir le 1er janvier.

« L’impact humain, la surabondance des bateaux à moteur, l’absence de régulation sur ces îles pourtant classées “parc national”, combinés au réchauffement climatique, ont conduit à un désastre environnemental. »

La Presse

Afin de pouvoir continuer d’accueillir des visiteurs tout en protégeant l’écosystème, il est essentiel de créer des règles et de sensibiliser les touristes. Tout est une question d’équilibre! 

 

Suggestions d’activités

Les activités qui suivent permettront de faire découvrir le concept de tourisme de masse ainsi que ses conséquences aux élèves à partir d’un exemple concret. 

L’activité complète est d’une durée approximative de 75 minutes. Il faudra probablement en compter plus si les élèves ne sont pas déjà habitués à travailler avec un outil numérique comme l’iPad. 

Pour obtenir toutes les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir