ADVERTISEMENT

vaccine

Vaccination: science versus belief

A disease that has been eradicated for several years, measles, is creating a public health problem in the United States. Indeed, New York City has ordered vaccination against a recent measles outbreak since 700 cases were reported in a matter of weeks. The sharing of wrong facts, fake news and disinformation are said to be at the center of this most recent epidemic. A look at one of WHO's greatest enemies: mistrust of vaccines.

Should we doubt the effectiveness of vaccines?

Universal remedy to fight against epidemics, the effectiveness of the vaccine is increasingly questioned. Whether by the WHO itself, or by concerned parents, new vaccines do not always offer the desired protection, and older vaccines are accused of being the source of other infections.

The Ebola virus epidemic

A virus is currently roaming West Africa and killing 85% of those infected. Let's take a closer look at why the number of victims of the Ebola virus has just reached an unprecedented high.

Flu season is in full swing

The influenza virus, or the flu, begins to circulate in mid-fall. The holiday season favors its transmission. Indeed, during the holidays, we do not exchange only wishes! By the way, should we get vaccinated, and how do vaccines work?

vaccin

Vaccination : science versus croyance

Une maladie pourtant éradiquée depuis plusieurs années, la rougeole, est en train de créer un problème de santé publique aux États-Unis. En effet, la ville de New York a ordonné la vaccination contre une récente éclosion de rougeole depuis que 700 cas ont été rapportés en quelques semaines. Le partage de faits erronés, les fausses nouvelles et la désinformation seraient au centre de cette plus récente épidémie. Regards sur un des plus grands ennemis de l'OMS : la méfiance à l'égard des vaccins.

Doit-on douter de l’efficacité des vaccins?

Remède universel pour lutter contre les épidémies, l’efficacité du vaccin est de plus en plus remise en question. Que ce soit par l’OMS elle-même, ou encore par des parents concernés, les nouveaux vaccins n’offrent pas toujours la protection désirée, et les plus anciens sont accusés d’être à la source d’autres infections.

L’épidémie du virus Ebola

Un virus parcourt l’Afrique de l’Ouest actuellement et tue 85% des personnes infectées. Allons voir de plus près pourquoi le nombre de victimes du virus Ebola vient d’atteindre un sommet jamais égalé auparavant.

La saison de la grippe bat son plein

Le virus de l’influenza, ou grippe, commence à circuler au milieu de l’automne. La période des Fêtes favorise sa transmission. En effet, pendant les congés, on n’échange pas que des vœux! Au fait, devrait-on se faire vacciner, et comment agissent les vaccins?