04. DEVELOPING AND MOBILIZING INFORMATION LITERACY

From Facebook to Meta

In the following activities, we learn about Mark Zuckerberg and imagine the back cover of his biography. And since we're talking about applications that are used by young and old people alike, we look at the app design process while keeping in mind the importance of an inclusive design.

From Facebook to Meta

In the following activities, we learn about Mark Zuckerberg and invent a back cover of his biography. And while talking about applications appreciated by young and old, we are interested in the application design process keeping in mind the importance of the notion of inclusion in design.

November 11: remembering who and what?

On November 11, like every year, meditation ceremonies are held across the country on Remembrance Day to commemorate the 1918 armistice.

Move better to be happier

The activities proposed in this guide will help your students to find ideas for preparing to move and for relieving stress in the classroom. They will also make it possible to learn more about the professions that surround the practice of a high-level sport. Ready, Set? Let's go!   

Halloween: legendary party!

Halloween is the party par excellence for children. Costumes, sweets, decorations, everything is there to make this day memorable in the eyes of the youngest. Children therefore appreciate the traditions put in place on October 31, where pumpkins of all sizes and colors punctuate the route of families in search of the best treats in their neighborhood. This guide looks at the legend of Jack O'Lantern and how Halloween customs endure 2,500 years later.

Science vs. Facebook algorithm to thwart disinformation

Since the start of the pandemic, we have seen several scientists posting on social networks in favor or against the vaccine, the mask, health measures, etc. Recently, the editor of the renowned journal Science, Holden Thorp, implored the scientific community to try to beat Facebook at its own game: to play on the algorithms by bringing out star researchers, as do so well the " anti-science ”.  

"It's a beautiful language, with superb words ..."

Do your students know that French is spoken in Canada other than in Quebec? Here is an opportunity to make them aware of this reality through meetings with francophone students from Alberta and activities aimed at enriching their vocabulary by discovering surprising expressions!

Understanding the lumber shortage

Several causes have contributed to the current shortage of lumber. While demand has increased sharply during periods of containment, sawmills are having difficulty getting their heads out of the water! In addition, for several years, the price of lumber had been so low that they were already struggling to make a profit. So it's a huge turnaround. Let's take a closer look!

20 years after the attacks of September 11, 2001: artists come back to the effects

20 years after the attacks of September 11, 2001, which claimed the lives of thousands of Americans, Quebec artists of North African origin look back at the effects of racism they have since been victims of in a sobering web series.

Hurricane season: deep in the storm

Every year, many hurricanes (or cyclones) form on our planet, particularly between June 1 and November 30. Some of them hit the coast hard and sometimes leave thousands of victims behind. Here are some ideas for activities to do in class to better understand this meteorological phenomenon and its consequences.

04. Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle

From Facebook to Meta

In the following activities, we learn about Mark Zuckerberg and imagine the back cover of his biography. And since we're talking about applications that are used by young and old people alike, we look at the app design process while keeping in mind the importance of an inclusive design.

De Facebook à Meta

Dans les activités qui suivent, on se documente à propos de Mark Zuckerberg et on invente une quatrième de couverture de biographie. Et tant qu'à parler d'applications appréciées des jeunes et moins jeunes, on s'intéresse au processus de conception d'applications en gardant en tête l'importance de la notion d'inclusion dans le design.

11 novembre : en souvenir de qui et de quoi?

Le 11 novembre, comme chaque année, des cérémonies de recueillement ont lieu partout au pays à l’occasion du jour du Souvenir pour commémorer l'armistice de 1918.

Bouger mieux pour être plus heureux

Les activités proposées dans ce guide permettront de trouver avec vos élèves des idées pour se préparer à bouger et pour évacuer le stress en classe. Elles permettront aussi d’en apprendre plus sur les métiers qui entourent la pratique d’un sport de haut niveau. À vos marques, prêts? C’est parti!   

Halloween : fête légendaire!

L'Halloween est la fête par excellence des enfants. Costumes, bonbons, décorations, tout y est pour que cette journée soit mémorable aux yeux des plus jeunes. Les enfants apprécient donc les traditions mises en place le 31 octobre, où les citrouilles de toutes les grosseurs et de toutes les couleurs ponctuent la route des familles à la recherche des meilleures friandises de leur quartier. Ce guide s'intéresse à la légende de Jack O'Lantern et comment les coutumes d'Halloween perdurent 2500 ans plus tard.

La science contre l’algorithme Facebook pour déjouer la désinformation

Depuis le début de la pandémie, nous voyons plusieurs scientifiques publier sur les réseaux sociaux en faveur ou en défaveur du vaccin, du masque, des mesures sanitaires, etc.  Dernièrement, le rédacteur en chef de la réputée revue Science, Holden Thorp, a imploré la communauté scientifique d’essayer de battre Facebook à son propre jeu : jouer sur les algorithmes en faisant émerger des chercheurs-vedettes, comme le font si bien le « anti-sciences ».  

« C’est une langue belle, avec des mots superbes… »

Vos élèves savent-ils qu’on parle français au Canada ailleurs qu’au Québec? Voici une occasion de les sensibiliser à cette réalité à travers la rencontre d'élèves francophones de l'Alberta et d'activités visant à enrichir leur vocabulaire en découvrant des expressions surprenantes!

Comprendre la pénurie de bois d’oeuvre

Plusieurs causes ont contribué à la pénurie de bois d'oeuvre que nous vivons actuellement. Alors que la demande a augmenté fortement lors des périodes de confinement, les scieries ont de la difficulté à se sortir la tête de l’eau! De plus, depuis quelques années, le prix du bois d'œuvre était tellement bas que celles-ci peinaient déjà à faire des profits. C’est donc un énorme retournement de situation. Allons voir de plus près!

20 ans après les attentats du 11 septembre 2001 : des artistes reviennent sur les effets

20 ans après les attentats du 11 septembre 2001, qui ont coûté la vie à des milliers d'américains, des artistes québécois d'origine maghrébine reviennent sur les effets du racisme dont ils ont été victimes depuis dans une websérie qui fait réfléchir.

Saison des ouragans : au coeur de la tempête

Chaque année, de nombreux ouragans (ou cyclones) se forment sur notre planète, particulièrement entre le 1er juin et le 30 novembre. Certains d'entre eux frappent durement les côtes et laissent parfois des milliers de sinistrés derrière. Voici des idées d'activités à réaliser en classe pour mieux comprendre ce phénomène météorologique et ses conséquences.