Six young people against 33 countries: a first victory for the climate

Published / Updated on

In September 2020, six young people aged 8 to 21 lodged a complaint with the European Court of Human Rights against 33 countries for having "failed to do their part to avoid a climate catastrophe". Three months later, we learned that their request had been accepted. Where are we now in the fight against climate change?
 

In September 2020, six young people aged 8 to 21 lodged a complaint with the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) against 33 countries for having "failed to do their part to avoid a climate catastrophe". Three months later, we learn that their request has been accepted and that all member states of the European Union as well as the United Kingdom, Norway, Turkey and Russia will have to prove that they are really taking action in favor of climate.

In fact, these six young Portuguese ask the ECHR to oblige these countries to respect their commitment to limit the rise in the temperature of the planet to 1.5 ° C, as understood in the Paris agreement.

The young people who have therefore filed a complaint against 33 countries want to hold them responsible for fueling the climate crisis and force them to take urgent measures to further reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. 

More and more heat records are being recorded all over the world. For example, Portugal just experienced its hottest July in 90 years. In Quebec, on May 27, 2020, Montreal broke the record for the hottest temperature ever recorded for the months of May, June and July with a mercury that climbed to 36 ° C.

“It terrifies me to know that the record heat waves we have endured are just the beginning. With so little time to act, we must do everything in our power to force governments to protect us properly ”, testifies Catarina Mota, one of the young adults involved. 

Le Monde, September 3, 2020

The 33 targeted countries will now have to defend themselves. The process will be very long, but if young people win, different governments could be forced to do a lot more to fight climate change.

This is not the first time that the path of justice has been used by young people in the fight against climate change. They are taking more and more place in the offensive that is being waged, knowing more than anyone that they represent the future and that they will have to assume the consequences of the announced changes.

“Many young people have also chosen the path of justice to make themselves heard. Legal proceedings have been filed in the USA, in Belgium and in the Nederlands. Young Quebecers have in turn announced that they want to sue the Government of Canada for its inaction in the fight against climate change: the organization ENvironnement JEUnesse filed in november a request for authorization to the Superior Court of Quebec for a class action, on behalf of all young Quebecers aged 35 and under. "

Agence Science-Presse, January 16, 2019

The environmental issues in question here are closely linked to the social, legal, political and above all economic aspects of our society:

"In terms of climate, the changes will have to be major if we want global warming to not exceed 2 degrees during this century, but it will also require more substantial financial investments," reported a recent 400-page report by the Intergovernmental Group on the climate change (IPCC). "

Agence Science-Presse, November 28, 2018

 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Six jeunes contre 33 pays : une première victoire pour le climat

Paru le

 

En septembre 2020, six jeunes de 8 à 21 ans ont déposé une plainte auprès de la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme (CEDH) contre 33 pays pour avoir « échoué à faire leur part afin d’éviter une catastrophe climatique ». Trois mois plus tard, nous apprenons que leur demande a été acceptée et que l’ensemble des États membres de l’Union européenne ainsi que le Royaume-Uni, la Norvège, la Turquie et la Russie devront prouver qu’ils agissent vraiment en faveur du climat.

Dans les faits, ces six jeunes Portugais demandent à la CEDH d’obliger ces pays à respecter leur engagement à limiter l’élévation de la température de la planète à 1,5 °C, comme entendu dans l’accord de Paris.

Les jeunes qui ont donc déposé une plainte contre 33 pays veulent les tenir responsables d’avoir alimenté la crise climatique et les contraindre à prendre des mesures urgentes pour réduire davantage leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre. 

De plus en plus de records de chaleur sont enregistrés un peu partout dans le monde. Par exemple, le Portugal vient de vivre son mois de juillet le plus chaud en 90 ans. Au Québec, le 27 mai 2020, Montréal a battu le record de la température la plus chaude jamais enregistrée pour les mois de mai, juin et juillet avec un mercure qui a grimpé jusqu’à 36 °C.

« Cela me terrifie de savoir que les vagues de chaleur record que nous avons endurées ne sont que le début. Avec si peu de temps pour agir, nous devons faire tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour obliger les gouvernements à nous protéger correctement », témoigne Catarina Mota, l’une des jeunes adultes engagées. 

Le Monde, 3 septembre 2020

Les 33 pays visés devront maintenant se défendre. Le processus sera très long, mais si les jeunes gagnent, les différents gouvernements pourraient être dans l’obligation d’en faire beaucoup plus pour lutter contre les changements climatiques.

Ce n’est pas la première fois que la voie de la justice est utilisée par les jeunes dans la lutte aux changements climatiques. Ils prennent de plus en plus de place dans l’offensive qui est menée, en sachant plus que quiconque qu’ils représentent l’avenir et qu’ils devront assumer les conséquences des changements annoncés.

« De nombreux jeunes ont par ailleurs choisi la voie de la justice pour se faire entendre. Des poursuites judiciaires ont été déposées aux États-Unis, en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas. De jeunes Québécois ont annoncé à leur tour vouloir poursuivre le gouvernement du Canada pour son inaction dans la lutte aux changements climatiques : l’organisme ENvironnement JEUnesse a déposé en novembre une demande d’autorisation à la Cour supérieure du Québec pour une action collective, au nom de tous les jeunes Québécois de 35 ans et moins. »

Agence Science-Presse, 16 janvier 2019

Les enjeux environnementaux dont il est question ici sont intimement liés aux aspects sociaux, juridiques, politiques et surtout économiques de notre société :

« En matière de climat, les changements devront être majeurs si on veut que le réchauffement planétaire ne dépasse pas 2 degrés au cours de ce siècle, mais il faudra aussi des investissements financiers plus conséquents rapportait un récent rapport de 400 pages du Groupe intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC). »

Agence Science-Presse, 28 novembre 2018

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


SONDAGE! Améliorons SCOOP! ensemble!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonné? pour masquer les publicités et voir les guides pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir