Resurgence of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

For several days, the eyes of the world have been on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Why such a resurgence of violence in the Middle East? Insights into a historical conflict with multiple origins.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

For about two months (April and May 2021), the Israeli-Palestinian conflict has resumed enormously.

It had been several years since the situation had deteriorated to this point. The escalation of violence in recent days has left thousands injured and at least 240 dead, most of them Palestinians. Rocket fire did the most damage, both on the side of the Israelis and the Palestinians. Who are the good guys and who are the bad guys in this story? The Government of Canada says it is wholeheartedly with both camps and does not seem to want to get wet for the moment on this issue which has a long history and multiple origins.

It should be noted that the conflict between the Israelis and the Palestinians in the Middle East dates back several decades. Initially, he opposes Jewish nationalism (Zionism) to Palestinian Arab nationalism, while including an important religious dimension, since Israel is predominantly Jewish and Palestinians are predominantly Muslims.

What explains the resurgence of violence? First, the Palestinian deportation processes supported by Israeli law. Concretely, Israelis are stealing houses belonging to Palestinians on the pretext that their families lived in these lands a century ago. Riots followed on the Esplanade des Mosques (a historic site of tension and hatred between Israelis and Palestinians) and clashes with the police. Second, in the face of this violence, Hamas in Gaza (a Palestinian Islamist movement made up of a political branch and an armed branch) decided to send several rockets against the territory of Israel. With tension at its height, all nations across the world are calling for a truce and an immediate ceasefire.

The challenge

The Israeli-Palestinian conflict is complex and several elements must be taken into consideration to fully understand all the ins and outs. To deepen knowledge on the subject, invite the pupils to carry out this quiz available on the Quizizz platform. Since they will be in “practice” mode, they can remove the timer to have time to research each question.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

– 20th century history

  • Name regional conflicts linked to identity assertions

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Developing critical thinking with regard to the use of digital technology
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning

Suggested digital tools

  • Quiz
  • Edpuzzle
  • LearningApps

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to understand the ins and outs of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Objectives of the activities

  • Understanding the resurgence of violence in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
  • Putting in order the causes and consequences of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
  • Know the foundations of the creation of Israel.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Résurgence du conflit israélo-palestinien

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Depuis plusieurs jours, le monde a les yeux tournés vers le conflit israélo-palestinien. Pourquoi un tel regain de violence au Proche-Orient? Regards sur un conflit historique aux origines multiples.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Depuis environ deux mois (avril et mai 2021), le conflit israélo-palestinien a repris énormément d’ampleur.

Cela faisait plusieurs années que la situation ne s’était pas détériorée à ce point. L’escalade de violence des derniers jours s’est soldée par des milliers de blessés et au moins 240 morts, dont une majorité de Palestiniens. Ce sont des tirs de roquettes qui ont fait le plus de dommages, autant du côté des Israéliens que des Palestiniens. Qui sont les gentils et qui sont les méchants dans cette histoire? Le gouvernement du Canada dit être de tout coeur avec les deux camps et ne semble pas vouloir se mouiller pour le moment sur cette question qui a un long historique et de multiples origines.

Il faut savoir que le conflit entre les Israéliens et les Palestiniens au Proche-Orient date de plusieurs dizaines d’années. Au départ, il oppose le nationalisme juif (sionisme) au nationalisme arabe palestinien, tout en incluant une dimension religieuse importante, du fait qu’Israël est majoritairement juif et que les Palestiniens sont majoritairement musulmans.

Qu’est-ce qui explique la résurgence de la violence? Premièrement, les processus d’expulsion des Palestiniens soutenus par la loi israélienne. Concrètement, des Israéliens volent des maisons appartenant aux Palestiniens prétextant que leurs familles habitaient ces terres il y a un siècle. Des émeutes s’en sont suivies sur l’esplanade des Mosquées (lieu historique de tension et de haine entre les Israéliens et les Palestiniens) et des affrontements avec les policiers. Deuxièmement, devant cette violence, le Hamas de Gaza (mouvement islamiste palestinien constitué d’une branche politique et d’une branche armée) a décidé d’envoyer plusieurs roquettes contre le territoire d’Israël. La tension étant à son comble, l’ensemble des nations à travers le monde réclame une trêve et un cessez-le-feu immédiat.

Le défi

Le conflit israélo-palestinien est complexe et plusieurs éléments sont à prendre en considération pour bien en comprendre tous les tenants et aboutissants. Pour approfondir les connaissances sur le sujet, invitez les élèves à réaliser ce quiz disponible sur la plateforme Quizizz. Comme ils seront en mode « pratique », ils peuvent enlever le minuteur pour avoir le temps de faire des recherches à chacune des questions.


 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

Disciplines et niveaux visés

– Histoire 20e siècle

  • Nommer des conflits régionaux liés à des affirmations identitaires

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Développer sa pensée critique à l’égard du numérique
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Quizizz
  • Edpuzzle
  • LearningApps

Intention pédagogique du guide

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves de comprendre les tenants et aboutissants du conflit israélo-palestinien.

Objectifs des activités

  • Comprendre la résurgence de la violence dans le conflit israélo-palestinien.
  • Replacer en ordre les causes et les conséquences du conflit israélo-palestinien.
  • Connaître les fondements de la création d’Israël.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir