ADVERTISEMENT

What are we actually selling in the media?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

In Canada, November 4-8, 2013 is Media Awareness Week. Let's take advantage of this time of the year to make students aware of the omnipresence of advertising and empower them to exercise their critical thinking before endorsing one or another product rather than another.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Young people do not escape the many advertisements that are found everywhere in their environment. They are constantly exposed, sometimes without knowing it, to the big advertising campaigns of the companies of this world. Do they know how to spot misleading ads? Do they recognize the dangers of being exposed to so many commercials everywhere they look? The following activities offer ideas for raising awareness so that they avoid being fooled by catchy jokes or products that their favorite stars profitably endorse.
“The Consumer Protection Act prohibits commercial advertising directed at children under the age of 13. Young people are, however, often exposed to advertising. This awareness campaign therefore fits very well into the important educational mandate of our organization. The tools we offer aim to help young people better understand the messages addressed to them ”.
Source: Consumer protection office
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Exercise critical judgment when viewing advertising messages;
- Recognize stereotypical advertisements;
- Develop media advertising taking into account a target audience;
- Keep written records after viewing an informative video;
- Question your peers to better understand their understanding of stereotypical and adapted advertisements, and those which are misleading.
 


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: Where can we find the advertising?

Question your students so that they can name the different places where they are exposed to advertising. This discussion will allow you to activate their previous knowledge and make them aware that advertising is all around them.
Here are some possible questions:
- What are the places where there is the most advertising?
- Are you influenced by advertising? How? 'Or' What?
- What type of advertising appeals to you the most? Why?
- What type of advertising turns you off? Why?
- Etc.
here are answers that might help to fuel your contextualization.
 

ACTIVITY 2: To be or to appear? Young people facing gender stereotypes

Watch the short movie (24:41) produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) to facilitate a discussion with your students on the stereotypes they face on a daily basis.
Give them a copy of the listening grid (Word version or PDF version) on which they will be able to record keywords throughout the viewing of the video.
As a large group, following the viewing, collect the students' ideas aloud and lead a discussion following the comments they have noted on the listening grid.
This discussion may make them realize that the other students in the class are going through similar media-related situations and that advertising is very subjective to the person exposed to it, for different but equally legitimate reasons. Listening to the perceptions of other young people their age will certainly shed new light on the way they view the consumer products that constantly surround them from a very young age.
 

ACTIVITY 3: What are we actually selling?

Suggest that your students become critics of advertising campaigns! Group them into small work teams in order to generate interesting discussions between them when the time comes to determine which advertisements will be selected according to the selection criteria proposed below.
Ask them to bring different magazines to class so that they can observe the different advertisements in them. You could, if possible, invite them to the computer lab instead of using magazines, so that they scour the web for ad campaigns.
Suggest that they visit the following sites if you can:
The top 10 video ads that left their mark on YouTube in 2012

The selection of the best TV commercials

The advertisement

Their mandate is to find the 3 advertisements (print or video) respecting the following criteria:
a) Stereotypical advertising, that is, advertising that clearly exposes a stereotype related to the sex, age group or age of the target market.
b) Misleading advertising, that is to say advertising a different image of the product that is for sale. The projected image has nothing to do with the product to be sold.
c) A perfect advertisement according to them, that is to say which goes straight to the goal, without stereotypes, and which expresses a clear message to the consumer.
Invite them to make a collage of their advertisements or insert them into word processing software, while remembering to cite the sources of the images. If the activity is done with magazines, display the results in your class and invite the teams to explain the reasons for their choices. If the activity is carried out on the computer, you could have the students' results printed in order to make the same type of feedback as mentioned above (activity with magazines). When the collages are on display, move around the classroom as if you were in an art gallery. Ask the students who observe the bonding of another team to question and compare, if necessary, the choices made according to the 3 criteria proposed at the beginning of the activity. Everything could also be experienced virtually on a class blog, using the comments module.
 

ACTIVITY 4: Creation of an advertisement

Invite your students to develop a media advertisement in the medium of their choice. The most skilful will be able to produce a video montage, otherwise large boxes may very well meet the educational intentions of this activity.
Offer the following avenues for reflection to your students so that they can determine the guidelines to follow when they are in the media image creation process.
a) Who is the target audience for your media product and why?
b) What is the angle you want to use with your media product?
c) What are your intentions or objectives with this media product?
 


More about the magazine

Media Education: Program Get involved!
Bank of educational activities available on the Media Literacy 101 website
The hunt for the pub
Examples: media images
List of resources on Carrefour education

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Que vend-on réellement dans les médias?

Paru le

Classé dans

Les jeunes n’échappent pas aux nombreuses publicités qui se retrouvent partout dans leur environnement. Ils sont constamment exposés, parfois à leur insu, aux grandes campagnes publicitaires des entreprises de ce monde.  Savent-ils comment discerner les publicités trompeuses? Reconnaissent-ils les dangers d’être exposés à autant de messages publicitaires partout où ils posent les yeux? Les activités suivantes offrent des idées pour les sensibiliser afin qu’ils évitent de se laisser berner par les ritournelles accrocheuses ou par des produits que leurs vedettes préférées endossent lucrativement.
« La Loi sur la protection du consommateur interdit la publicité à but commercial destinée aux enfants de moins de 13 ans. Les jeunes sont néanmoins souvent exposés à la publicité. Cette campagne de sensibilisation s’insère donc très bien dans l’important mandat d’éducation de notre organisme. Les outils que nous proposons ont pour objectif d’aider les jeunes à mieux comprendre les messages qui leur sont adressés ».
Source : Office de la protection du consommateur
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
–       Exercer son jugement critique en visionnant des messages publicitaires;
–       Reconnaitre les publicités stéréotypées;
–       Élaborer une publicité médiatique en tenant compte d’un public visé;
–       Garder des traces écrites suite au visionnement d’une vidéo informative;
–       Questionner ses pairs pour mieux cerner leur compréhension des publicités stéréotypées, adaptées, et celles qui sont trompeuses.
 


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Où retrouve-t-on la publicité?

Questionnez vos élèves afin qu’ils puissent nommer les différents endroits où ils sont exposés à la publicité. Cette discussion vous permettra d’activer leurs connaissances antérieures et de leur faire prendre conscience que la publicité est partout autour d’eux.
Voici des pistes de questionnement possible :
– Quels sont les endroits où il y a le plus de publicité?
– Êtes vous influencés par la publicité? Comment?
– Quel type de publicité vous interpelle le plus? Pourquoi?
– Quel type de publicité vous rebute? Pourquoi?
– Etc.
Voici des pistes de réponses qui pourraient aider à alimenter votre mise en contexte.
 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Être ou paraître? Les jeunes face aux stéréotypes sexuels

Visionnez le court film (24:41) produit par l’Office national du film du Canada (ONF) afin d’animer une discussion avec vos élèves sur les stéréotypes auxquels ils font face au quotidien.
Distribuez-leur une copie de la grille d’écoute (version Word ou version PDF) sur laquelle ils pourront consigner des mots-clés tout au long du visionnement de la vidéo.
En grand groupe, suite au visionnement, recueillez les idées des élèves à voix haute et animez une discussion suite aux propos qu’ils auront notés sur la grille d’écoute.
Cette discussion leur fera peut-être réaliser que les autres élèves de la classe vivent des situations similaires reliées aux médias et que la publicité est très subjective pour celui ou celle qui y est exposée, et ce, pour des raisons différentes mais tout aussi légitimes.  Écouter les perceptions des autres jeunes de leur âge apportera très certainement un éclairage nouveau sur leur façon de regarder les produits de consommation qui les entourent constamment depuis leur tout jeune âge.
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Que vend-on réellement?

Proposez à vos élèves de devenir des critiques de campagnes publicitaires!  Regroupez-les en petites équipes de travail afin de susciter des discussions intéressantes entre eux lorsque viendra le temps de déterminer quelles publicités seront retenues selon les critères de sélection proposés ici-bas.
Demandez-leur d’apporter différents magazines en classe afin qu’ils puissent y observer les différentes publicités qui s’y trouvent.  Vous pourriez, si c’est possible, les inviter à se rendre au laboratoire informatique au lieu d’utiliser des magazines, afin qu’ils parcourent le Web à la recherche de campagnes publicitaires.
Suggérez-leur de visiter les sites suivants si vous le pouvez :
Le top 10 des publicités vidéo qui ont marqué YouTube en 2012

La sélection des meilleures publicités TV

La réclame

Leur mandat est de trouver les 3 publicités (imprimée ou vidéo) respectant les critères suivants :
a)    Une publicité stéréotypée, c’est-à-dire qui expose clairement un stéréotype relié au sexe, au groupe d’âge ou relié à l’âge du marché ciblé.
b)    Une publicité trompeuse, c’est-à-dire qui propose une image différente du produit qui est à vendre.  L’image projetée n’a rien à voir avec le produit à vendre.
c)    Une publicité parfaite selon eux, c’est-à-dire qui va direct au but, sans stéréotype, et qui exprime un message clair au consommateur.
Invitez-les à réaliser un collage de leurs publicités ou de les insérer dans un logiciel de traitement de texte, tout en n’oubliant pas de citer les sources des images.  Si l’activité est réalisée avec des magazines, exposez les résultats dans votre classe et invitez les équipes à expliquer les raisons qui ont motivé leurs choix.  Si l’activité est réalisée à l’ordinateur, vous pourriez faire imprimer les résultats des élèves afin de faire le même type de retour que cité précédemment (activité avec les magazines).  Lorsque les collages seront exposés, circulez dans la classe comme si vous étiez dans une galerie d’art.  Demandez aux élèves qui observent le collage d’une autre équipe de questionner et de confronter, au besoin,  les choix effectués selon les 3 critères proposés au début de l’activité.  Le tout pourrait aussi se vivre virtuellement sur un blogue de classe, en utilisant le module de commentaires.
 

ACTIVITÉ 4 : Création d’une publicité

Invitez vos élèves à élaborer une publicité médiatique sur le médium de leur choix.  Les plus habiles pourront réaliser un montage vidéo, sinon de grands cartons pourront très bien répondre aux intentions pédagogiques de cette activité.
Offrez les pistes de réflexion suivantes à vos élèves afin qu’ils puissent bien déterminer les balises à respecter lorsqu’ils seront en processus de création d’image médiatique.
a) Quel est le public cible de votre produit médiatique et pourquoi?
b) Quel est l’angle que vous souhaitez utiliser avec votre produit médiatique?
c) Quels sont vos intentions ou les objectifs visés avec ce produit médiatique?
 


Pour en savoir plus

Éducation aux médias : Programme Impliquez-vous!
Banque d’activités pédagogiques proposées sur le site de Éducation aux médias 101
La chasse à la pub
Des exemples : les images médiatiques
Liste de ressources sur Carrefour éducation

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Barbie et Ken dénoncent les conditions de fabrication des jouets

A l’approche de la période des Fêtes, une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) en Suisse a trouvé une façon originale de dénoncer les conditions de fabrication des jouets en Chine. Voyons ce qu’ils ont organisé!

Le pont Jacques-Cartier s’illumine !

Dès le 17 mai, le pont Jacques-Cartier s'illuminera tous les soirs dans le cadre des festivités du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de la Ville de Montréal et du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne.

Le Grand Nord aux premières loges du réchauffement climatique

Tuktoyaktuk est un hameau inuit situé complètement au nord des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ce village de moins de 1000 habitants est menacé de disparaître à tout moment. Là-bas, dans le Grand Nord, le réchauffement climatique est loin d'être un concept abstrait (comme certains le disent encore) et c'est une communauté entière qui risque d'être engouffrée par la prochaine grosse vague.