When sexuality meets digital: let's talk about sexting!

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Sexting is now part of the reality of young people in the 21st century. It is a fact and it is not tomorrow the day before that that will change. Prevention and modeling then play a primordial role, in the perspective that adults must teach the right behaviors to adopt in order to minimize any unnecessary risk. Thinking about stopping sexting is clearly a utopia, but educating young people and making them aware of the dangers they can run if necessary, it is exactly in this context that the participation of the school community is essential.

In 2007, an invention was going to upset the social habits of a lot of people on the planet and I named the iPhone. Indeed, the appearance of the smart phone combined with many applications offering the possibility of interacting with anyone across the world were going to change relationships between humans forever.

The relationship to sexuality is one of these changes that have taken place thanks to technology and there are now different means for young and old. to express their desires digitally.

“Teens are having less sex than before, but the sending of erotic messages is on the rise. Parents need to recognize that their children are now expressing their sexual behavior this way, through their phones, notes Sheri Madigan. "

Source: News, February 8, 2019

The sense of intimacy that people using apps to exchange videos, photos or erotic texts can feel is in fact just a mirage. There has never been as much exposure of privacy as there is now, due to the negligence, naivety, ignorance, malice or impulsiveness of those involved. 

"Nearly one in four young people who are asked for sexual photos agree to send them, a proportion that climbs to one in two at the age of 15 and 16 […]"

Source: TVA Nouvelles, December 21, 2018

Sexting is now part of the reality of young people in the 21st century. It is a fact and it is not tomorrow the day before that that will change. Prevention and modeling then play an essential role, with the view that adults must teach the right behaviors to adopt in order to minimize any unnecessary risk. Thinking about stopping sexting is clearly a utopia, but educating young people and making them aware of the dangers they can run if necessary, it is exactly in this context that the participation of the school community is essential.

“Adolescents live with their phone and don't necessarily see the dangers associated with it,” recalls the researcher. The tool should not be demonized, however, but rather the careful and thoughtful use of technology among young people. If there is more education for young people, we can think that there will be even fewer young people who will share this type of photos, concludes Ms. Beaumont. "

Source: TVA Nouvelles, December 21, 2018

The educational tracks are reserved for teachers subscribed to SCOOP !, by the École branchée.

if you are already a subscriber or learn more here!

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Quand la sexualité rencontre le numérique : parlons sexto!

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Les sextos font maintenant partie de la réalité des jeunes du 21e siècle. C'est un fait et ce n'est pas demain la veille que cela changera. La prévention et le modelage viennent alors jouer un rôle primordial, dans l'optique où les adultes se doivent d'enseigner les bons comportements à adopter pour minimiser tout risque inutile. Penser enrayer les sextos est clairement une utopie, mais éduquer les jeunes et les conscientiser aux dangers qu'ils peuvent encourir le cas échéant, c'est exactement dans ce contexte que la participation du milieu scolaire est essentielle.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

En 2007, une invention allait venir chambouler les habitudes sociales d’énormément de gens sur la planète et j’ai nommé le iPhone. En effet, l’apparition du téléphone intelligent combinée à de nombreuses applications offrant la possibilité d’interagir avec n’importe qui à travers le monde allaient changer à tout jamais les rapports entre humains.

Le rapport à la sexualité fait partie de ces changements qui se sont opérés grâce à la technologie et il existe maintenant différents moyens pour les jeunes ou les moins jeunes d’exprimer leurs envies de façon numérique.

« Les adolescents ont moins de relations sexuelles qu’auparavant, mais l’envoi de messages érotiques est en hausse. Les parents doivent reconnaître que leurs enfants expriment maintenant leur comportement sexuel de cette façon, par le biais de leur téléphone, note Sheri Madigan. »

Source : L’actualité, 8 février 2019

L’impression d’intimité que peuvent ressentir les gens utilisant des applications pour s’échanger des vidéos, des photos ou des textos érotiques n’est en fait qu’un mirage. Il n’y a jamais eu autant d’exposition de la vie privée qu’en ce moment, à cause de la négligence, la naïveté, l’ignorance, la malveillance ou l’impulsivité des personnes impliquées. 

« Près d’un jeune sur quatre qui se fait demander des photos à caractère sexuel accepte d’en envoyer, une proportion qui grimpe à un sur deux à l’âge de 15 et 16 ans […] »

Source : TVA Nouvelles, 21 décembre 2018

Les sextos font maintenant partie de la réalité des jeunes du 21e siècle. C’est un fait et ce n’est pas demain la veille que cela changera. La prévention et le modelage viennent alors jouer un rôle primordial, dans l’optique où les adultes se doivent d’enseigner les bons comportements à adopter pour minimiser tout risque inutile. Penser enrayer les sextos est clairement une utopie, mais éduquer les jeunes et les conscientiser aux dangers qu’ils peuvent encourir le cas échéant, c’est exactement dans ce contexte que la participation du milieu scolaire est essentielle.

« Les adolescents vivent avec leur téléphone et ne voient pas nécessairement les dangers qui y sont reliés, rappelle la chercheuse. Il ne faut toutefois pas diaboliser l’outil, mais plutôt insister sur une utilisation prudente et réfléchie des technologies chez les jeunes. S’il y a plus d’éducation qui est faite auprès des jeunes, on peut penser qu’il y aura encore moins de jeunes qui partageront ce type de photos, conclut Mme Beaumont. »

Source : TVA Nouvelles, 21 décembre 2018

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir