Why should we avoid gatherings at Christmas?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The issue of illegal gatherings during the holiday season is of great concern to healthcare workers. Why should Christmas gatherings be avoided at all costs? Thoughts and answers in this guide.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

From four, to two, to no gathering authorized for the holiday period, the Quebec government had to adjust to the health crisis which is constantly growing. It is therefore forbidden to leave your family bubble at Christmas to meet uncles, aunts, cousins, grandparents and friends.

In addition to canceling festive gatherings, stores deemed non-essential will be closed for two weeks from December 25 and students will not return to school in attendance until January 11. You will find here all the details on this holiday break.

Despite the encouraging news of the vaccination operation which has started (for this purpose, you will find here ten questions and answers to understand vaccination against COVID-19), the crisis is far from over. On average, 102 Canadians have died from COVID-19 every day since December 1. More and more patients are being hospitalized. If the trend continues, more than 3,400 Canadians will spend Christmas in hospital because of the virus, a record. Some of them will not come out alive and the arrival of a vaccine cannot change anything unfortunately.

This is why it is essential to follow the instructions of the government. We must avoid gathering together so as not to infect those most vulnerable or at risk of complications. According to some studies, for a person with symptoms, ten could be asymptomatic. No one wants to be the one who transmits the virus without knowing it to Grandma or Grandpa at Christmas ...

You will find here an interactive infographic which demonstrates why Christmas had to be canceled this year. Students can write down the name of their region and compare it to others across Canada.

A challenge

What digital tools could students use to communicate and keep in touch with loved ones who are not part of the same family bubble during the holidays? Zoom to be “live” with everyone during Christmas dinner? Clips to quickly and easily create a small video of wishes for 2021? Vocaroo to record a heartwarming voice message for your family? Can go to create a cute Christmas card to email or text to all the students' friends?

Their choices will be the right ones. Because kindness has never been more important than right now...


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

- Ethics and Religious Culture

  • Many themes can be exploited:
    • autonomy
    • the social order
    • human ambivalence

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Producing content with digital
  • Communicate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Edpuzzle
  • LearningApps
  • Flipgrid

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to reflect on the conditions of autonomy: critical judgement, common sense, moral responsibility, the ability to choose, authenticity, etc. in connection with the "holiday break" announced by the government.

Objectives of the activities

  • Become aware of the risks associated with gatherings during the holiday season.
  • Test your knowledge of COVID-19 and health measures.
  • Using a video, share his state of mind in these difficult times.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Pourquoi faut-il éviter les rassemblements à Noël?

Paru / Mis à jour le

La question des rassemblements illégaux pendant le temps des Fêtes inquiète beaucoup le personnel de la santé. Pourquoi faut-il à tout prix éviter les rassemblements à Noël? Réflexions et réponses dans ce guide.
 

De quatre, à deux, jusqu’à aucun rassemblement autorisé pour la période des Fêtes, le gouvernement du Québec a dû s’ajuster devant la crise sanitaire qui prend constamment de l’ampleur. Il est donc interdit de sortir de sa bulle familiale à Noël pour aller à la rencontre des oncles, tantes, cousins, cousines, grands-papas, grand-mamans et amis.

En plus d’annuler les rassemblements festifs, les magasins jugés non essentiels seront fermés pour deux semaines à partir du 25 décembre et les élèves ne retourneront pas en présence à l’école avant le 11 janvier. Tu trouveras ici tous les détails sur cette pause du temps des Fêtes.

Malgré les nouvelles encourageantes de l’opération vaccination qui a débuté (à cet effet, tu trouveras ici dix questions et réponses pour comprendre la vaccination contre la COVID-19), la crise est loin d’être terminée . En moyenne, 102 Canadiens meurent de la COVID-19 chaque jour depuis le 1er décembre. Les malades sont de plus en plus nombreux à être hospitalisés. Si la tendance se maintient, plus de 3400 Canadiens passeront Noël à l’hôpital à cause du virus, un record. Une partie d’entre eux n’en sortiront pas vivants et l’arrivée d’un vaccin ne pourra rien y changer malheureusement.

Voilà pourquoi il est essentiel de respecter les consignes du gouvernement. Il faut éviter de se rassembler pour ne pas contaminer les personnes les plus vulnérables ou à risque de complications. Selon certaines études, pour une personne avec des symptômes, dix pourraient être asymptomatiques. Personne ne veut être celui ou celle qui transmet le virus sans le savoir à grand-maman ou à grand-papa à Noël…

Tu trouveras ici une infographie interactive qui démontre bien pourquoi Noël a dû être annulé cette année. Tu peux y inscrire le nom de ta région et la comparer aux autres à travers le Canada. Et rappelle-toi que ce n’est qu’un seul Noël dans toute ta vie… Si chacun fait un effort maintenant, le retour à la vie normale ne se fera que plus rapidement.

Ton défi

Quels outils numériques pourrais-tu utiliser pour communiquer et garder le lien avec tes proches qui ne font pas partie de ta bulle familiale durant les Fêtes? Zoom pour être « live » avec tout le monde durant le souper de Noël? Clips pour créer rapidement et facilement une petite vidéo de souhaits pour 2021? Vocaroo pour enregistrer un message vocal réconfortant pour ta famille? Canva pour créer une jolie carte de Noël à envoyer par courriel ou par texto à tous tes amis?

Ton choix sera le bon. Parce que la bienveillance n’a jamais été aussi importante qu’en ce moment…


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!