Is our society more polarized than ever?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

January 6, 2021. A sad date in the history of the United States. The attack on the Capitol will have marked the spirits in various ways; among other things, through the operationalization of this polarization which is raging more and more violently among our neighbors to the South. Insights into the sources of polarization in our society and how to avoid falling into the trap.
 

Are you more “left” or “right”? For or against the health measures imposed by the government? What do you think of immigration? Pro or anti-vaccine against COVID-19?

Several questions that you may have already answered tend to strike a chord with some people. While the majority of the population is able to discuss it respectfully, a minority is closed to any opinion contrary to its own, going so far as to take extreme means to assert its convictions.

This phenomenon, exacerbated by social networks, is called polarization. Do you have the impression that there are more and more people who are shouting out loud that they no longer want to respect the rules by openly defying the authorities? Do you have the impression that there are more and more verbal and physical confrontations during differences of opinion or belief?

This polarization reached a point of no return in the United States on January 6, 2021. Attack by Trump supporters on Capitol Hill, symbol of democracy in the United States, was the culmination of thousands of radicals desperate to stop the procedures leading to the confirmation of the victory of Joe Biden as president. The riot came after weeks of tension marked by speeches by Donald Trump repeating that the election results are a fraud. On January 6, speaking directly to the radical branch of his supporters, Trump said: "We are going to Capitol Hill, we are going to take back our country."

New evidence suggests that some of the attackers may have planned to kidnap elected officials. Two accused men were indeed equipped with plastic handcuffs. Several clues suggest that this event was planned and organized. A death toll of five added to this already very dark day in American history, and for democracy in general. A second impeachment procedure against Donald Trump was set in motion by the Democrats, accusing him of inciting violence during the events on Capitol Hill on January 6, 2021. If Trump is found guilty, he could not therefore no longer represent himself in 2024 and would lose all his privileges as former president. Not to mention that he was banned for an indefinite period of social networks Twitter, Facebook and Instagram! To be continued…

Your challenge

These extremely violent events made us all react. The images and videos documenting the assault on Capitol Hill are particularly disturbing. Your challenge is to write in a few lines how you feel about everything that happened on January 6, 2021 in the United States. What feelings do you have in front of these images? How do you feel when you hear Donald Trump go against democracy and respect for institutions? Do you think that Quebec and Canada are immune to this kind of polarization?


 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Notre société est-elle plus polarisée que jamais?

Paru / Mis à jour le

6 janvier 2021. Une triste date dans l'Histoire des États-Unis. L'attaque contre le Capitole aura marqué les esprits de diverses façons; entre autres par l'opérationnalisation de cette polarisation qui sévit de plus en plus violemment chez nos voisins du Sud. Regards sur les sources de polarisation dans notre société et sur comment éviter de tomber dans le piège.
 

Es-tu plus de « gauche » ou de « droite »? Pour ou contre les mesures sanitaires imposées par le gouvernement? Que penses-tu de l’immigration? Pro ou anti-vaccin contre la COVID-19?

Plusieurs questions auxquelles tu as déjà peut-être répondu ont tendance à toucher une corde sensible chez certaines personnes. Pendant que la majorité de la population est en mesure d’en discuter de façon respectueuse, une minorité est fermée à toute opinion contraire à la sienne, en allant jusqu’à prendre des moyens extrêmes pour faire valoir ses convictions.

Ce phénomène, exacerbé par les réseaux sociaux, se nomme la polarisation. As-tu l’impression qu’il y a de plus en plus de gens qui crient haut et fort qu’ils ne veulent plus respecter les règles en défiant ouvertement les autorités? As-tu l’impression qu’il y a de plus en plus d’affrontements verbaux et physiques lors de divergences d’opinions ou de convictions?

Cette polarisation a atteint un point de non-retour aux États-Unis le 6 janvier 2021. L’attaque des partisans de Trump contre le Capitole, symbole de démocratie aux États-Unis, a été le point culminant de milliers de radicaux prêts à tout pour arrêter les procédures menant à la confirmation de la victoire de Joe Biden comme président. L’émeute a eu lieu après des semaines de tensions marquées par des discours de Donald Trump répétant que les résultats de l’élection sont une fraude. Le 6 janvier, en s’adressant directement à la branche radicale de ses partisans, Trump a déclaré : « Nous allons au Capitole, nous allons reprendre notre pays ».

De nouveaux éléments laissent entendre que certains des assaillants avaient peut-être pour projet d’enlever des élus. Deux hommes inculpés étaient en effet équipés de menottes en plastique. Plusieurs indices laissent croire que cet événement était planifié et organisé. Un bilan de cinq morts est venu alourdir encore davantage cette journée déjà très sombre de l’Histoire américaine, et pour la démocratie en général. Une deuxième procédure de destitution à l’endroit de Donald Trump a été mise en branle par les démocrates, l’accusant d’avoir incité à la violence lors des événements du Capitole le 6 janvier 2021. Si Trump est reconnu coupable, il ne pourrait donc plus se représenter en 2024 et perdrait tous ses privilèges d’ancien président. Sans oublier qu’il a été banni pour une période indéterminée des réseaux sociaux Twitter, Facebook et Instagram! À suivre…

Ton défi

Ces événements d’une grande violence nous ont tous fait réagir. Les images et vidéos qui documentent l’assaut contre le Capitole sont particulièrement troublantes. Ton défi est d’écrire en quelques lignes ce que tu ressens face à tout ce qui s’est passé le 6 janvier 2021 aux États-Unis. Quels sentiments t’habitent devant ces images? Comment te sens-tu quand tu entends Donald Trump aller à l’encontre de la démocratie et du respect des institutions? Penses-tu que le Québec et le Canada sont à l’abri de ce genre de polarisation?


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!