The Canada jellyfish, national bird

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

On the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation in 2017, the country's national bird was officially unveiled through an online vote. Let's take a closer look at the characteristics of Canada's chickadee.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Canada is home to over 450 species of birds. Yet none of them had the title of national bird until 2015. That year, the team of editors at Canadian Geographic decided it was time to do something about it! So, together with The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, they arranged for the nomination to be made official before 2017, the 150th anniversary of Confederation.

Robin Icons gratuit

In the popular vote, the common loon finished in first place with 13,995 votes, and the snowy owl came in second with 8,938. With 7918 votes, the chickadee won the bronze medal from the public, but was still the final choice of the Geographical Society of Canada, explained La Presse.

The chickadee, also known as the "Canada Jay" or "Gray Jay", is found in the boreal forests of all Canadian provinces and territories, but nowhere else on the planet. The chickadee was chosen by a special committee over other candidates suggested by Canadians in a large survey that attracted nearly 50,000 online votes.

Source: The duty

The following activities will allow students to learn more about the Canadian chickadee as well as other birds from America, Europe, Asia, etc.


 

Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:

- Explain the selection process for Canada's national bird;
- Compare different species of birds around the world;
- Know the characteristics (habitat, song, etc.) of several birds of the world;
- Create a visual graph from popular vote data.


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: National Bird Project

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Le mésangeai du Canada, oiseau national

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

À l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne en 2017, l’oiseau national du pays a été officiellement dévoilé par l’entremise d’un vote en ligne. Voyons de plus près les caractéristiques du mésangeai du Canada.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Le Canada abrite plus de 450 espèces d’oiseaux. Pourtant, aucune d’elles n’avait le titre d’oiseau national avant 2015. Cette année-là, l’équipe de rédacteurs du magazine Canadian Geographic a décidé qu’il était grand temps de remédier à la situation! Ils ont donc, avec la Société géographique royale du Canada, organisé la nomination afin qu’elle soit officialisée avant 2017, année du 150e anniversaire de la confédération.

Robin Icons gratuit

Au vote populaire, le plongeon huard a terminé en première place avec 13 995 votes, et le harfang des neiges en deuxième position avec 8938. Avec ses 7918 votes, le mésangeai décrochait la médaille de bronze du public, mais a tout de même été le choix final de la Société Géographique du Canada, expliquait alors La Presse.

Le mésangeai, également appelé « geai du Canada » ou « geai gris », se trouve dans les forêts boréales de tous les territoires et provinces canadiens, mais nulle part ailleurs sur la planète. Le mésangeai a été préféré, par un comité spécial, aux autres candidats suggérés par les Canadiens dans le cadre d’un grand sondage ayant attiré près de 50 000 votes en ligne.

Source : Le Devoir

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves de mieux connaître le mésangeai du Canada ainsi que d’autres oiseaux d’Amérique, d’Europe, d’Asie, etc.


 

Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :

– Expliquer le processus de sélection de l’oiseau national du Canada;
– Comparer différentes espèces d’oiseaux dans le monde;
– Connaître les caractéristiques (habitat, chant, etc.) de plusieurs oiseaux du monde;
– Créer un graphique visuel à partir des données du vote populaire.


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : ‪ Projet d’oiseau national‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir