Add to favorites (0)

Every six months, the Presidency of the Council of the European Union (EU) changes. In turn, the member states follow one another in this capacity. 1er January 2013, it was therefore Ireland's turn to take up the torch, succeeding Cyprus. She is the first of her trio since she will work jointly with Lithuania, which will take over from 1er July, and Greece, which will hold the presidency in January 2014. This way of working ensures a certain continuity of initiatives for 18 months.
2013 marks the fortieth anniversary of the EU membership of Ireland, which is assuming its presidency for the seventh time.
The following activities will help students learn more about Ireland and the challenges it faces in this important mandate.


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- give general information about Ireland;
- compare the role of the permanent president of the Council of the European Union and the role of the rotating presidency of the member states;
- list the challenges facing the Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union.


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: What exactly is going on?

Invite students to learn about the topic by reading these articles:
Dublin takes over the Presidency of the European Union
Le Figaro. The last time Ireland seized the rotating presidency in 2004, it triumphed under the label of 'Celtic Tiger' and sponsored the largest enlargement in EU history: ten countries, mostly from the East, and 75 million Europeans absorbed suddenly. Nine years later, the perspective is drastically reversed.
Ireland wants growth-oriented EU presidency
Point. Ireland will be the first nation to take over the presidency of the European Union on January 1, an opportunity which this country often described as a "good student" wants to use to promote growth and jobs. which remain at home fragile.

Suggestions: reading aloud, reading individually or in a small group followed by a summary to the rest of the class, etc.

ACTIVITY 2: Ireland's challenges

During the six months of its presidency, Denmark faces many challenges. Which are they?
Write on the board any questions from students that remain, or any clarifications that need to be provided. Then challenge students to find these answers on their own, giving them time.

For further

What is the role of the permanent president of the European Council in relation to the rotating presidency of the member states?


More about the magazine

Irish Presidency website
The official Irish Presidency information portal.

The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Tous les six mois, la présidence du Conseil de l’Union européenne (UE) change. À tour de rôle, les états membres se succèdent à ce titre. Le 1er janvier 2013, c’était donc le tour de l’Irlande de prendre le flambeau, succédant à Chypre. Elle est la première de son trio puisqu’elle travaillera conjointement avec la Lituanie, qui prendra la relève dès le 1er juillet, et la Grèce, qui tiendra la présidence en janvier 2014. Cette façon de fonctionner assure une certaine continuité des initiatives pour 18 mois.
2013 marque le quarantième anniversaire de l’adhésion à l’UE de l’Irlande, qui en assume la présidence pour la septième fois.
Les activités qui suivent permettront aux élèves de mieux connaître l’Irlande ainsi que les défis qui se posent à elle dans le cadre de ce mandat important.


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– donner des informations générales sur l’Irlande;
– comparer le rôle du président permanent du Conseil de l’Union européenne et le rôle de la présidence tournante des Etats membres;
– énumérer des défis auxquels doit faire face la présidence irlandaise au Conseil de l’Union européenne.


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Que se passe-t-il exactement?

Invitez les élèves à prendre connaissance du sujet en consultant ces articles :
Dublin prend la présidence de l’Union européenne
Le Figaro. La dernière fois que l’Irlande a saisi la présidence tournante en 2004, elle triomphait sous l’étiquette de «Tigre celtique» et patronnait le plus vaste élargissement de l’histoire de l’UE: dix pays, de l’Est surtout, et 75 millions d’Européens absorbés d’un coup. Neuf ans plus tard, la perspective est rigoureusement inversée.
L’Irlande veut une présidence de l’UE tournée vers la croissance
Le Point. L’Irlande sera le 1er janvier la première nation bénéficiaire d’un plan de sauvetage à prendre la présidence de l’Union européenne, une occasion dont ce pays souvent qualifié de « bon élève » veut se servir pour promouvoir la croissance et l’emploi qui restent chez lui fragiles.

Suggestions : lecture à voix haute, lecture personnelle ou en petit groupe suivie d’un résumé au reste de la classe, etc.

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Les défis de l’Irlande

Pendant les six mois de sa présidence, le Danemark doit faire face à de nombreux défis à relever. Lesquels sont-ils ?
Notez au tableau les questions des élèves qui demeurent, ou les précisions qui restent à apporter. Puis, mettez les élèves au défi de trouver par eux-mêmes ces réponses en leur laissant le temps qu’il faut.

Pour aller plus loin

Quel est le rôle du président permanent du Conseil européen par rapport à la présidence tournante des Etats membres?


Pour en savoir plus

Site de la présidence irlandaise
Le portail officiel d’information sur la présidence irlandaise.

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.