Eco-epidemiology

Published / Updated on

For several years, environmentalists, scientists, farmers and other concerned groups have sounded the alarm: the exchange of germs is much more frequent than in the past. They notice that a new infection appears every 14 to 16 months. The conditions for these infections to develop, transmit and remain active are increasingly favorable. Insights into eco-epidemiology, an emerging discipline that focuses on environmental factors influencing disease transmission.
 

For several years, environmentalists, scientists, farmers and other concerned groups have sounded the alarm: the exchange of germs is much more frequent than in the past. They notice that a new infection appears every 14 to 16 months. The conditions for these infections to develop, transmit and remain active are increasingly favorable.

While learning about COVID-19, you may have read or heard of "zoonoses". We were probably trying to explain the origin of this coronavirus which is causing the current pandemic. Zoonoses are diseases and infections whose agents are naturally transmitted from vertebrate animals to humans, and vice versa. In the case of COVID-19, the virus would have been transmitted from bats or pangolin to humans.

It is relevant to let our curiosity dwell on the eco-epidemiology which includes zoonoses. Eco-epidemiology (or environmental epidemiology) is concerned with the environmental factors that influence the transmission of diseases. We are talking about the influence of one animal to another, from animal to human, from human to animal, and we also include plants and all the surrounding ecology. 

First, what kinds of diseases are we referring to? We are talking about diseases or germs that need a reservoir to develop and be transmitted. The reservoir can be a human, an animal, an insect, water, soil. These germs can develop in the form of viruses (e.g .: COVID-19, AIDS), bacteria (e.g .: meningitis, tetanus, cholera, Lyme disease), parasites (e.g .: pediculosis (louse), malaria, pinworm, ringworm) or prions (abnormal proteins that cause infectious diseases such as scrapie).

These germs therefore develop in reservoirs. Humans take up a lot of space on the planet; destroying animal habitats, polluting waterways, gathering large concentrations of animals for agriculture, moving contaminated goods from one continent to another, traveling to discover beautiful places ... human therefore unwittingly creates very favorable conditions for the propagation of germs. And then, we can also add global warming, which forces many animals to change their habits and move around in order to survive.

In Quebec, we are not immune to these germs. We only have to think of those who walk in schools: lice, pinworms, gastro, colds, chickenpox ... And if we walk in the forest, we must be careful of ticks which can be reservoirs of the disease. Lyme.

All these germs have a variable lifespan and require a reservoir to continue their transmission. To protect yourself, you have to break the chain. In the case of COVID-19, containment is one way to prevent the virus from spreading to each other. It is also essential to adopt a healthy hygiene by washing your hands regularly for example. We need to study eco-epidemiological phenomena to understand what allows organisms to become reservoirs and to see how germs are transmitted. 

You will have understood that, germs, there have always been and there will always be! A better understanding of the causes therefore helps us to control epidemics, to put in place measures to avoid them or, at least, to reduce their consequences with vaccines and drugs. We then realize that it is necessary to inform as many people as possible so that future decisions are united and limit the transmission of germs in order to maintain a balance in ecosystems.

Your challenge

Using Scratch Junior or from Scratch, have fun creating (coding) the path that a germ can take in its environment by being transmitted to other reservoirs. 

 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

L’éco-épidémiologie

Paru le

 

Depuis plusieurs années, environnementalistes, scientifiques, agriculteurs et autres groupes inquiets sonnent l’alarme : les échanges de germes sont beaucoup plus fréquents qu’autrefois. Ils remarquent qu’une nouvelle infection fait son apparition tous les 14 à 16 mois. Les conditions pour que ces infections se développent, se transmettent et demeurent actives sont de plus en plus favorables.

En t’informant sur la COVID-19, tu as peut-être lu ou entendu parler de « zoonoses ». On essayait probablement d’expliquer la provenance de ce coronavirus qui provoque la pandémie actuelle. Les zoonoses sont des maladies et des infections dont les agents se transmettent naturellement des animaux vertébrés à l’être humain, et vice-versa. Dans le cas de la COVID-19, le virus se serait transmis de la chauve-souris ou du pangolin vers l’humain.

Il est pertinent de laisser notre curiosité s’attarder sur l’éco-épidémiologie qui englobe les zoonoses. L’éco-épidémiologie (ou épidémiologie environnementale) s’intéresse aux facteurs environnementaux qui exercent une influence sur la transmission de maladies. On parle d’influence d’un animal à un autre, de l’animal à l’humain, de l’humain à l’animal, et on englobe aussi les végétaux et toute l’écologie environnante. 

D’abord, à quelles sortes de maladies faisons-nous référence? On parle de maladies ou de germes qui ont besoin d’un réservoir pour se développer et se transmettre. Le réservoir peut être un humain, un animal, un insecte, l’eau, le sol. Ces germes peuvent se développer sous forme de virus (ex.: COVID-19, SIDA), de bactéries (ex.: méningite, tétanos, choléra, maladie de Lyme), de parasites (ex.: pédiculose (pou), paludisme, oxyurose, teigne) ou de prions (protéines anormales qui causent des maladies infectieuses comme la tremblante du mouton).

Ces germes se développent donc dans des réservoirs. L’humain prend beaucoup de place sur la planète; en détruisant les habitats des animaux, polluant les cours d’eau, rassemblant de grandes concentrations d’animaux pour l’agriculture, déplaçant de la marchandise contaminée d’un continent à un autre, voyageant à la découverte d’endroits magnifiques… L’humain crée donc, sans le vouloir, des conditions très favorables à la propagation de germes. Et puis, on peut aussi ajouter le réchauffement de la planète qui force plusieurs animaux à changer leurs habitudes et à se déplacer pour pouvoir survivre.

Au Québec, nous ne sommes pas à l’abri de ces germes. Nous n’avons qu’à penser à ceux qui se promènent dans les écoles : poux, oxyures, gastros, rhumes, varicelles… Et si on se marche en forêt, il faut faire attention aux tiques qui peuvent être des réservoirs de la maladie de Lyme.

Tous ces germes ont une durée de vie variable et nécessitent un réservoir pour continuer leur transmission. Pour se protéger, il faut rompre la chaîne. Dans le cas de la COVID-19, le confinement est une façon d’empêcher le virus de se transmettre des uns aux autres. Il est aussi capital d’adopter une hygiène saine en se lavant les mains régulièrement par exemple. Il faut étudier les phénomènes éco-épidémiologiques pour comprendre ce qui permet aux organismes de devenir des réservoirs et voir comment les germes se transmettent. 

Tu auras compris que, les germes, il y en a toujours eu et il y en aura toujours! Une meilleure compréhension des causes nous aide donc à contrôler les épidémies, à mettre en place des mesures pour les éviter ou, du moins, en réduire les conséquences avec des vaccins et des médicaments. On prend alors conscience qu’il est nécessaire d’informer le plus de gens possible afin que les décisions futures soient solidaires et qu’elles limitent la transmission des germes pour maintenir un équilibre des écosystèmes.

Ton défi

À l’aide de Scratch Junior ou de Scratch, amuse-toi à créer (coder) le chemin qu’un germe peut prendre dans son environnement en se transmettant à d’autres réservoirs. 

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

2017 une année festive

L’année 2017 s’annonce festive au Québec puisque plusieurs anniversaires seront célébrés cette année. Notamment, la ville de Montréal souligne son 375e anniversaire de fondation tut comme le Canada en entier qui fête les 150 ans de la Confédération, c’est-à-dire la création du pays. Voyons de plus près les activités au programme et profitons-en pour replonger dans l’histoire canadienne et montréalaise.

L’Émeute de 1918 à Québec

Le 1er avril 1918, une manifestation contre la conscription, dans la Basse-Ville de Québec, tourne à l’émeute. La forte présence militaire dans la ville n’aide pas à calmer la population qui est outrée contre les arrestations, non justifiées, qui se sont déroulées quelques jours plus tôt. Cette manifestation tournera à l’émeute et verra quatre citoyens mourir sous les balles des soldats.

Une chicane historique

Le 12 février dernier, la République de Macédoine du Nord naissait, abandonnant du même coup le nom de Macédoine, qui était un enjeu avec son voisin grec. Le conflit entre les deux pays datait depuis près de 30 ans.