The educational potential of 3D printing

While many believe that 3D printing plays an important role in what they call a medical revolution, the question we ask ourselves is: what are the educational potential of 3D printers?

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

(continuation of the file)

Already, the medical applications of 3D printing are endless. From printing molds to make in-ear headphones to making prostheses to replace human limbs, it quickly found itself at the heart of many hopes for improving the quality of human life. Companies in the health sector are also striving to try to print human tissue. The L'Oréal company recently announced that it would test its products on 3D printed human skin. A 3D human tissue printing firm, Organovo, has already started the marketing of liver tissues for them to be subjected to toxicological studies. Soon, he will begin marketing nephrological tissue, always intended for medical studies.

Other areas of health are no exception. As much in orthopedics as in dentistry or even surgery, hopes are high: instruments, implants, modeling, prototypes, etc.

 

Education will not escape it!

While many believe that 3D printing plays an important role in what they qualify as medical revolution, the question we ask ourselves is the following: what are the educational potential of 3D printers?

Originally, the integration of 3D printers was part of the STEM educational model (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). The applications were mainly related to science and mathematics: using geometric formulas to better visualize complex shapes, manufacturing robotics parts or printing models related to understanding how the human body works.

The STEAM model (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) quickly enhanced the STEM model. Now, artistic applications have quickly emerged: they allow the creation of models of different works of all kinds in addition, of course, to be a new bulwark of creativity for the students. We will come back to that.

Finally, the human sciences are not left out. In geography, it has become easy to print reliefs in order to model, for example, hydrographic basins or to conceptualize the development of a district of a city. In history, it is very simple to reproduce various tools used in ancestral techniques in addition to building monuments according to various architectural characteristics ranging from mud houses of the Vikings to the great European cathedrals.

 

Summary of the file:

  1. Introduction: A short guide to 3D printing at school
  2. The educational potential of 3D printing
  3. 3D printing at school: where to start?
  4. 3d printing 101 ”: function and materials
  5. Five 3D printers tested for your educational activities
  6. Frequently asked questions about 3D printers

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Le potentiel pédagogique de l’impression 3D

Pendant que plusieurs estiment que l’impression 3D joue un rôle important dans ce qu’ils qualifient de révolution médicale, la question que nous nous posons est la suivante : quelles sont les potentialités pédagogiques des imprimantes 3D?

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

(suite du dossier)

Déjà, les applications médicales de l’impression 3D sont infinies. De l’impression de moules pour fabriquer des écouteurs intra-auriculaires jusqu’à la fabrication de prothèses pour remplacer des membres humains, elle s’est rapidement retrouvée au cœur de plusieurs espoirs d’amélioration de la qualité de vie humaine. Des entreprises du domaine de la santé s’évertuent d’ailleurs à tenter d’imprimer des tissus humains. La compagnie L’Oréal annonçait récemment qu’elle testerait ses produits sur de la peau humaine imprimée en 3D. Une firme d’impression de tissus humains en 3D, Organovo, a déjà débuté la commercialisation de tissus hépatiques pour qu’ils soient soumis à des études toxicologiques. Sous peu, il entamera la commercialisation de tissus néphrologiques, toujours destinés à des études médicales.

Les autres domaines de la santé d’y échappent pas. Autant en orthopédie qu’en dentisterie ou même chirurgie, les espoirs sont grands : instruments, implants, modélisation, prototypes, etc.

 

L’éducation n’y échappera pas!

Pendant que plusieurs estiment que l’impression 3D joue un rôle important dans ce qu’ils qualifient de révolution médicale, la question que nous nous posons est la suivante : quelles sont les potentialités pédagogiques des imprimantes 3D?

À l’origine, l’intégration des imprimantes 3D relève du modèle pédagogique STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). Les applications étaient principalement liées aux sciences et aux mathématiques : utilisation de formules géométriques pour mieux visualiser des formes complexes, fabrication de pièces de robotique ou impression de modèles liés à la compréhension du fonctionnement du corps humain.

Le modèle STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) a rapidement bonifié le modèle STEM. Désormais, les applications artistiques ont rapidement émergé : elles permettent de créer des modèles de différentes œuvres de toutes sortes en plus, bien évidemment, d’être un nouveau rempart de créativité pour les élèves. Nous y reviendrons.

Enfin, les sciences humaines ne sont pas en reste. En géographie, il est devenu aisé d’imprimer des reliefs afin de modéliser, par exemple, les bassins hydrographiques ou encore de conceptualiser l’aménagement d’un quartier d’une ville. En histoire, il est très simple de reproduire divers outils utilisés dans des techniques ancestrales en plus de bâtir des monuments en fonction de diverses caractéristiques architecturales allant des maisons de terre des Vikings jusqu’aux grandes cathédrales européennes.

 

Sommaire du dossier :

  1. Introduction : Petit guide de l’impression 3D à l’école
  2. Le potentiel pédagogique de l’impression 3D
  3. Impression 3D à l’école : par où commencer?
  4. « Impression 3D 101 » : le fonctionnement et les matériaux
  5. Cinq imprimantes 3D testées pour vos activités pédagogiques
  6. Questions fréquemment posées à propos des imprimantes 3D

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!