ADVERTISEMENT

The National Assembly wants the end of “Hello! Hi! ”

In recent days, the debate on the use of English in Montreal businesses has once again been present in the media. The National Assembly has even just adopted a motion to counter the use of the "Hello!" Hi! ” typical of downtown Montreal shops. Let us take a closer look at what brought the debate on the language spoken by Quebecers back to work.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In recent days, the debate on the use of English in Montreal businesses has once again been present in the media. The National Assembly has even just adopted a motion to counter the use of the "Bonjour!" Hi! ” typical of downtown Montreal shops.

“The elected representatives of the National Assembly sent a message to Montreal merchants on Thursday: welcome your customers in French, please, with the word 'Bonjour'. They urged them to drop the popular “Hello! Hi! ” when they come into contact with local and international customers. ”

Source: The Hurry

The blunder committed by the manager of the Adidas store in downtown Montreal who wanted to “accommodate” the French-speaking media during an event is a good reason to broach the subject of the French language in Quebec. New Statistics Canada data from the last census also allows for reflection on the use of different languages at work.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Véronique Lavergne
Véronique Lavergne
Véronique is a librarian at the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières and a trainer in educational technology for future teachers. She also holds a teaching certificate in the social universe at the secondary level and collaborates regularly with the organization L'École branchée.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

L’Assemblée nationale veut la fin du «Bonjour ! Hi !»

Depuis quelques jours, le débat sur l’utilisation de l’anglais dans les commerces montréalais est à nouveau présent dans les médias. L’Assemblé nationale vient même d’adopter une motion visant à contrer l’utilisation du «Bonjour ! Hi !» typique des commerces du centre-ville de Montréal. Voyons de plus près ce qui a ramené le débat sur la langue parlée des Québécois au travail.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Depuis quelques jours, le débat sur l’utilisation de l’anglais dans les commerces montréalais est à nouveau présent dans les médias. L’Assemblée nationale vient même d’adopter une motion visant à contrer l’utilisation du «Bonjour ! Hi !» typique des commerces du centre-ville de Montréal.

« Les élus de l’Assemblée nationale ont envoyé, jeudi, un message aux commerçants de Montréal: accueillez vos clients en français s’il vous plaît, avec le mot «Bonjour». Ils les ont exhortés à laisser tomber la populaire formule «Bonjour ! Hi !» lorsqu’ils entrent en contact avec la clientèle locale et internationale.»

Source : La Presse

La bourde commise par le gérant de la boutique Adidas du centre-ville de Montréal qui a voulu « accommoder » les médias francophones lors d’un événement est une bonne raison d’aborder le sujet de la langue française au Québec. Les nouvelles données de Statistiques Canada tirées du dernier recensement permettent également une réflexion sur l’utilisation des différentes langues au travail.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Véronique Lavergne
Véronique Lavergne
Véronique est bibliothécaire à l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières et formatrice en technologie éducative auprès des futurs enseignants. Elle détient aussi un brevet d'enseignement de l'univers social au secondaire et collabore régulièrement avec l'organisme L'École branchée.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :