Degrowth to save humanity?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

To support the current pace of life of the world's population, it would take 1.7 planets. And if everyone on Earth lived with the same standard of living as in Canada, then that would take 4.7 planets. These numbers are constantly growing, on the one hand, because the world population is increasing and, on the other hand, because economic systems are based on perpetual growth. We hear more and more about the concept of degrowth to turn things around. What exactly is it?

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

To support the current pace of life of the world's population, it would take 1.7 planets. And if everyone on Earth lived with the same standard of living as in Canada, then that would take 4.7 planets. These numbers are constantly growing, on the one hand, because the world population is increasing and, on the other hand, because economic systems are based on perpetual growth.

Perpetual growth

We hear that strong and sustained growth in country X would increase the standard of living of all its inhabitants. But is this really the case? According to Oxfam, in 2018, 82% of the wealth created globally ended up in the pockets of the richest 1% on the planet. Growth has therefore widened inequalities instead of enriching the population in general. Perpetual growth means that we consume more than the previous month, that we buy more than the year we just spent. Increasing our consumption increases production and pollution, in addition to reducing the amount of natural resources available. Statistics recorded in recent years show humans who use more resources than the Earth is able to generate each year. For example, in 1971, there were theoretically no more natural resources available on December 20. But in 2018, it was August 1 that humans ran out of what was available for the entire year. Growth at all costs?

The decrease

According to Wikipedia:

"Degrowth is a concept at once political, economic and social, born in the 1970s and according to which economic growth brings more harm than benefits to humanity. According to the actors of the degrowth movement, the process of industrialization has three negative consequences: dysfunctions of the economy (mass unemployment, precariousness, etc.), alienation at work (stress, moral harassment, increased number of accidents, etc.) and pollution, responsible for the deterioration. ecosystems and the disappearance of thousands of animal species. "

Decreasing means first of all producing less, owning less material goods and relying on local and sustainable purchases. If we produce less, we consume less, so we need to work less. This is also degrowth: reducing the time spent on paid work. Degrowth means doing less, but doing differently.

The concept of degrowth seems very effective, but also disturbing for the way of life to which we are accustomed. Is degrowth a possible option? Have we reached that point of no return where a radical change in habits seems the only possible avenue?

Your challenge

To introduce and understand the concept of degrowth, watch this video produced by the Rad team. Your challenge is to write, in your own words, a definition of the concept of degrowth and to think about actions in your daily life that can follow this path.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

– Contemporary world (secondary 5)

  • Richness

- Science and technology (lower secondary)

  • Earth and Space: Climate Change

- Ethics and religious culture (2nd cycle of secondary)

  • Reflecting on ethical questions: the future of humanity

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Communicate with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Collaborate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Paper, Autodesk Sketchbook or Adobe Illustrator Draw
  • Padlet, Google Doc or other collaborative document
  • Anchor or Garageband

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of the readings and activities, the students will be able to take a position on the concept of degrowth and to support arguments to qualify their remarks.

Objectives of the activities

  • Create a sketch-note that explains the concept of degrowth.
  • Record arguments “for” and “against” the concept of degrowth.
  • Produce a podcast to answer the question: Ready for downsizing?

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

La décroissance pour sauver l’humanité?

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Pour soutenir le rythme de vie actuel de la population mondiale, ça prendrait 1,7 planète. Et si tout le monde sur la Terre vivait avec le même niveau de vie qu'au Canada, ça prendrait alors 4,7 planètes. Ces chiffres croissent constamment, d'une part, parce que la population mondiale augmente et, d'autre part, parce que les systèmes économiques sont basés sur la croissance perpétuelle. Nous entendons de plus en plus parler du concept de décroissance pour renverser la vapeur. Qu'en est-il exactement?

Pour soutenir le rythme de vie actuel de la population mondiale, ça prendrait 1,7 planète. Et si tout le monde sur la Terre vivait avec le même niveau de vie qu’au Canada, ça prendrait alors 4,7 planètes. Ces chiffres croissent constamment, d’une part, parce que la population mondiale augmente et, d’autre part, parce que les systèmes économiques sont basés sur la croissance perpétuelle.

La croissance perpétuelle

On entend qu’une croissance forte et soutenue d’un pays X augmenterait le niveau de vie de tous ses habitants. Mais est-ce réellement le cas? Selon Oxfam, en 2018, 82% des richesses créées mondialement ont fini dans les poches du 1% le plus riche sur la planète. La croissance a donc creusé les inégalités au lieu d’enrichir la population en général. Une croissance perpétuelle veut dire que nous consommons plus que le mois précédent, que nous achetons plus que l’année que nous venons de passer. Augmenter notre consommation augmente la production et la pollution, en plus de diminuer par le fait même la quantité de ressources naturelles disponibles. Des statistiques comptabilisées depuis quelques années font état des humains qui utilisent plus de ressources que ce que la Terre est capable de générer tous les ans. Par exemple, en 1971, il n’y avait théoriquement plus de ressources naturelles disponibles le 20 décembre. Mais en 2018, c’est le 1er août que les humains avaient épuisé ce qu’il y avait de disponible pour toute l’année. La croissance à tout prix?

La décroissance

Selon Wikipédia :

« la décroissance est un concept à la fois politique, économique et social, né dans les années 1970 et selon lequel la croissance économique apporte plus de nuisances que de bienfaits à l’humanité.Selon les acteurs du mouvement de la décroissance, le processus d’industrialisation a trois conséquences négatives : des dysfonctionnements de l’économie (chômage de masse, précarité, etc.), l’aliénation au travail (stress, harcèlement moral, multiplication des accidents, etc.) et la pollution, responsable de la détérioration des écosystèmes et de la disparition de milliers d’espèces animales. »

Décroître, c’est d’abord produire moins, posséder moins de biens matériels et miser sur les achats locaux et durables. Si on produit moins, on consomme moins, alors on a besoin de moins travailler. C’est aussi ça la décroissance : réduire le temps consacré au travail rémunéré. La décroissance, c’est faire moins, mais faire autrement.

Le concept de décroissance semble très efficace, mais aussi dérangeant pour le mode de vie auquel nous sommes habitués. Est-ce que la décroissance est une option envisageable? En sommes-nous arrivés à ce point de non-retour où un changement radical d’habitudes semble la seule avenue possible?

Ton défi

Pour introduire et bien comprendre le concept de décroissance, visionne cette vidéo produite par l’équipe de Rad. Ton défi est d’écrire, dans tes mots, une définition du concept de décroissance et de réfléchir à des gestes dans ton quotidien qui peuvent s’inscrire dans cette voie.

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!