The fall of the Berlin Wall, 30 years later

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

On the night of November 9-10, 1989, Germany was the center of attention around the world. Indeed, it was that night that the 3-meter-high and 155-km-long wall that had divided the city of Berlin for 28 years was destroyed. Look at a product of the Cold War and a symbol of the division of the world into two blocks.
 

On the night of November 9-10, 1989, Germany was the center of attention around the world. Indeed, it was that night that the 3-meter-high and 155-km-long wall that had divided the city of Berlin for 28 years was destroyed. The fall of the wall was therefore orchestrated, during major demonstrations, by the Germans in the eastern part.

It should be understood that after the defeat of Germany in WWII, the winners took possession of the country, which ended up being divided into two sections: the West, occupied by the United States and the East, by the Soviet Union. A wall was erected in 1961 to prevent people in the East, wanting to escape poor conditions, from going to the West where life was better. And November 9, 1989 marked the end of this divide, which is still a very strong symbol today.

"The fall of the Wall and the Iron Curtain which divided post-war Europe had given rise, at the time, to hope for an era of detente and unity, of disarmament, the extension everywhere of the model of liberal democracies. . But the tide seems to have turned today. "

Source: La Presse, November 4, 2019

The construction of the Berlin Wall took place in the context of the Cold War by opposing the blocks of the East (United States) and the West (USSR). The United States and the USSR, after their post-war alliance, have opposing ideologies. So for 40 years, on both sides, there is a threat of nuclear attack. The fall of the Berlin Wall comes as the USSR breaks up and the political, economic and military institutions of the East disappear.

“The disappearance of the Eastern bloc cannot be explained solely by the coming to power of Gorbachev and the reforms he instituted. The transformation of the balance of power throughout the period of the Cold War, from the Marshall Plan to the resignation of Gorbachev, must be taken into account in order to understand the speed with which the Berlin Wall is falling. "

Source: PFEQ, History of the 20th century

Take a look at this infographic from Journal of Montreal with the students who informs us about the protection devices of the wall and how the flight of illegal immigrants was orchestrated.

Click on the picture to zoom

Also watch this video which demonstrates in 5 key moments the events leading up to the construction and subsequent fall of the Berlin Wall.

Your challenge

Watch this update capsule which popularizes information on the fall of the Berlin Wall. Then answer these questions:

  • Why a wall?
  • How was the fall of the wall orchestrated?
 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

Classification of activities:

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

La chute du mur de Berlin, 30 ans plus tard

Paru / Mis à jour le

Dans la nuit du 9 au 10 novembre 1989, l'Allemagne fut le centre d'attention du monde entier. En effet, c'est cette nuit-là que le mur de 3 mètres de haut et de 155 km de long qui divisait la ville de Berlin depuis 28 ans a été détruit. Regard sur un produit de la guerre froide et un symbole du partage du monde en deux blocs.
 

Dans la nuit du 9 au 10 novembre 1989, l’Allemagne fut le centre d’attention du monde entier. En effet, c’est cette nuit-là que le mur de 3 mètres de haut et de 155 km de long qui divisait la ville de Berlin depuis 28 ans a été détruit. La chute du mur a donc été orchestrée, lors de grandes manifestations, par des Allemands se trouvant dans la partie Est.

Il faut comprendre qu’après la défaite de l’Allemagne lors de Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les gagnants ont pris possession du pays, qui finit par être divisé en deux sections : l’Ouest, occupé par les États-Unis et l’Est, par l’Union soviétique. Un mur fut érigé en 1961 pour empêcher les gens de l’Est, voulant fuir de piètres conditions, d’aller vers l’Ouest où la vie était meilleure. Et le 9 novembre 1989 marqua la fin de ce clivage au symbole encore très fort aujourd’hui.

« La chute du Mur et du Rideau de fer ayant divisé l’Europe d’après-guerre avait fait, à l’époque, espérer une ère de détente et d’unité, de désarmement, l’extension partout du modèle des démocraties libérales. Mais le vent semble avoir aujourd’hui tourné. »

Source : La Presse, 4 novembre 2019

La construction du mur de Berlin s’est faite dans un contexte de Guerre froide en opposant les blocs de l’Est (États-Unis) et de l’Ouest (URSS). Les États-Unis et l’URSS, après leur alliance d’après-guerre, ont des idéologies qui s’opposent. Donc, pendant 40 ans, d’un côté comme de l’autre, plane une menace d’attaque nucléaire. La chute du mur de Berlin se produit alors que l’URSS se disloque et que les institutions politiques, économiques et militaires de l’Est disparaissent.

« La disparition du bloc de l’Est ne peut s’expliquer uniquement par l’arrivée au pouvoir de Gorbatchev et des réformes qu’il instaure. La transformation des rapports de force tout au long de la période de la Guerre froide, soit du plan Marshall à la démission de Gorbatchev, doit être prise en compte pour comprendre la rapidité avec laquelle le mur de Berlin tombe. »

Source : PFEQ, Histoire du 20e siècle

Observez cette infographie du Journal de Montréal avec les élèves qui nous informe sur les dispositifs de protection du mur et sur comment la fuite des clandestins s’est orchestrée.

Cliquez sur l’image pour zoomer

Regardez également cette vidéo qui démontre en 5 moments clés les événements qui ont mené à la construction, puis à la chute du mur de Berlin.

Ton défi

Visionne cette capsule de MAJ qui vulgarise l’information sur la chute du mur de Berlin. Réponds ensuite à ces questions :

  • Pourquoi un mur?
  • Comment la chute du mur s’est orchestrée?
 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Classification des activités :

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!