Julie Payette: 20 years later

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

A little over 20 years ago, on May 27, 1999, astronaut, engineer, jet pilot and musician Julie Payette took off aboard Shuttle Discovery for the International Space Station (ISS). At that time, she became the first Canadian to take part in such a mission in space.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Just over 20 years ago, on May 27, 1999, astronaut, engineer, jet pilot and musician Julie Payette took off on the Space Shuttle Discovery for the International Space Station (ISS). She became the first Canadian woman to take part in such a mission in space. She then assumed the role of Chief Astronaut for the Canadian Space Agency from 2000 to 2007 before leaving for a second mission, in 2009, to the ISS once again. 

"She is a model from every point of view," said Aline Chrétien, the wife of the Prime Minister of Canada, who made the trip to Cape Carnaveral. “For the family, for young people, for work, for women… in all respects, he is a model. A lot of people are going to be inspired by it. "

Source: Radio-Canada, May 27, 2019

With two missions under her belt, Julie Payette has logged 611 hours and more than 16 million kilometers in space. Julie Payette's career is impressive, as she was Governor General of Canada.

“Julie Payette has received numerous awards and distinctions in her career. She is the extraordinary companion of theOrder of Canada, extraordinary commander of theOrder of Military Merit, Commander of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces and Signet of theNational Order of Quebec. She holds 27 honorary doctorates from universities across the country. "

Source: Canadian Encyclopedia, January 26, 2018

Julie Payette has never been in the norms and knew how to stand out in traditionally male circles. She was, and still is today, a role model for many Canadian women seeking access to science and technology positions.

“Adapting has become a way of life! From high school to university, I have always chosen technical fields; consequently, I found myself in classes where there were few girls. When I studied abroad, I was often the only student in class who had French as a mother tongue, blond curly hair… I regularly found myself in situations where I was a little out of the ordinary, and that never bothered me. "

Source: My job

The challenge

What are the students' ambitions and dreams? What are the ways in which they achieve their goals? We suggest that they write their thoughts on a blog.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

- Science and technology

  • Elementary cycle 3: Systems and interaction (Earth, atmosphere and space technologies)

- Ethics and Religious Culture

  • Elementary cycle 3: Persons who are members of society (self-affirmation)

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Communicate with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Collaborate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Miro or Popplet
  • Anchor or Garageband
  • Green Screen and iMovie
  • Wix, Blogger, Google Sites

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of these activities, students will be able to recognize the influence and impact of models like Julie Payette on science and on society in general.

Objectives of the activities

  • Discover Julie Payette's journey and create a mind map that summarizes her accomplishments.
  • Learn about life on the International Space Station (ISS) and make an audio recording of a typical day.
  • Simulate a discussion between an astronaut in space and his team on Earth in video format.
  • Write a blog post on assertiveness.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Julie Payette : 20 ans plus tard

Paru le

 

Il y a un peu plus de 20 ans, le 27 mai 1999, l’astronaute, ingénieure, pilote d’avion à réaction et musicienne Julie Payette décollait à bord de la navette Discovery en direction de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI). Elle devenait, à ce moment, la première Canadienne à prendre part à une telle mission dans l’espace. Ensuite, elle assuma le rôle d’astronaute en chef pour l’Agence spatiale canadienne de 2000 à 2007 avant de partir pour une deuxième mission, en 2009, à destination de la SSI à nouveau. 

« C’est un modèle à tous les points de vue », déclare Aline Chrétien, la femme du premier ministre du Canada, qui a fait le voyage à Cape Carnaveral. « Pour la famille, pour les jeunes, pour le travail, pour les femmes… à tous points de vue, c’est un modèle. Beaucoup de gens vont être inspirés par elle. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 27 mai 2019

Avec deux missions à son actif, Julie Payette cumule 611 heures et plus de 16 millions de kilomètres dans l’espace. Le parcours de Julie Payette est impressionnant, elle qui occupe présentement le poste de gouverneure générale du Canada.

« Julie Payette reçoit en carrière de nombreux prix et distinctions. Elle est compagnon extraordinaire de l’Ordre du Canada, commandeur extraordinaire de l’Ordre du mérite militaire, Commandeur de l’Ordre du mérite des corps policiers et chevalière de l’Ordre national du Québec. Elle est titulaire de 27 doctorats honorifiques d’universités des quatre coins du pays. »

Source : Encyclopédie canadienne, 26 janvier 2018

Julie Payette n’a jamais été dans les normes et a su se démarquer dans des milieux traditionnellement masculins. Elle était et est encore aujourd’hui un modèle pour de nombreuses Canadiennes voulant accéder à des postes en science et technologie.

« M’adapter, c’est devenu une façon de vivre! Du secondaire à l’université, j’ai toujours choisi des domaines techniques; conséquemment, je me retrouvais dans des classes où il y avait peu de filles. Quand j’étudiais à l’étranger, j’étais souvent la seule élève en classe qui avait le français comme langue maternelle, les cheveux frisés blonds… Je me suis régulièrement retrouvée dans des situations où j’étais un peu hors norme, et ça ne m’a jamais embêtée. »

Source : Mon emploi

Ton défi

Crois-tu que tout est possible dans la vie? Quels sont tes ambitions et tes rêves? Quels moyens mets-tu en place pour atteindre tes objectifs? Écris tes réflexions sur ton blogue si tu veux.

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir...

Le déclin des hardes de caribous

Les hardes de caribous sont en déclin dans plusieurs régions du Québec. Voyons de plus près pourquoi cette espèce animal est une espèce maintenant menacée.

Montréal : on sécurise le pont Champlain en remplaçant une poutre

En fin de semaine dernière, on a dû installer d’urgence une super-poutre de 75 tonnes pour soutenir le pont Champlain, à Montréal. Elle en remplace une autre dans laquelle on a détecté des fissures compromettant sa solidité. Profitons-en pour parler des défis techniques et des ponts dans le monde.

Les animaux du Biodôme de Montréal déménagent!

Le projet de modernisation du Biodôme de Montréal s’est enclenché cette semaine. Dans les prochains jours, le Biodôme va être vidé de ses animaux afin de permettre d’importantes rénovations. Voyons de plus près comment sera organisé ce déménagement peu commun.