Video games and confinement: alone, but together

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

According to researchers, video games have a positive impact in reducing stress during confinement. Young people (and not so young) are therefore turning, more numerous than ever, to video games to improve their mental health in this unusual context ...

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Fortnite, League of Legends, Warzone, Among Us, Roblox… Video games are more popular than ever in this time of health crisis.

These extremely popular titles bring together billions of players around the world and then appear as very effective wingers in countering the loneliness and stress experienced by young confined people.

“Whatever some people think, video games can be a good way to enforce confinement and barrier gestures. It's no wonder, then, that their sales have exploded in recent weeks and that the #PlayApartTogether initiative launched by major video game makers to encourage people to have fun and practice physical distancing has received support from the WHO. "

News, April 8, 2020

Are you addicted?

This extraordinary period that we have all been living since March 2020 has unfortunately exacerbated the problems of video game addiction experienced by some young people. Since January 2018, WHO has defined video game disorder, called gaming disorder in English, as "a behavior linked to the practice of video games or digital games, which is characterized by a loss of control over the game, an increased priority given to the game, to the point that it takes precedence over other interests and daily activities, and by continuing or increasing gambling despite its damaging repercussions ”. The WHO has therefore added video game addiction to the addiction disorders section of the organization's new International Classification of Diseases.

Watch this video capsule created by the MAJ team which takes stock of video game addiction:

Keep balance

As with everything, balance is always the best option for maintaining healthy gambling habits. Moderate and controlled use can even help you maintain your sanity in these difficult times.

“The practice of video games is linked to positive elements in at least four aspects: they facilitate self-expression, they nourish emotional well-being, they strengthen social relationships and they improve certain cognitive functions. Studies have documented the beneficial effect that certain types of games (such as first-person shooter) can have on spatial memory, attention, and alertness. Even though research on problem gambling has established negative effects on mental health, the fact remains that in a context where exposure to gambling and screens is controlled, it is proving to be very useful. "

News, April 8, 2020

So, video games to reduce stress, video games to learn, video games to move... On the other hand, if we feel that video games are taking up more and more space in our lives, we do this screening questionnaire and seek help from a medical professional.

A word to remember: BALANCE.

 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

  • Ethics and religious culture (1st cycle of secondary)

– Theme: autonomy

  • French

– Write various texts, Communicate orally

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Communicate with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Collaborate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Padlet
  • Mentimeter
  • Wix
  • Anchor or Garageband

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of these activities, the student will be able to explain how addiction manifests itself in individuals in society, based on situations experienced or reported in the media.

Objectives of the activities

  • Lead a debate to bring out the arguments “for” and “against” video games.
  • Digging deeper into the topic of internet addiction and writing a blog post to a teenager struggling with Fortnite addiction (real case in the media).
  • Record a podcast that features the creation of the ideal video game.
  • Read a documentary on cyberaddiction and reflect on the issues presented in it.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Jeux vidéo et confinement : seuls, mais ensemble

Paru le

 

Fortnite, League of Legends, Warzone, Among Us, Roblox… Les jeux vidéo sont plus prisés que jamais en cette période de crise sanitaire.

Ces titres extrêmement populaires rassemblent des milliards de joueurs à travers le monde et apparaissent alors comme des ailiers très efficaces pour contrer la solitude et le stress vécus chez les jeunes confinés.

« Quoi que certains en pensent, les jeux vidéos peuvent être un bon moyen de faire respecter le confinement et les gestes barrières. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que leurs ventes explosent depuis quelques semaines et que l’initiative #PlayApartTogether lancée par les grands fabricants de jeux vidéos pour encourager les gens à se divertir et à pratiquer la distanciation physique ait reçu le soutien de l’OMS. »

L’actualité, 8 avril 2020

Es-tu accro?

Cette période hors de l’ordinaire que nous vivons tous depuis mars 2020 a malheureusement exacerbé les problèmes de dépendance aux jeux vidéo vécus par certains jeunes. Depuis janvier 2018, l’OMS définit le trouble du jeu vidéo, appelé gaming disorder en anglais, comme « un comportement lié à la pratique des jeux vidéo ou des jeux numériques, qui se caractérise par une perte de contrôle sur le jeu, une priorité accrue accordée au jeu, au point que celui-ci prend le pas sur d’autres centres d’intérêt et activités quotidiennes, et par la poursuite ou la pratique croissante du jeu en dépit de répercussions dommageables ». L’OMS a donc ajouté la dépendance aux jeux vidéo à la section sur les troubles de la dépendance de la nouvelle Classification internationale des maladies de l’organisation.

Visionne cette capsule vidéo créée par l’équipe de MAJ qui fait le point sur la dépendance aux jeux vidéo :

Garder l’équilibre

Comme dans tout, l’équilibre est toujours la meilleure alternative pour conserver de saines habitudes de jeu. Une utilisation modérée et contrôlée peut même te permettre de garder ton équilibre mental en ces temps difficiles.

« La pratique des jeux vidéo est liée à des éléments positifs dans au moins quatre aspects : ils facilitent l’expression de soi, ils nourrissent le bien-être émotionnel, ils renforcent les relations sociales et ils améliorent certaines fonctions cognitives. Des études ont documenté l’effet bénéfique que certains types de jeux (comme le jeu de tir à la première personne) pouvaient avoir sur la mémoire spatiale, l’attention et la vigilance. Même si les recherches sur le jeu problématique ont établi des effets négatifs sur la santé mentale, il n’en reste pas moins que dans un contexte où l’exposition au jeu et aux écrans est contrôlée, il se révèle très utile. »

L’actualité, 8 avril 2020

Alors, les jeux vidéo pour diminuer ton stress, les jeux vidéo pour apprendre, les jeux vidéo pour bouger… Par contre, si tu sens que les jeux vidéo prennent de plus en plus de place dans ta vie, n’hésite pas à faire ce questionnaire de dépistage et à demander l’aide d’un professionnel de la santé.

Un mot à retenir : ÉQUILIBRE.

Ton défi

Es-tu un joueur ou une joueuse de Fortnite, de Warzone, de Minecraft? As-tu des conseils à donner pour conserver un équilibre et une bonne hygiène de vie malgré le plaisir qu’on peut avoir à jouer à ces jeux régulièrement? Écris tes réflexions sur ton blogue ou crée une infographie sur Canva pour partager tes recommandations.

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonné? pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!