Add to favorites (0)

Are Teens Drinking Too Much Alcohol? THE'Quebec survey on tobacco, alcohol, drugs and gambling among high school students (2006) revealed some disturbing things. For example, although the majority of adolescents are occasional drinkers, that is, 1 drink or less per month, two-thirds of those who drink more regularly have binge drinking:

“Among adolescents, moderation is unfortunately not there. On the contrary, their consumption is characterized by the absorption of large quantities of alcohol on the same occasion, which is corroborated by several European and American surveys. Among Quebec high school students who say they have consumed alcohol in the past twelve months, 67.4 % for boys and 64.6 % for girls had five or more drinks on a single occasion. By way of comparison, 50 % of alcohol consumers in the Quebec adult population say they consume excessively at least once a year. "

Source: Educ'alcool
At the end of 2011, a survey carried out in France by OpinionWay among 557 fathers and mothers of school-going children showed that alcohol consumption among young people is a matter of concern for 83 % of them. If they are more confident for their children, they are aware that alcohol consumption among young people has increased, especially among younger (college students) and girls.
Excess alcohol is not trivial and involves very significant risks. Let's go see which ones ...


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- know the immediate effects of alcohol;
- explain the effects of alcohol on driving;
- know what the Evin law and the Zero Tolerance program are;
- describe the dangers of alcohol on health.


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: To introduce the subject

Educ'alcool "Two three four zero" videos
Watch these videos on YouTube with the students to introduce your activities. Ask them to be attentive and then to re-explain the concept and meaning of “2-3-4-0”.

ACTIVITY 2: The Effects of Alcohol

Using Internet research or their current knowledge, invite students to answer these questions about alcohol and its effects:
- What unpleasant effects can accompany the state of intoxication?
- What are the immediate physiological and behavioral effects?
- What are the effects of alcohol on an empty stomach?
- Are the effects of alcohol the same for everyone?
- What is ethyl coma?
- What is the only solution to lower his blood alcohol level?
- What is the legal blood alcohol level authorized for driving? Is it the same everywhere?
- What are the effects of alcohol on the driver?
- What Evin law?
- What is the policy " Zero tolerance "?
Ask the students to test this breathalyzer online by inventing drinks… The results may surprise them!
Blood alcohol level calculator by Educ'alcool

ACTIVITY 3: Health hazards

We often hear that alcohol should be consumed in moderation, that abuse is dangerous for health. But do you really know the health consequences of alcohol?
Invite your students to read the dossier on the Futura Sciences and / or the one on Health Passport devoted to the effects of alcohol on health and to complete the diagram below. They can supplement it using their own research on the Internet. Ask them to identify their sources.
Download the file in PDF format (.pdf)

The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Les adolescents boivent-ils trop d’alcool? L’Enquête québécoise sur le tabac, l’alcool, la drogue et le jeu chez les élèves du secondaire (2006) avait révélé des choses troublantes. Par exemple, bien que la majorité des adolescents soit des buveurs occasionnels, c’est-à-dire 1 consommation ou moins par mois, les deux tiers de ceux qui en consomment plus régulièrement ont des consommations excessives :

« Chez les adolescents, la modération n’est malheureusement pas au rendez-vous. Au contraire, leur consommation se caractérise par l’absorption de grandes quantités d’alcool en une même occasion, ce qui est corroboré par plusieurs enquêtes européennes et américaines. Parmi les élèves québécois du secondaire qui disent avoir consommé de l’alcool au cours des douze derniers mois, 67,4 % des garçons et 64,6 % des filles ont pris cinq verres ou plus lors d’une même occasion. À titre de comparaison, 50 % des consommateurs d’alcool au sein de la population adulte québécoise dit consommer de façon excessive au moins une fois par année. »

Source : Educ’alcool
À la fin 2011, un sondage réalisé en France par OpinionWay auprès de 557 pères et mères d’enfants scolarisés montrait que la consommation d’alcool chez les jeunes est un sujet d’inquiétude pour 83 % d’entre eux. S’ils sont plus confiants pour leurs enfants, ils sont conscients que la consommation d’alcool chez les jeunes a augmenté, notamment chez les plus jeunes (collégiens) et les filles.
L’excès d’alcool n’est pas anodin et comporte des risques très importants. Allons voir lesquels…


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– connaître les effets immédiats de l’alcool;
– expliquer les effets de l’alcool sur la conduite;
– savoir ce qu’est la loi Evin et le programme Tolérance Zéro;
– décrire les dangers de l’alcool sur la santé.


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Pour introduire le sujet

Vidéos « Deux trois quatre zéro » d’Educ’alcool
Regardez ces vidéos sur YouTube avec les élèves pour introduire vos activités. Demandez-leur d’être attentifs, puis de réexpliquer le concept et la signification de « 2-3-4-0 ».

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Les effets de l’alcool

À l’aide de la recherche sur Internet ou de leurs connaissances actuelles, invitez les élèves à répondre à ces questions sur l’alcool et ses effets :
– Quels effets désagréables peuvent accompagner l’état d’ivresse?
– Quels sont les effets physiologiques et comportementaux immédiats?
– Quels sont les effets de l’alcool si on est à jeun?
– Les effets de l’alcool sont-ils les mêmes pour tous?
– Qu’est-ce que le coma éthylique?
– Quelle est la seule solution pour faire baisser son taux d’alcoolémie?
– Quel est le taux d’alcoolémie légal autorisé pour la conduite? Est-il le même partout?
– Quels sont les effets de l’alcool sur le conducteur?
– Qu’est-ce que la loi Evin?
– Qu’est-ce que la politique « Tolérance Zéro »?
Demandez aux élèves de tester cet alcootest en ligne en inventant des consommations… Les résultats pourront les surprendre!
Calculateur de taux d’alcoolémie d’Educ’alcool

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Les dangers pour la santé

On entend souvent dire que l’alcool doit se consommer avec modération, qu’un abus est dangereux pour la santé. Mais connaissez-vous vraiment les conséquences de l’alcool sur la santé?
Invitez vos élèves à lire le dossier sur le site de Futura Sciences et/ou celui sur Passeport Santé consacré aux effets de l’alcool sur la santé et à compléter le schéma ci-dessous. Ils peuvent compléter à l’aide de leurs propres recherches sur Internet. Demandez-leur d’identifier leurs sources.
Télécharger le fichier en format PDF (.pdf)

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.