COVID-19 explained to young people: the infodemic

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

As part of the series of video clips SCOOP! on COVID-19, we are now talking about infodemia, this overabundance of information, credible or not, which leaves the field open to medical disinformation, conspiracy theories, rumors, hijacked photos and videos, attempts to scams or hoaxes ... To flatten the curve of fake news, SCOOP! explains to young people how to sharpen their reflexes in search of truth!

As part of the SCOOP capsule series! on COVID-19, today we are interested in the infodemic, this overabundance of information, credible or not, which gives a hard time to anyone who tries to navigate it. Medical misinformation, conspiracy theories, rumors of government measures, hijacked photos and videos, attempted scams or hoaxes, false information about COVID-19 spreads faster than the virus. SCOOP! explains in video how to sharpen your reflexes in search of truth.

Infodemic, you say?

This new portmanteau, formed from the fusion of the words "information" and "epidemic", characterizes the unprecedented phenomenon of the spread of information of all kinds concerning COVID-19 on the Web.

“More than ever, conspiracy theories are popular. The charlatans who sell fake miracle cures are rubbing their hands. Fake news puts on their best clothes. And all of this is particularly worrying at a time when correct and accurate information is nothing more or less than a matter of life and death. "

La Presse, April 5, 2020

Sorting out information and disinformation in this ocean of content can be quite an achievement today. People need to be reassured, to know all the answers, to have a feeling of control over the situation. In these times of crisis, it's easy to let emotions get the best of your senses. This is why we find so much content with questionable intentions that can lead to different cognitive biases, thereby altering critical judgment. Some gurus and charlatans therefore take advantage of the situation to influence and rally as many people as possible to their cause.

“Adherence to certain conspiracy theories is often more widespread among young people. This can be explained in particular by the fact that they are more inclined to shun traditional media and to get information on social media. "

La Presse, April 5, 2020

To doubt or to trust?

To doubt or to trust? This should be the question to ask yourself every time you see new information appearing on your favorite social network. The TikTok, Snapchat and Twitch of this world remain fertile ground for disinformation and the sharing of “fake news” among young people. Among older people, Facebook remains the platform where the most falsehoods are spread.

“Last January, a study published by the American journal Science Advances revealed that Facebook users over 65 spread fake news seven times more than young people. However, young or old, we are all likely to fall for it. "

La Presse, April 5, 2020

It is important, even essential, in the context of the current crisis, to choose credible sources of information when it comes time to get informed, such as Radio-Canada, Press, The news, Science-Press Agency, the École branchée. In addition to trusting these media that publish reliable content, web specialists have set up platforms where they sift through an impressive amount of news to disentangle the true from the false. Les Décrypteurs de Radio-Canada, the rumor detector from the Agence Science-Presse and the Decoders of the newspaper Le Monde are experts in dealing with fake news that spreads on social media. They set the record straight and tell you the truth, among other things, on everything related to COVID-19.

You can do this verification work yourself in three simple steps when you consult information sources:

1- Check the statement.

You can copy important quotes from the article into Google to see if other media are talking about it the same way. If you see several spelling mistakes, you may doubt the credibility. Of course, you have to read beyond the title to properly understand the content. Also look at the date of the article. Old posts often come back to the News Feed and are passed off as new facts. Is the rationale based on the point of view of amateurs or is there evidence that is provided by experts?

2- Check the source.

You can check the name of the source in Wikipedia. If it's credible, there's a good chance it'll figure it out. Notice how the web address is written. For example, radio-canada.ca is reliable, but radio-canada.co surely is less so. You can also write the URL of a website or its name in the Decodex of the newspaper Le Monde to verify if the source is trustworthy. You should also pay attention to sponsored content or partnership. If there is bias or compensation, doubt the credibility of what you see.

3- Check the image.

You can check the credibility of a photo by doing a reverse search in Google Images. You can then see if the image in question has been used elsewhere. Also check the caption below the image. A reliable source will give credit to the owner of the photo. Sites like Tineye.com or Amnesty International's Youtube DataViewer provide more information on the provenance of photos and videos. Your judgment and good sense of observation can also indicate whether a photo has been edited in Photoshop.

More about the magazine

To help you with your media education, various resources are available. For example, doubt.ca, 30seconds.org, fauxquecacesse.ca and actufute.ca will provide you with all the tools you need to help you fight fake news. You will also be able to test your skills to distinguish the true from the false through various quizzes.

In the meantime, to avoid spreading false news, it would be good to keep in mind a very simple piece of advice that applies to everyone, young and old, recalls Ève Beaudin. “The same way we tell people, 'Wash your hands for 20 seconds', you also have to say,' Really take 30 seconds to check the source.

La Presse, April 5, 2020

Quiz time

Click here to have access to a quiz created from the Quizizz platform. You will be in "practice" mode, so no adult is required to start the quiz. You will even have all the time you want to answer the questions.

For teachers, use this link to access the quiz. Then click on “Play Live”. A window will open to assign the parameters of your choice. Now click on “Host game” and invite the students to go to joinmyquiz.com by providing them with the game code that appeared on the screen. When everyone is ready to begin, click on “Start”.

Have a good quiz!

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

La COVID-19 expliquée aux jeunes : l’infodémie

Paru le

Dans le cadre de la série des capsules SCOOP! sur la COVID-19, nous nous intéressons aujourd’hui à l’infodémie, cette surabondance d’informations, crédibles ou non, qui donne du fil à retordre à quiconque essaie de s’y retrouver. Désinformation médicale, théories du complot, rumeurs sur les mesures gouvernementales, photos et vidéos détournées, tentatives d’arnaques ou canulars, les fausses informations concernant la COVID-19 se propagent plus rapidement que le virus. SCOOP! t’explique en vidéo comment aiguiser tes réflexes en quête de vérité.

Infodémie, tu dis?

Ce nouveau mot-valise, formé à partir de la fusion des mots « information » et « épidémie », caractérise le phénomène sans précédent de propagation d’informations de toutes sortes concernant la COVID-19 sur le Web.

« Plus que jamais, les théories du complot ont la cote. Les charlatans qui vendent de faux remèdes miracles se frottent les mains. Les fausses nouvelles mettent leurs plus beaux habits. Et tout ça est particulièrement inquiétant à une époque où l’information juste et rigoureuse n’est ni plus ni moins qu’une question de vie ou de mort. »

La Presse, 5 avril 2020

Faire la part des choses entre information et désinformation dans cet océan de contenu peut s’avérer être un exploit actuellement. Les gens ont besoin d’être rassurés, de connaître toutes les réponses, d’avoir une impression de contrôle sur la situation. En ces temps de crise, il est facile de laisser les émotions prendre le dessus sur la raison. C’est pourquoi nous retrouvons autant de contenu aux intentions douteuses qui peut mener à différents biais cognitifs, altérant du même coup le jugement critique. Certains gourous et charlatans profitent donc de la situation pour influencer et rallier un maximum de gens à leur cause.

« L’adhésion à certaines théories conspirationnistes est souvent plus répandue chez les jeunes. Cela s’explique notamment par le fait qu’ils ont davantage tendance à bouder les médias traditionnels et à s’informer dans les médias sociaux. »

La Presse, 5 avril 2020

Douter ou faire confiance?

Douter ou faire confiance? Telle devrait être la question à te poser chaque fois que tu vois apparaître une nouvelle information sur ton réseau social préféré. Les TikTok, Snapchat et Twitch de ce monde demeurent un terreau fertile pour la désinformation et le partage de « fake news » chez les jeunes. Chez les gens plus âgés, Facebook reste la plateforme où il se propage le plus de faussetés.

« En janvier dernier, une étude publiée par la revue américaine Science Advances révélait que les utilisateurs de Facebook âgés de plus de 65 ans propagent sept fois plus de fausses nouvelles que les jeunes. Cela dit, jeunes ou vieux, nous sommes tous susceptibles de tomber dans le panneau. »

La Presse, 5 avril 2020

Il est important, voire essentiel, dans le contexte de crise que nous vivons actuellement, de choisir des sources d’information crédibles quand vient le temps de s’informer, telles que Radio-Canada, La Presse, L’actualité, l’Agence Science-Presse, l’École branchée. En plus de faire confiance à ces médias qui publient du contenu fiable, des spécialistes du Web ont mis en place des plateformes où ils passent au crible une quantité impressionnante de nouvelles pour ainsi démêler le vrai du faux. Les Décrypteurs de Radio-Canada, le détecteur de rumeurs de l’Agence Science-Presse et les Décodeurs du journal Le Monde sont des experts dans le traitement des fausses nouvelles qui se propagent sur les réseaux sociaux. Ils rétablissent les faits et te donnent l’heure juste, entre autres, sur tout ce qui concerne la COVID-19.

Tu peux toi-même effectuer ce travail de vérification en trois étapes simples lorsque tu consultes des sources d’information :

1- Vérifie l’énoncé.

Tu peux copier les citations importantes de l’article dans Google pour voir si d’autres médias en parlent de la même façon. Si tu aperçois plusieurs fautes d’orthographe, tu peux douter de la crédibilité. Bien sûr, il faut lire plus loin que le titre pour prendre connaissance adéquatement du contenu. Regarde également la date de l’article. De vieilles publications reviennent souvent dans le fil d’actualité et passent pour des faits nouveaux. L’argumentaire est-il fondé sur le point de vue d’amateurs ou y a-t-il des preuves qui sont fournies par des experts?

2- Vérifie la source.

Tu peux vérifier le nom de la source dans Wikipédia. Si c’est crédible, il y a de bonnes chances de s’y retrouver. Remarque bien comment est écrite l’adresse Web. Par exemple, radio-canada.ca est fiable, mais radio-canada.co l’est sûrement moins. Tu peux aussi écrire l’URL d’un site Web ou son nom dans le Décodex du journal Le Monde pour vérifier si la source est digne de confiance. Tu dois également faire attention au contenu commandité ou au partenariat. S’il y a un parti pris ou une rémunération, doute de la crédibilité de ce que tu vois.

3- Vérifie l’image.

Tu peux vérifier la crédibilité d’une photo en faisant une recherche inversée dans Google Images. Tu pourras alors constater si l’image en question a été utilisée ailleurs. Vérifie aussi la légende sous l’image. Une source fiable donnera le crédit au propriétaire de la photo. Des sites comme Tineye.com ou le Youtube DataViewer d’Amnistie International fournissent plusieurs informations sur la provenance de photos et de vidéos. Ton jugement et ton bon sens de l’observation peuvent aussi d’indiquer si une photo a été modifiée dans Photoshop.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour t’aider dans ton éducation aux médias, diverses ressources sont disponibles. Par exemple, doutez.ca, 30secondes.org, fauxquecacesse.ca et actufute.ca te fourniront tous les outils nécessaires pour t’aider à contrer les fausses nouvelles. Tu pourras aussi tester tes aptitudes pour distinguer le vrai du faux à travers différents jeux-questionnaires.

En attendant, pour éviter de propager de fausses nouvelles, il serait bon de garder en tête un conseil tout simple qui vaut pour tous, petits et grands, rappelle Ève Beaudin. « De la même façon qu’on dit aux gens : “Lavez-vous les mains pendant 20 secondes”, il faut aussi leur dire : “Prenez vraiment 30 secondes pour vérifier la source.

La Presse, 5 avril 2020

L’heure du quiz

Clique ici pour avoir accès à un jeu-questionnaire créé à partir de la plateforme Quizizz. Tu seras en mode « pratique », alors aucun adulte n’est requis pour démarrer le quiz. Tu auras même tout le temps que tu veux pour répondre aux questions.

Pour les profs, servez-vous de ce lien-ci pour avoir accès au quiz. Cliquez ensuite sur « Play Live ». Une fenêtre s’ouvrira pour attribuer les paramètres de votre choix. Cliquez maintenant sur « Jeu d’hôte » et invitez les élèves à aller sur joinmyquiz.com en leur fournissant le code du jeu qui est apparu à l’écran. Quand tous seront prêts à commencer, cliquez sur « Début ».

Bon quiz!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Dany Laferrière élu à l'Académie française

Dany Laferrière est désormais immortel. L'écrivain québécois d'origine haïtienne a été élu le jeudi 12 décembre 2013 à l'Académie française, rejoignant du même coup quantité d'«immortels» - terme utilisé pour désigner les membres de la prestigieuse institution - aux noms et œuvres aussi connus que Victor Hugo, Corneille, Jean de La Fontaine et Eugene Ionesco.

Décès du grand scientifique Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking, un des plus grands esprits scientifiques de notre époque, s’est éteint cette semaine à l’âge de 76 ans. Voyons de plus près la vie et les réalisations de ce célèbre astrophysicien!

Un logo pour identifier les aliments malsains

Le gouvernement canadien songe à imposer à l’industrie alimentaire l’ajout d’un logo qui indique clairement si un produit est bon ou non pour la santé. Serait-ce la solution pour enrayer l’épidémie d’obésité en Amérique du Nord?