This summer, we take care of our water!

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The 2013 edition of the Drinking Water Saving Program has just been launched by the Environment Network. From May 6 to August 9, Quebecers are invited to take care of drinking water. Let's see how to accomplish this task.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

The 37e edition of the Drinking Water Saving Program (PEEP) is taking place this year under the theme Our water, we care! It is the spokesperson Stéphane Bellavance who, for a second consecutive year, encourages citizens and municipalities to adopt behaviors aimed at saving drinking water. During the program, awareness officers will also be present across the province to provide advice and tips to reduce the consumption of this essential resource.
The following activities will, among other things, identify ways to save our drinking water.
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Reflect on the global water crisis and create an awareness poster;
- Identify means to reduce the consumption of drinking water at home and at school;
- Identify the consequences of the lack of precipitation on the rivers of Quebec during the summer season.
 


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: Drinking water, an essential resource

First, have students name what is essential for sustaining life. Ask them how many liters of water humans need to drink each day in order to be healthy. Search the web together for the answer. Be sure to analyze the source consulted to be sure of the quality of the information.
Next, explain to the students that, according to the ONE DROP organization, nearly a billion people on Earth are deprived of safe drinking water and 2.5 billion lack adequate sanitation. Ask students to visit the organization's website ONE DROP to learn more about the drinking water situation in the world. Ask them to carefully read the " Understanding the water crisis ". Can they name the two main elements that are contributing to this crisis?
Then, still in the “Understanding the water crisis” section, ask them to choose one striking piece of information and create an awareness poster with it.
You can ask the pupils to use ICT to make their poster. For example, the following poster was made using ActivInspire tebeware.

Click on the image to enlarge.

Finally, print and display the students' creations in the school.
 
 

ACTIVITY 2: Lack of water in Quebec

In Quebec, we sometimes run out of water during the summer, mainly because of insufficient precipitation. Moreover, the 2012 summer season was marked by the very low level of several major rivers such as the St. Lawrence River.
The articles below recall the situation.
The exceptionally low river level
The St. Lawrence is thirsty

Invite students to read these articles and then discuss the consequences of such a situation.
Finally, identify what municipalities ask their citizens during the summer in order to reduce the consumption of drinking water. Discuss the watering ban imposed on the citizens of several municipalities.
 
 

ACTIVITY 3: Tips and tricks for saving drinking water

In Quebec, we consume huge amounts of drinking water. So ask students to think of tips for reducing water use at home and at school. Record students' ideas in a diagram like the one below.


Click on the image to enlarge.
Download the source file in Inspiration (.isf) format
Download the file in PDF format (.pdf)

 

For further

Take up the classroom challenge of saving drinking water. On Facebook, share your accomplishments with the Environment Network by visiting the page Save our water. Also, join the conversation on Twitter @ecoleau by using the hashtag #ecoleau.
 


More about the magazine

ONE DROP
Organization website
The exceptionally low river level
La Presse, July 13, 2012
The St. Lawrence is thirsty
Le Nouvelliste, July 13, 2012
The 2013 Drinking Water Saving Program is launched! This summer, we care about our water!
Article on the CMATV.CA website
Drinking water saving program
PEEP official website
 

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Cet été, on prend soin de notre eau!

Paru / Mis à jour le

L’édition 2013 du Programme d’économie d’eau potable vient d’être lancée par le Réseau Environnement. Du 6 mai au 9 août, les Québécois sont invités à prendre soin de l’eau potable. Voyons comment faire pour accomplir cette tâche.

La 37e édition du Programme d’économie d’eau potable (PEEP) se déroule cette année sous le thème Notre eau, on y tient! C’est le porte-parole Stéphane Bellavance qui, pour une deuxième année consécutive, incite les citoyens et municipalités à adopter des comportements visant à économiser l’eau potable. Pendant la durée du programme, des agents de sensibilisation seront également présents aux quatre coins de la province pour donner des conseils ainsi que des astuces pour réduire la consommation de cette ressource essentielle.
Les activités suivantes permettront entres autres d’identifier des moyens pour économiser notre eau potable.
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– Réfléchir sur la crise mondiale de l’eau et créer une affiche de sensibilisation;
– Identifier des moyens afin de diminuer la consommation de l’eau potable à la maison et à l’école;
– Identifier les conséquences du manque de précipitations sur les cours d’eau du Québec pendant la saison estivale.
 


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : L’eau potable, une ressource essentielle

Tout d’abord, demandez aux élèves de nommer ce qui est essentiel au maintien de la vie. Demandez-leur combien de litres d’eau l’être humain doit boire chaque jour afin d’être en santé. Cherchez ensemble la réponse sur le Web. Assurez-vous d’analyser la source consultée pour être certain de la qualité de l’information.
Ensuite, expliquez aux élèves que, selon l’organisation ONE DROP, près d’un milliard de personnes sur Terre sont privées d’eau potable et 2,5 milliards, d’un assainissement convenable. Demandez aux élèves de consulter le site de l’organisation ONE DROP afin d’en apprendre davantage sur la situation de l’eau potable dans le monde. Demandez-leur de lire attentivement la section « Comprendre la crise de l’eau ». Peuvent-ils nommer les deux principaux éléments qui contribuent à cette crise?
Ensuite, toujours dans la section « Comprendre la crise de l’eau », demandez-leur de choisir une information saisissante et de créer une affiche de sensibilisation avec cette dernière.
Vous pouvez demander aux élèves d’utiliser les TIC pour confectionner leur affiche. Par exemple, l’affiche suivante a été faite à l’aide du tébéiciel ActivInspire.

Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.

Enfin, imprimez et affichez les créations des élèves dans l’école.
 
 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Le manque d’eau au Québec

Au Québec, il nous arrive parfois de manquer d’eau pendant l’été, principalement à cause de précipitations insuffisantes. D’ailleurs, la saison estivale 2012 a été marquée par le niveau très bas de plusieurs importants cours d’eau tels que le fleuve Saint-Laurent.
Les articles ci-dessous rappellent la situation.
Le niveau du fleuve exceptionnellement bas
Le Saint-Laurent a soif

Invitez les élèves à lire ces articles et discutez ensuite des conséquences d’une telle situation.
Finalement, identifier ce que les municipalités demandent à leurs citoyens pendant l’été afin de diminuer la consommation d’eau potable. Discutez de l’interdiction d’arrosage qui est imposée aux citoyens de plusieurs municipalités.
 
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Trucs et astuces pour économiser l’eau potable

Au Québec, nous consommons d’énormes quantités d’eau potable. Demandez donc aux élèves de réfléchir à des astuces pour réduire la consommation d’eau à la maison ainsi qu’à l’école. Notez les idées des élèves dans un schéma comme celui-ci dessous.


Cliquez sur l’image pour l’agrandir.
Télécharger le fichier source en format Inspiration (.isf)
Télécharger le fichier en format PDF (.pdf)

 

Pour aller plus loin

Relever le défi en classe d’économiser l’eau potable. Sur Facebook, partagez vos accomplissements avec le Réseau Environnement en consultant la page Économisons notre eau. Aussi, joignez-vous à la conversation sur Twitter @ecoleau en utilisant le mot-clic #ecoleau.
 


Pour en savoir plus

ONE DROP
Site de l’organisme
Le niveau du fleuve exceptionnellement bas
La Presse, 13 juillet 2012
Le Saint-Laurent a soif
Le Nouvelliste, 13 juillet 2012
Le Programme d’économie d’eau potable 2013 est lancé! Cet été, notre eau, on y tient!
Article sur le site Web CMATV.CA
Programme d’économie d’eau potable
Site officiel du PEEP
 

Classification des activités :

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!