Back to the moon soon?

Published / Updated on

A project supported by ten space agencies envisages a return to the Moon within 20 years, the first step of a possible mission to Mars!

Space exploration fascinates many people. The prospect of a return of Man to the Moon and, potentially, of a mission to the planet Mars, has something to arouse interest. On August 25, we learned that “The Global Exploration Roadmap project, built by more than ten space agencies, includes a return to the Moon within 20 years. Canada is one of the 14 agencies of the international coordination group for space exploration, which began to draw up this strategy in 2007. "" The project therefore foresees human missions in the vicinity and on the surface of the Moon until 2030, after which the goal will be to reach the red planet. "
Source: Radio-Canada
So let's take some time to familiarize ourselves with the various elements surrounding this news.
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Use a technological means to read a news article;
- Explain the general context surrounding the progress of the lunar missions in the 1960s and 1970s;
- Use an online application to share with teammates;
- Use an online application to create a timeline;
- And more!
 


Suggested activities

ACTIVITY 1: Learn about the news

To introduce the activity, ask students if they would ever like to go to space. Listen to their responses and be sure to encourage them to explain why, etc. And as long as they go into space, would they just orbit the Earth? Would they want to go to the Moon, and to Mars?
Then inform them that those with an interest in space exploration could make it a career choice as it is expected that Man will return to the Moon in a fairly close horizon, and possibly even to Mars!
To learn more, invite them to read the following article:
Article 1
An ambitious space project could send a first Canadian to the moon
Released on Radio-Canada, by The Canadian Press, August 25, 2013.
ICT tracks:
- Reading can be done on an electronic tablet, on the computer screen in the lab, all together on the interactive whiteboard, on homework, etc.
- Use the online application Readability to strip the page of all the superfluous and make it easier to read!
- Invite the students to write down in a collaborative document what surprises them the most. To produce the collaborative document, you can use a service like Google drive (make a new text document), Cacoo, Padlet or GroupZap.
 

ACTIVITY 2: Is it that far?

Using the presentation medium of their choice, in teams of 4, students will have to find a way to illustrate the distance between the earth and the International Space Station, the Moon and the planet Mars. Ideally, they should indicate the time it takes to travel between each destination. Be careful, they must keep and cite their sources!
ICT tracks:
- Once the creations are made, a few students could take care of photographing them and posting on an account Flickr special for the class, or any other means of dissemination of works of their choice.
 

ACTIVITY 3: A small step for Man ...

In 1969, the American Neil Armstrong became the first human being to walk on the moon. Invite students to relive that moment with this 4-minute video recording that shows Armstrong's descent on lunar soil, narrated by NASA. It may be interesting to combine this with a listening comprehension activity in English.
Watch the video by clicking here.
To learn more about the context of the time, the Apollo program and the unfolding of the Apollo 11 mission, take the time to watch the Brainpop animated capsule (6 minutes) on the subject, by clicking here. It also talks about the rescue of the astronauts from the Apollo 13 mission.
If the topic is of interest to young people, why not do a little more research on the Apollo program and find out how many missions have successfully taken men to the moon.
ICT tracks:
- The process involves doing an effective search on the Web, then building a timeline that presents the different lunar missions.
- To build the timeline, student teams could use online services such as Lignedutemps.qc.ca (for Quebec), or Dipity.com or TimeToast.
By the way, what is it, a timeline?

 

For further

Some quiz questions ...
1. Who said "A small step for man ...", and what is the end of the sentence?
2. What had astronaut Alan Sheppard smuggled into the moon?
3. Which living thing was the first to orbit the earth?

 


More about the magazine

Lunar missions
On Wikipedia
Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon, is dead
2012, on France24
Space project could send a Canadian to the moon
On LaPresse.ca

Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Bientôt de retour sur la Lune?

Paru le

L’exploration spatiale fascine bien des gens. La perspective d’un retour de l’Homme sur la Lune et, potentiellement, d’une mission vers la planète Mars, a de quoi susciter l’intérêt. Le 25 août dernier, on apprenait que « Le projet Global Exploration Roadmap, échafaudé par plus d’une dizaine d’agences spatiales, comprend un retour sur la Lune d’ici 20 ans. Le Canada fait partie des 14 agences du groupe international de coordination de l’exploration spatiale, qui a commencé à dessiner cette stratégie en 2007. » « Le projet prévoit donc des missions humaines dans les environs et sur la surface de la Lune jusqu’en 2030, après quoi l’objectif sera d’atteindre la planète rouge. »
Source : Radio-Canada
Prenons donc quelque temps pour se familiariser avec les différents éléments entourant cette actualité.
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– Utiliser un moyen technologique pour lire un article d’actualité;
– Expliquer le contexte général entourant le déroulement des missions lunaires dans les années 1960 et 1970;
– Utiliser une application en ligne pour partager avec ses coéquipiers;
– Utiliser une application en ligne pour fabriquer une ligne du temps;
– Et plus encore!
 


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Prendre connaissance de la nouvelle

Pour introduire l’activité, demandez aux élèves s’ils aimeraient un jour aller dans l’espace. Écoutez leurs réponses et assurez-vous de les encourager à expliquer pourquoi, etc. Et tant qu’à aller dans l’espace, se contenteraient-ils d’orbiter autour de la Terre? Voudraient-ils aller sur la Lune, et jusque sur Mars?
Informez-les ensuite que ceux qui ont un intérêt pour l’exploration spatiale pourraient en faire un choix de carrière car il est prévu que l’Homme retourne sur la Lune dans un horizon assez rapproché, et même peut-être jusque sur Mars!
Pour en savoir plus, invitez-les à lire l’article suivant :
Article 1
Un ambitieux projet spatial pourrait envoyer un premier Canadien sur la Lune
Paru sur Radio-Canada, par La Presse Canadienne, le 25 août 2013.
Pistes TIC :
– La lecture peut se faire sur une tablette électronique, à l’écran d’ordinateur au labo, tous ensemble sur le tableau interactif, en devoir à la maison, etc.
– Utilisez l’application en ligne Readability pour dépouiller la page de tout le superflu et faciliter la lecture!
– Invitez les élèves à noter dans un document collaboratif ce qui les étonne le plus. Pour réaliser le document collaboratif, on peut utiliser un service comme Google Drive (faire un nouveau document texte), Cacoo, Padlet ou GroupZap.
 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : C’est si loin que ça?

En utilisant le moyen de présentation de leur choix, en équipes de 4, les élèves devront trouver une façon d’illustrer la distance entre la terre et la Station spatiale internationale, la Lune et la planète Mars. Idéalement, ils devront indiquer le temps que prend le trajet entre chaque destination. Attention, ils doivent conserver et citer leurs sources!
Pistes TIC :
– Une fois les créations réalisées, quelques élèves pourraient se charger de les photographier et de publier sur un compte Flickr spécial pour la classe, ou tout autre moyen de diffusion d’oeuvres à leur choix.
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Un petit pas pour l’Homme…

En 1969, l’américain Neil Armstrong devenait le premier être humain à marcher sur la Lune. Invitez les élèves à revivre ce moment grâce à cet enregistrement vidéo de 4 minutes qui montre la descente d’Armstrong sur le sol lunaire, commenté par la NASA. Il peut être intéressant de jumeler le tout à une activité de compréhension de l’oral en anglais.
Voyez la vidéo en cliquant ici.
Pour en connaître plus sur le contexte de l’époque, le programme Apollo et le déroulement de la mission Apollo 11, prenez le temps de regarder la capsule animé Brainpop (6 minutes) sur le sujet, en cliquant ici. On y parle également du sauvetage des astronautes de la mission Apollo 13.
Si le sujet intéresse les jeunes, pourquoi ne pas faire un peu plus de recherche sur le programme Apollo et découvrir combien de missions ont emmenés avec succès des hommes sur la lune.
Pistes TIC :
– La démarche implique de faire une recherche efficace sur le Web, puis de bâtir une ligne du temps qui présente les différents missions lunaires.
– Pour bâtir la ligne du temps, les équipes d’élèves pourraient utiliser des services en ligne comme Lignedutemps.qc.ca (pour le Québec), ou encore Dipity.com ou TimeToast.
Au fait, c’est quoi, une ligne du temps?

 

Pour aller plus loin

Quelques questions quiz…
1. Qui a dit « Un petit pas pour l’Homme… », et quelle est la fin de la phrase?
2. Qu’avait clandestinement apporté l’astronaute Alan Sheppard sur la Lune?
3. Quel être vivant a été le premier en orbite autour de la terre?

 


Pour en savoir plus

Les missions lunaires
Sur Wikipédia
Neil Armstrong, le premier homme à avoir marché sur la Lune, est mort
2012, sur France24
Un projet spatial pourrait envoyer un Canadien sur la lune
Sur LaPresse.ca

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Journée nationale des Patriotes

Connue comme la « fête de la Reine » ou la « fête de Dollard », le lundi précédant le 25 mai est maintenant appelé la « Journée nationale des Patriotes ». Pour plusieurs, cette journée est un autre congé férié, mais qui célébrons-nous au juste?

100 jours avant les Jeux olympiques

Les prochains Jeux olympiques d’hiver auront lieu à Sotchi en Russie dans 100 jours exactement. Profitons-en pour découvrir Sotchi et d’autres villes ayant accueilli les Jeux d’hiver.

Potirothon de Gentilly : Une fête dédiée à la citrouille

En ce mois d’octobre, c’est la saison des citrouilles! À Gentilly, dans la région du Centre-du-Québec, un concours de citrouilles géantes a eu lieu le 28 septembre. Appelé le Potirothon de Gentilly, cette fête familiale se termine le 12 octobre avec une course de citrouilles sur l’eau!