Meeting... Samian

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The series À la rencontre de... allows teachers to introduce certain personalities to their students. Today, we take a look at Samian, an Aboriginal artist who wants to make his mother tongue shine through his songs.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Born in an Aboriginal community in Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Samian is an artist with many strings to his bow. Whether it is photography, music or cinema, nothing stops him when it comes to promoting the beauty of his culture. In fact, he has started his own record label, Nikamo, which means "sing" in Algonquin. 

Attrapeur de rêves Icons gratuit

"I decided to found my label because I was asked: "Where is your French song? I didn't want to go through that. I got zero grants. Even at the doors I knocked on, they gave me absolutely nothing. I paid for everything out of my own pocket. I hired people to mix and master. The beatmakers that I hired are from all over the world: Germany, Costa Rica, Nigeria, United States. I produced and directed everything from A to Z. I've been at it for 18 months. 

Source : La Presse

In keeping with his fight for Aboriginal identity, the artist has also released a video in memory of the Kamloops residential school tragedy.  

"We must not forget that we are talking about an unpunished genocide," Samian recalls. "It took that for people to say to themselves, in the collective imagination, 'It's true what you experienced'.

Source : La Presse

To learn more:


 

Suggested Activities

Activity #1: Understanding Language Issues

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

Picture : The FoeZ' - Flickr

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

À la rencontre de… Samian

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

La série À la rencontre de… permet aux enseignant(e)s de faire connaître certaines personnalités à leurs élèves. Aujourd’hui, on s’intéresse au parcours de Samian, un artiste autochtone qui veut faire briller sa langue maternelle à travers ses chansons.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Né dans une communauté autochtone d’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Samian est un artiste qui a plusieurs cordes à son arc. Que ce soit la photographie, la musique ou encore le cinéma, rien ne l’arrête quand il est question de promouvoir la beauté de sa culture.  Il a d’ailleurs démarré sa propre maison de disques Nikamo, qui signifie « chante » en Algonquin. 

Attrapeur de rêves Icons gratuit

« J’ai décidé de fonder mon label parce que je me faisais demander : “Elle est où, ta chanson en français?” Je n’avais pas envie de passer par là. J’ai eu zéro subvention. Même aux portes où j’ai frappé, on ne m’a absolument rien donné. J’ai tout payé de ma poche. J’ai engagé des gens pour mixer et masteriser. Les beatmakers que j’ai embauchés sont de partout dans le monde : Allemagne, Costa Rica, Nigeria, États-Unis. J’ai tout produit et réalisé de A à Z. Ça fait 18 mois que je suis à fond là-dedans. » 

Source : La Presse

En lien avec son combat pour l’identité autochtone, l’artiste a également publié un vidéoclip en mémoire de la tragédie du pensionnat de Kamloops.  

« Il ne faut pas oublier qu’on parle d’un génocide impuni », rappelle Samian. « Ça a pris ça pour que, dans l’imaginaire collectif, les gens se disent : ‟c’est vrai, ce que vous avez vécu” ».

Source : La Presse

Pour en apprendre davantage :


 

Suggestions d’activités

Activité #1 : Comprendre les enjeux de la langue

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

Image : La FoeZ’ – Flickr

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir