20 years after the ice storm

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

At the beginning of January 1998, Quebec was hit by a crisis in precedent. Hydro-Quebec's electricity network succumbs to the weight of the ice storm and deprives thousands of Quebec homes of electricity, in some cases for several weeks.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

“It's the return of the Christmas break. Freezing rain is hitting many parts of Canada. Meteorologists predict 10 to 20 millimeters of rain during the night of January 5 to 6. A disruption is expected for Wednesday. Temperatures hover around the freezing point. According to Pascal Yiacouvakis, meteorologist at Radio-Canada, “that could perhaps cause problems”. The population of Quebec, used to the vagaries of the weather, makes good luck against bad luck and scrapes the ice that has formed in a few hours on the windows of cars. […] The air traffic is a little disturbed, but there is no panic, and the return home promises to be difficult. No one yet knows that Quebec and other regions of Canada will experience an unprecedented crisis. "

Source: Radio-Canada Archives

“Normally, Moisson Montreal delivered around 40 tonnes of food per day to some 250 Montreal community organizations. In the space of a month, this number has multiplied by seven. […] At the height of the crisis, some forty employees and volunteers were active at Moisson Montreal, not to mention the support of soldiers who came to operate. forklifts or inspectors from the Department of Agriculture who offered advice for the management of perishable foods. The outdoor area was used as a freezer and an unheated warehouse was transformed into a giant refrigerator. "

Source: The duty, January 6, 2018

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

20 ans après la crise du verglas

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Début janvier 1998, le Québec est touché par une crise dans précédent. Le réseau électrique d’Hydro-Québec succombe sous le poids du verglas et prive ainsi des milliers de foyers québécois de courant, dans certains cas pour plusieurs semaines.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

« C’est le retour du congé de Noël. Une pluie verglaçante s’abat sur plusieurs régions canadiennes. Les météorologues annoncent 10 à 20 millimètres de pluie durant la nuit du 5 au 6 janvier. Une perturbation est attendue pour mercredi. Les températures oscillent autour du point de congélation. Selon Pascal Yiacouvakis, météorologue à Radio-Canada, “ça pourrait peut-être causer des problèmes”. La population québécoise, habituée aux caprices de la météo, fait contre mauvaise fortune bon cœur et gratte la glace qui s’est formée en quelques heures sur les vitres des voitures. […] Le trafic aérien est un peu perturbé, mais ce n’est pas la panique, et le retour à la maison s’annonce difficile. Personne ne sait encore que le Québec et d’autres régions du Canada vont vivre une crise sans précédent. »

Source : Archives Radio-Canada

« En temps normal, Moisson Montréal livrait environ 40 tonnes de nourriture par jour à quelque 250 organismes communautaires montréalais. En l’espace d’un mois, ce nombre a été multiplié par sept. […] Au plus fort de la crise, une quarantaine d’employés et de bénévoles s’activaient chez Moisson Montréal, sans compter le soutien de militaires venus opérer des chariots élévateurs ou d’inspecteurs du ministère de l’Agriculture qui ont offert des conseils pour la gestion des aliments périssables. Le terrain extérieur faisait office de congélateur et un entrepôt non chauffé a été transformé en réfrigérateur géant. »

Source : Le Devoir, 6 janvier 2018

Les pistes pédagogiques sont réservées aux enseignant(e)s abonnés à SCOOP!, par l’École branchée.

si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) ou apprenez-en plus ici!
SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir